BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Seating Arrangements

Average Rating 2.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

posted by 12239587 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WHY did I waste my time...

Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really tho...
Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

posted by TxAg1994 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    WHY did I waste my time...

    Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This book was boring and predictable. Teenage girls might enjoy

    This book was boring and predictable. Teenage girls might enjoy it. No depth of characters. Seems like the author found most her words in a thesaurus, so indulgent. Sorry I wasted my time and money. Am shocked other people reviewed this book highly. Much better beach reads out there!

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    This is actually the first book review I have ever left. The des

    This is actually the first book review I have ever left. The description and the review of the book sounded so delightful and funny. I have never asked for a refund of a book before, but this one would have qualified. The author gave OVERLY descriptive narrative of the landscape ( which sounded lovely(, the people ( who were extremely boring) and the events of the weekend. The funniest point of the story was when Livia broke Agatha's finger( and I think that is a bit sad). I bought this on my nook thinking that after planning weddings for two daughters it would be a hoot. Unfortunately, I did not find it entertaining at all. I wish the author well of course, but maybe the editors and sales staff did not promote this properly.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Dull, trite..................wish I had not bothered............

    Dull, trite..................wish I had not bothered..............at the moment this has more negative reviews than positive... take it as a warning

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    This is a slow moving story that has far too many facts and disc

    This is a slow moving story that has far too many facts and discussions, using enormous words and detailed discriptions that are not necessary. Wish I have never purchased it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Would make a better play

    A lot about a little.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Does not live up to the hype

    Saw real possibilites for this book but it did not fulfill them I kept expecting it to get better but it ended without meeting those expectations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    This is VERY LIGHT reading. Good for reading on the beach when

    This is VERY LIGHT reading. Good for reading on the beach when you know you will be distracted. The plot is very predictable. The characters are contrived. You can easily put it down , but it maybe harder to pick it back up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Okay

    Our book club read this, and some suggested it because they wanted something "funny" instead of another "serious" novel. Yes, there were so cute parts to this book, but I found there to be too many issues with each of the characters that were never fully developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    This book got some pretty great reviews... I just didn't get wha

    This book got some pretty great reviews... I just didn't get what the big deal was. At all. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Seating Arrangement

    I was not so enthralled with this book as the critics. Ithougt it was boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Just so so

    I k

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Boring! I kept waiting for it to improve and it never did.

    Boring! I kept waiting for it to improve and it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Like others, I bought this book because it was recommended by Ba

    Like others, I bought this book because it was recommended by Barnes and Noble. And, like others have mentioned, I too have recently been through planning a wedding and thought it would be entertaining to see another view of wedding preparation. What I did like was some of the conversations between characters; a few times, I laughed out loud! That was great...the setting was descriptive, the characters in general were interesting, the relationships among the mother of the bride's family were interesting although done with a pretty light touch.

    There were a few BIG surprises, like the whale on the beach and the robust mental health of the bride...but alas, even these surprising parts could not make up for a plot heavy on foreshadowing and a main character who just couldn't get out of his own way. Winn just couldn't wake up.

    So, you know what, I also felt cheated..why bother to read if the main character doesn't develop? There is no redemption there, and therefore I felt pretty let down at the end and figured I wasted my time and money as well. I wish I had read the reviews before I bought the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Like others

    Bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Seems like a few creative writing assignments stretched into a n

    Seems like a few creative writing assignments stretched into a novel.
    The voice of Winn Van Meter is not authentic to a WASP of his
    generation. The female characters are better written but as a few
    reviewers have stated none of the characters are likable which I find to
    be a problem. Could be a good book club book just for the passionate
    negative response it inspires. I read a lot and rarely write comments
    unless I'm so upset at an author for wasting my time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Poor

    I didn't like this book very much at all. Although well written, I didn't find it funny. I did not connect at all with the main character, Winn, and I only felt sympathy and heartache for his daughters, wife Biddy, and the promiscuous Agatha. I have a feeling the author was trying to convey a different message altogether, but I just didn't get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Disappointing.

    Had I checked this book out of a library, I would have returned it unread after reading the first bit. The reader recognizes the father is a stuffy lech. Most of the characters are unsympathetic. The plot shifts from the present to the past and back again in the same paragraph.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Sorry...I was so disappointed! Skip this one.

    Sorry...I was so disappointed! Skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    good writing, however, completely pointless story

    good writing, however, completely pointless story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2