Customer Reviews for

Seating Arrangements

Average Rating 2.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

posted by 12239587 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WHY did I waste my time...

Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really tho...
Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

posted by TxAg1994 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    I can't believe B&N recommends this book. It was terrible a

    I can't believe B&N recommends this book. It was terrible and difficult to read. The characters were not engaging, the story not entertaining and the writing mediocre. It was not funny at all. Don't waste your money or time on this one.

    19 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Do yourself a favor and skip this book!

    I agree with the other reviewer who said teenage girls might like the book. I'm not sure who else would! It actually sounded like a teenage girl wrote it. No character development, poor premise. I just wish it would all go away. I'm so mad at myself for wasting my money on this.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    not very good

    i really enjoy reading and usually i am not really hard to please but this book was really bad. i only finished it because i started it. trust me don't waste your time or money

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Don't waste your time

    I am an avid reader and go through lots of random books. I wish I had read the reviews of this one before I bought this book. I saw that Barnes and Noble recommended it and just got it. We are planning a daughter's wedding and I thought it would be fun to read. Unfortunately, it is BORING and I kept putting it down and then kept on thinking that it would get better. It did not. The husband is a major whiner and she could do a lot more with the other characters. I am sorry to have to say this about this author. She looks so cute. However, I DO NOT think Barnes and Noble should be recommending this book to us!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    The majority of this story was told from Winn's point-of-view. W

    The majority of this story was told from Winn's point-of-view. What a wimp! He is surrounded by women, including his wife, whom he always seems to be comparing to what he could have had in the past, or what he wants now with his daughter's trashy friend. He actually attempts to carry out his long-time fantasy with his daughter's friend, which I found to be totally revolting. He whines and wishes for things to be different in his life instead of appreciating what he has in the present...a faithful wife and two daughters who love him, and yet who can not connect with him because of his emotional distance. If you really want to read this book borrow it from your local library.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Waste of time

    This book was seriously over rated. Much ado about nothing. Don't bother.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Anoyomous

    Boring!! Had to look up many words on my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    I found this to be a sadly boring book. I will definitely not lo

    I found this to be a sadly boring book.
    I will definitely not look for another book by this author.
    I am angry with myself for wasting the time to finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    suck crasy but

    Retarted

    1 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    I had high hopes for this book. The synopsis sounded good. It wa

    I had high hopes for this book. The synopsis sounded good. It was one of the most boring books I've read in a long time.  I found myself skipping over whole pages just to get to the next section.  Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Don't waste your money! Worst book ever. I only bought it because of NYT Review. I can't believe that review, did they pay for it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    I tried to get through this book for months and finally donated

    I tried to get through this book for months and finally donated it. Boring, boring boring. Don't waste your time. Bought it because of review in NYT. Big mistake.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2014

    Huge disappointment.   I should have read the reviews before buy

    Huge disappointment.   I should have read the reviews before buying.  Don't waste precious reading time with this melodramatic, uninspired book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    I do not typically review books but I felt compelled to add my t

    I do not typically review books but I felt compelled to add my two cents. It is astounding to me how this book was a recommendation or that so many others have given the rating a 5 star. Perhaps I've missed the point, however ...who cares ? To sum it up...a pointless droning of WASP-ish middle age angst, boring and shallow characters and the melodrama of not achieving life's pinnacle of joining the Piqued. Don't bother.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Not a redeeming character in the book NOT Nor at Nit Not a redeeming character in the bool

    Not a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe this was on a list of summer reads in the O maga

    I can't believe this was on a list of summer reads in the O magazine. I usually love all the books she recommends but I really struggled to get into this and decided to see what others had to say about it. It is no surprise that all the reviews reinforce my thought that I don't like the characters so far and the story is just a snooze. I'm not going to waste my time finishing it and I don't recommend buying it if you haven't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    This book was recommended by EW so I gave it a try. Total waste

    This book was recommended by EW so I gave it a try. Total waste of time. I could not relate to any of the characters. A wedding book with little or no plot for the bride and groom? They were anonymous cliches. The main character is a dolt who comes across as a lecherous old coot. I agree with the other character who called him unlikeable. The sister of the bride also has no depth. Her story could have been interesting if it had ever gone anywhere. The book seems to meander painfully from one pointless story to another before just stopping. The writer is competent in using words but has no skills in plot, pace or character movement. Maybe you have to be an East coaster to get these characters. Don't bother with this one, there are plenty of better books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    I could not force myself to finish the book and I'm glad I didn'

    I could not force myself to finish the book and I'm glad I didn't. It would have been nice if just one of the characters was likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Read this book for book club and finished it first.  Alerted the

    Read this book for book club and finished it first.  Alerted the group not to waste their time or buy it if they hadn't already.

    Had no attachment to the characters, story line was- well, there was none.  

    Don't waste your time. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Stupid

    Hate book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3