Customer Reviews for

Seaweed

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another great read from Elle Straus. I know that when I read her

Another great read from Elle Straus. I know that when I read her stuff I will be getting something fun and entertaining. I also know that her stuff is definitely something I would let my girls read when they get a little older and are ready for YA. Plus Seaweed is very ...
Another great read from Elle Straus. I know that when I read her stuff I will be getting something fun and entertaining. I also know that her stuff is definitely something I would let my girls read when they get a little older and are ready for YA. Plus Seaweed is very well written you can trust this author knows what she is doing.

When Elle asked if I would be interested in reading Seaweed I knew I would have to. I love mermaid stories and this one seemed perfect. And it was. It had some really cute characters, an interesting storyline, and the right amount of suspense to leave me wondering. My favorite part was the suspense. There was quite a bit in the story and I found myself pleasantly surprised by how some things revealed themselves. Some of which I never saw coming.

One thing that kept me from rating this a 5 star book was probably how unbelievable the relationship between Dori and her parents were. I won’t give away what happens, but if I were to have done half of the things she did…well I probably would not be alive right now. I don’t know that’s just me. Maybe other parents were a little more lenient with their kids. I felt she should have been held a little more responsible after all that she did.

Anywhoo, loved Seaweed! Thought it was beyond cute and I suggest anyone looking for a clean YA read about merpeople to pick it up today.

posted by twimom101 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ssg

Hello may i speak to sparkelstar?

posted by 8034385 on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read from Elle Straus. I know that when I read her

    Another great read from Elle Straus. I know that when I read her stuff I will be getting something fun and entertaining. I also know that her stuff is definitely something I would let my girls read when they get a little older and are ready for YA. Plus Seaweed is very well written you can trust this author knows what she is doing.

    When Elle asked if I would be interested in reading Seaweed I knew I would have to. I love mermaid stories and this one seemed perfect. And it was. It had some really cute characters, an interesting storyline, and the right amount of suspense to leave me wondering. My favorite part was the suspense. There was quite a bit in the story and I found myself pleasantly surprised by how some things revealed themselves. Some of which I never saw coming.

    One thing that kept me from rating this a 5 star book was probably how unbelievable the relationship between Dori and her parents were. I won’t give away what happens, but if I were to have done half of the things she did…well I probably would not be alive right now. I don’t know that’s just me. Maybe other parents were a little more lenient with their kids. I felt she should have been held a little more responsible after all that she did.

    Anywhoo, loved Seaweed! Thought it was beyond cute and I suggest anyone looking for a clean YA read about merpeople to pick it up today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Despite a bit of an awkward beginning, Seaweed turned out to be

    Despite a bit of an awkward beginning, Seaweed turned out to be an undeniably fun and unique reading experience. Yes, it has to do with mermaids, no secret there just by the cover and the description you know that, but it is an unusual mermaid tale. Dori is a fantastic swimmer. And looking for a boyfriend. She lives in the very small town of Eastcove New Brunswick and when a new guy shows up at the end of the year Bonfire, everyone notices, especially Dori. Dori isn't shy so she goes up to introduce herself. But when the guys get a bit rowdy and start spraying soda at each other and Dori decides to spray her water in new guy, Tor's face he dashes off down the beach and heads into the ice cold June waters. Dori, being a lifeguard goes in after him, but cannot find him, and at the risk of hypothermia, she has to get out of the water. Her story launches a massive Coast Guard search for Tor until Tor's Uncle shows up at the police station saying it was all a mistake and Tor is fine.

    It's all a bit awkward in the beginning, the relationship rushed, Dori's anger at Tor a bit too much for only knowing him such a short while, anger, jealousy, feelings. All of that was a bit much and not like the other Elle Strauss book I've read. But, once all that was over with, which wasn't very much into the book, things settled down and the book got very interesting. Dori finds out that she has a very interesting family tree. And that may explain the pearl like mounds behind her ears and the itchy rashes on her legs. And the deep longing and feelings she has towards Tor.

    I liked Dori but sometimes she was just plain stupid. She didn't learn from her mistakes and it was as if the guys around her didn't learn from her mistakes either. Every time she asked them to do something and they tried to talk her out of it they gave into her and it ended badly. Come on! How many times does it have to happen before you learn your lesson? And I blame the people that were more experienced for giving in to her. They knew what they were doing was stupid! That was an annoying trait of hers. She never forsaw the danger, until the very end. Finally, she catches a clue and listens.

    This was a bit predictable as well. I knew what was going to happen before it happened and knew who was who before it happened. But it didn't make everything predictable and it didn't take away from my enjoyment of the novel. I had a great time with the novel. I've been having a hard time finding things that I've wanted to read lately and this one fit the bill for me. There is plenty of room for a sequel so I'm hoping there will be.

    Thanks to AToMR and Elle Strauss for the review copy of Seaweed. Here is a link to the rest of the tour:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Rainlight

    Voting may work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Streamfur

    "I would love to join WaterClan!"the pretty she-cat mewed"But I didnt come alone"she stepped back to reveal her littermates as well as her two kits

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Lost kit

    Plz help me my mama was killed and my leg really hurts....is black she kit with whit stripe between her ocean blu eyes. Help me plz..anyone?..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Ferntail -- May I join?

    A female warrior...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 8 of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1