Customer Reviews for

Seating Arrangements

Average Rating 2.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(48)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

posted by 12239587 on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WHY did I waste my time...

Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really tho...
Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

posted by TxAg1994 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that

    The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that disgust you on one page and leave you nodding empathetically on the next. We know how important it is to care about other people, but Shipstead shows us how terribly vulnerable the caring makes us.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved it

    Beautifully written. The characters were well developed, and I enjoyed the periodic changes of perspective. Would definitely recommend.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sit down with this one!   A social satire, Seating Arrangements

    Sit down with this one! 

     A social satire, Seating Arrangements is a wonderful debut novel by Maggie Shipstead about the Van Meter family, who comes together for the wedding of their pregnant daughter to another socialite from the Duff clan. With clandestine affairs, falls from grace, and secrets abound, the weekend unfolds in the most unlikely of ways.




    Taking place on the exclusive New England island of Waskeke, no character is left untouched. With the exception of the bride and groom, who defied the proper order of things by becoming pregnant before the wedding (and having the audacity to get married with her belly bulging), the family is pitifully hilarious.




    The Van Meter family consists of the bride, a wife who assumes her husband is a cheat, a faithful husband trying to gain admittance to an exclusive golf club, and a daughter who fell from grace all on her own. Then, there is the groom’s family, which includes a wannabe Buddhist and a playboy. By the time you throw in the bridesmaids and the cooky aunt, hilarity ensues.




    If you’re looking for a fun, social satire, then this is the book for you. It is vaguely reminiscent of Tigers in Red Weather, which was my favorite book last summer and both are sure to delight. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good quick read

    Enjoyable and well written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great character satire

    Thought provoking inside view of life for the upper class as the family celebrates a wedding. While at times mocking, the characters development sucks you in and helps you to connect to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    What is wrong with the people who dissed this book? I thought

    What is wrong with the people who dissed this book? I thought it was hysterical. Read the book and laughed a lot. The family is so WASPY. I can just see these uptight country club people getting drunk, eating lobster etc and pretending that everyone has such good manners. When in reality, they are such an uptight group with no manners and no sense of humor. Very funny writing. Could picture this as a movie with Diane Keaton, STeve Martin, Kate Hudson, Goldie Hawn etc. Would be very funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Great Read

    What a Great Story! I loved that the story dived into pretty much all the main characters surrounding the bride. I could easily picture each and everyone of these characters and their lifestyles in my head. Its an amazing story that allows you a glimpse into what people in that prestigious world may actually go through and think about in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Enjoyable read despite unlikable characters!

    Dark comedy of manners involving wealthy dysfunctional family. Fun read yet all characters pretty unlikable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2