Customer Reviews for

Seating Arrangements

Average Rating 2.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

posted by 12239587 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WHY did I waste my time...

Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really tho...
Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

posted by TxAg1994 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    WHY did I waste my time...

    Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I can't believe B&N recommends this book. It was terrible a

    I can't believe B&N recommends this book. It was terrible and difficult to read. The characters were not engaging, the story not entertaining and the writing mediocre. It was not funny at all. Don't waste your money or time on this one.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This book was boring and predictable. Teenage girls might enjoy

    This book was boring and predictable. Teenage girls might enjoy it. No depth of characters. Seems like the author found most her words in a thesaurus, so indulgent. Sorry I wasted my time and money. Am shocked other people reviewed this book highly. Much better beach reads out there!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Do yourself a favor and skip this book!

    I agree with the other reviewer who said teenage girls might like the book. I'm not sure who else would! It actually sounded like a teenage girl wrote it. No character development, poor premise. I just wish it would all go away. I'm so mad at myself for wasting my money on this.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    This is actually the first book review I have ever left. The des

    This is actually the first book review I have ever left. The description and the review of the book sounded so delightful and funny. I have never asked for a refund of a book before, but this one would have qualified. The author gave OVERLY descriptive narrative of the landscape ( which sounded lovely(, the people ( who were extremely boring) and the events of the weekend. The funniest point of the story was when Livia broke Agatha's finger( and I think that is a bit sad). I bought this on my nook thinking that after planning weddings for two daughters it would be a hoot. Unfortunately, I did not find it entertaining at all. I wish the author well of course, but maybe the editors and sales staff did not promote this properly.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that

    The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that disgust you on one page and leave you nodding empathetically on the next. We know how important it is to care about other people, but Shipstead shows us how terribly vulnerable the caring makes us.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

    Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    not very good

    i really enjoy reading and usually i am not really hard to please but this book was really bad. i only finished it because i started it. trust me don't waste your time or money

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A perfect Summer pick. Maggie Shipstead is here to stay!

    A perfect Summer pick. Maggie Shipstead is here to stay!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This book is stunning--absolutely brilliant, sharp, funny, and p

    This book is stunning--absolutely brilliant, sharp, funny, and poignant. A delight for all seasons (not just a summer read)!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Shipstead's characters stay with you after the pleasure of readi

    Shipstead's characters stay with you after the pleasure of reading Seating Arrangements is over. I was enthralled by her characters (who would never be my friends), cared about their experiences, and wondered how they would change and develop. The book widened my perspective and made me reflect on what values I hold most dear. A thoughtful, provocative, brilliant read. It will be my book club's choice for September.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    I am an avid reader and go through lots of random books. I wish I had read the reviews of this one before I bought this book. I saw that Barnes and Noble recommended it and just got it. We are planning a daughter's wedding and I thought it would be fun to read. Unfortunately, it is BORING and I kept putting it down and then kept on thinking that it would get better. It did not. The husband is a major whiner and she could do a lot more with the other characters. I am sorry to have to say this about this author. She looks so cute. However, I DO NOT think Barnes and Noble should be recommending this book to us!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Beautifully written, but.....

    Dissappointing plot. An easy read, as well as an impressive debut novel for Maggie Shipstead, but not the next great american novel I was hoping for.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved it

    Beautifully written. The characters were well developed, and I enjoyed the periodic changes of perspective. Would definitely recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Another dysfunctional family unravels under pressure

    While I enjoyed the book for the most part, I did get tired of the father's insecurities and indiscretions as they increased and become so overpowering. What a weak character and role model as "head of the family". It was finally a relief to be done with it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    The book club pick for the year! This book is great fun to read.

    The book club pick for the year! This book is great fun to read. The writing is so luscious you will find yourself re-reading sentences just for the pleasure of them. And walking a mile in Winn Van Meter's topsiders is a trip into a parallel universe of privilege, skewed priorities, and crazy-bad choices.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sit down with this one!   A social satire, Seating Arrangements

    Sit down with this one! 

     A social satire, Seating Arrangements is a wonderful debut novel by Maggie Shipstead about the Van Meter family, who comes together for the wedding of their pregnant daughter to another socialite from the Duff clan. With clandestine affairs, falls from grace, and secrets abound, the weekend unfolds in the most unlikely of ways.




    Taking place on the exclusive New England island of Waskeke, no character is left untouched. With the exception of the bride and groom, who defied the proper order of things by becoming pregnant before the wedding (and having the audacity to get married with her belly bulging), the family is pitifully hilarious.




    The Van Meter family consists of the bride, a wife who assumes her husband is a cheat, a faithful husband trying to gain admittance to an exclusive golf club, and a daughter who fell from grace all on her own. Then, there is the groom’s family, which includes a wannabe Buddhist and a playboy. By the time you throw in the bridesmaids and the cooky aunt, hilarity ensues.




    If you’re looking for a fun, social satire, then this is the book for you. It is vaguely reminiscent of Tigers in Red Weather, which was my favorite book last summer and both are sure to delight. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent summer read...

    Absolutely enjoyed every minute of this book. Characters and the setting were amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I am an avid reader and this is my first B & N review. I lo

    I am an avid reader and this is my first B & N review. I loved this book! Shipstead's writing is wonderfully engaging, witty and fun. Her characters, especially the Van Meters, are so well-crafted I feel like I could invite them to dinner. The best part for me, was no one died, no wars were lost or won, no life journeys were realized and yet this story and it's characters will stay with me for a long, long time. Thank you, Maggie Shipstead!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8