BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Seating Arrangements

Average Rating 2.5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(33)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that

The setup seems so simple, but Shipstead writes characters that disgust you on one page and leave you nodding empathetically on the next. We know how important it is to care about other people, but Shipstead shows us how terribly vulnerable the caring makes us.

posted by Anonymous on June 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

WHY did I waste my time...

Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really tho...
Let me start by saying that I do NOT like to give a bad review for a book. I typically just try to forget it. The author is probably a good writer; there was definitely interesting character development. But in the end...the storyline was *yawn* BORING! I really thought this book was going to go somewhere great ……..unfortunately, it was a total disappointment. I agree with some of the other reviews, one minute you hate the character and the next minute you feel empathy for them. However, in the end, I didn't like any of the characters and I wanted them all to just go away! Why did I waste my time finishing this book? I’m not sure I would try another book by this author.

posted by TxAg1994 on June 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

    Loved it. A literary novel in the guise of a beach read.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    A perfect Summer pick. Maggie Shipstead is here to stay!

    A perfect Summer pick. Maggie Shipstead is here to stay!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    This book is stunning--absolutely brilliant, sharp, funny, and p

    This book is stunning--absolutely brilliant, sharp, funny, and poignant. A delight for all seasons (not just a summer read)!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect wi

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. I could really connect with the characters. Can only recommend

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Shipstead's characters stay with you after the pleasure of readi

    Shipstead's characters stay with you after the pleasure of reading Seating Arrangements is over. I was enthralled by her characters (who would never be my friends), cared about their experiences, and wondered how they would change and develop. The book widened my perspective and made me reflect on what values I hold most dear. A thoughtful, provocative, brilliant read. It will be my book club's choice for September.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    The book club pick for the year! This book is great fun to read.

    The book club pick for the year! This book is great fun to read. The writing is so luscious you will find yourself re-reading sentences just for the pleasure of them. And walking a mile in Winn Van Meter's topsiders is a trip into a parallel universe of privilege, skewed priorities, and crazy-bad choices.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Excellent summer read...

    Absolutely enjoyed every minute of this book. Characters and the setting were amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I am an avid reader and this is my first B & N review. I lo

    I am an avid reader and this is my first B & N review. I loved this book! Shipstead's writing is wonderfully engaging, witty and fun. Her characters, especially the Van Meters, are so well-crafted I feel like I could invite them to dinner. The best part for me, was no one died, no wars were lost or won, no life journeys were realized and yet this story and it's characters will stay with me for a long, long time. Thank you, Maggie Shipstead!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    It was good

    I like it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Weird but interesting character study.

    This is an odd book but it is like candy - you just can't stop reading. You want to know what happens to these weird people. I felt sorry for some. I disliked some. I laughed at some. And a few were rather noble. A great book with stong and noble characters is "The Partisan" by William Jarvis. This historical fiction has a strong and honorable female character. The villian is based on an actual person who lived during WW II. I'm glad I read both books - but for different reasons. Jarvis's book deserves A+++++++++0

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Heyyyyyyyy

    Any one hit mebup on fb my name is danielle hickey i have a profile pic of me and my friend or not its just a pic of me doing the duck face

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    A new favorite

    This book was smartly written and totally entertaining. I had a hard time putting it down. I laughed out loud several times. She does a great job making each of the characters identifiable and I found several lines that I felt were taken right out of my own biography. It's a great story and I can't wait to see what she comes out with next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    This is a brilliant, ironic, hilarious, and compassionate portra

    This is a brilliant, ironic, hilarious, and compassionate portrait of a
    wealthy and dysfunctional family. I couldn't put it down. That said,
    it's not for everybody--while I thought that the story was absorbing,
    you have to be interested in what's going on in people's minds and how
    they're struggling with their own moral compasses (or not), more than
    being interested in lots of slapstick drama. I suspect that's why the
    book has gotten some negative reviews by people who thought it was
    "boring"--it's an interior story of people trying, or not
    trying, to be better people than they actually are, and all the comedic
    and dramatic and pathetic ways that they keep messing up and redeeming
    themselves. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book. Great character development and su

    I absolutely loved this book. Great character development and subtle
    humor. She explored the issues of social class, how our families shape
    us, and self esteem with such a light hand it felt like a fun
    "summer read", but it gives you a lot to think about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    I thought this was a great book and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I thought this was a great book and thoroughly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check It Out!

    This was a very easy read and was interesting. It combined old folks with new folks and each gave a lesson to the reader. I would recommend this to an age group above 16 years of age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Social Class Examined

    This book takes place during the weekend of a family wedding. However, the crux of the novel is social class and the father-of-the-bride's desire to be in the right circles. His attempts at getting into the right golf club are almost pathetic. This is a farce which I greatly enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Maggie Shipstead's debut is a beautifully written social satire

    Maggie Shipstead's debut is a beautifully written social satire that is both hysterically funny and emotionally compelling. Her description of the characters shows a unique mastery of language, and I loved her use of multiple perspectives in telling the story of a WASPy shotgun wedding. I can't wait to read more from this impressive new author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Xyfthyth

    Bhhj

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2