Customer Reviews for

The Seat of the Soul (25th Anniversary Edition with a Study Guide)

Average Rating 4
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I Feel Transformed!!

I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy ...
I just finished the book, and all I can say is 'awesome.' Kind of a trendy word for a 41-year-old to use, but it's all I can think of to appropriately describe it. Mr. Zuvak puts everything into such powerful perspective, cuts through all the greed, anger, and jealousy that this world is thriving on now, and gets to the common root that we ALL have, a soul and spirit. Sure, we all love our SUVs and summer vacations and trips to the mall, but it's not what this life is all about. It's the life the five sense personality has created for itself, and as a result, we're all walking around like a bunch of empty shells wearing designer labels! I think Congress should cancel the upcoming inaguration balls (they've spent enough time on this election already!) and use the money that is wasted on yet more greed and misuse of power, and instead mail a copy of this wonderful and insightive book to every person in this country. It would be money much well spent. What's more important, discovering our true selves and ridding the country of some anger and hatred, or tuning in to see what color gown Laura Bush is wearing??!!

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tantalizing

Zukav's deep and intense thoughts are arranged and described in impressive fashion. Some of what's here is a bit subjective and imaginative -- I think this is part of the book's mystique.

posted by Anonymous on June 15, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Enriching and enlightening.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2001

    Excellent

    I don't know how Gary Zukav does it, but this book speaks to me like very few books ever have. I just read this book for the third time and I am reminded why so many people love this author so much. Every time I read it I find new meanings, new inspiration and new ways of looking at myself and my circumstances that help me grow as a person and be happier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    Inspiring

    This book truly inspires me. I have picked it up several times now, and every time I¿ve read different things that influence my life in a profound way. One of the things that opened my eyes that Mr. Zukav writes is: 'When perception of the physical world is limited to the five-sensory modality, the basis of life in the physical arena becomes fear. Power to control the environment, and those within it appears to be essential.' Control has been one of my `issues¿ for a long time. And indeed, now I¿ve become more in tune with my intuition and other `sensors¿, my life has become some much richer. I embrace the concept of multi-sensory perception. I¿ve discovered that I know so much more than logically I should be able to know. I¿ve recently met this wonderful guy; we¿ve `known¿ each other for only 2 weeks now. But I know him and about him for what seems forever. We¿ve even started to communicate `telepathically¿. It¿s so wonderful. And this has all happened since I¿ve become aware of the possibilities of multi-sensory perception. Mr. Zukav has helped a lot in that area. Other people who have helped me trust my intuition are Shya & Ariel Kane. They have written a book about their technique Instantaneous Transformation¿. The book is called 'Working on yourself doesn¿t work' and I can very much recommend this book to anyone interested in the topics mentioned above. I¿ve also bought the tapes (Magical Relationships is one of them) and it has truly redefined my life. Everything has become so much easier and so much fun. If you¿re looking for easy & simple enlightenment you must read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    Insightful

    Saw him on Oprah and his book was even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    Seat of the Soul

    The book had some real, new spiritual concepts in it; however, I preferred the book An Encounter With A Prophet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2000

    Excellent read

    Wonderful ideas about compassion, the soul and evolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2000

    THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU

    I am working on being non-judgemental. I am open to the theories suggested in this book as I try to remain open to all things. For me, I find the concepts in this book comforting. Living my life without fear is very peaceful and loving. What else matters? I am looking for a soul partner to help me in my evolution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    It sat well with me.

    Gary Zukav¿s ¿Seat of the Soul¿ is a treatise on the empowerment of one¿s soul. Zukav discusses really living one¿s life rather than seeking the approval of others. He deeply emphasizes developing a reverence for all life. I think the following quote from the book is an eloquent distillation of his message: ¿When the energy of the soul is recognized, acknowledged, and valued, it begins to infuse the life of the personality. When the personality comes fully to serve the energy of its soul, that is authentic empowerment.¿ Through anecdotes and discussion, Zukav suggests that we become intimate with our emotions, since they affect our intentions. He also stresses that we are here to learn lessons, creating situations for ourselves that bring us face-to-face with what we need to learn most. He writes at length about intuition, compassion, responsibility, and power. ¿You lose power when you fear¿ he explains, and suggests that we cultivate feeling what is happening in our bodies rather than follow our thoughts about those feelings. If you are touched by his message and the power of awareness in our lives, I suggest you grab a copy of ¿Working on Yourself Doesn¿t Work¿ by Ariel and Shya Kane. I¿ve read many books that have pointed the way to a great life, but this one went right to the heart of the matter - that trying to fix yourself keeps you stuck in the places you¿d like get out of, but getting into the moment will set you free. Enjoy these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2000

    Seat of the Soul

    <P> Gary Zukav gained fame through his appearances on the Oprah show, and for his previous book, 'The Dancing Wu Li Masters,' which incorporated an understanding of high energy physics, and like Fritjof Capra's 'The Tao of Physics,' attempted a rapprochement between science and spirit, with some success.<P> This book, however, was somewhat of a disappointment to me, however. I had just finished Joseph Pierre's 'The Road to Damascus: Our Journey Through Eternity,' which blew me away. By contrast, Zukav's book was a bit of a let-down.<P> But, let me say that this is a very good book. Well worth 4 stars. Like Pierre, Zukav uses science wisely, and does not insult our intelligence. I highly recommend his book.<P>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2000

    Spiritual focus

    This book really helped me get the spiritual focus back in my life. I had gone for years with a void in my life and this book helped me to realize what was missing. Complex in some parts, but overall, fairly easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    Clearly forward thinking

    I am so dismayed with some of the reviews I have just read, they are clearly missing the point. It seems to me, that the readers who didn't like the book took a defensive stance against their five-sensory being, and failed to see the possible depth and breadth of soul that he speaks so well of. The one well-read woman who agreed with the beer drinker do not seem to be open to anything beyond their five senses, and that's too bad, because the author clearly shows us what the soul has to offer. If we are to evolve, we have to change our ability to perceive the world we live in, or both will be lost forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2000

    Important Points but Missing Flow

    Reading this book has opened my mind to many ideas that are out there. It has helped me to understand what authentic power was and that by doing things to make myself lok better was not the power I was looking for. It was very insightful but it did not flow. Going from one chapter to the next was liking ending and starting all over again. Otherwise... I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a clue on the answers they are searching for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1