Customer Reviews for

Seawitch (Greywalker Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Favorite of the series

This was my favirite book of the series, i love all things nautical and this was spot on. I am enthralled by the myths and legends Ms. Richardson brings to life and makes her own...while still keeping us ground in reality. I know she must spend an enormous amount of tim...
This was my favirite book of the series, i love all things nautical and this was spot on. I am enthralled by the myths and legends Ms. Richardson brings to life and makes her own...while still keeping us ground in reality. I know she must spend an enormous amount of time in research and it does no go unnoticed. My request for the next book...BIGFOOT!

posted by 8573706 on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

fast paced, action packed tale that kept me on the edge of my seat.

Harper Blaine is a private investigator, who after dying for two minutes found herself able to walk the realm between the living and the paranormal. This space is known as the "grey". She is known as a Greywalker and maintains the balance between both worlds. While read...
Harper Blaine is a private investigator, who after dying for two minutes found herself able to walk the realm between the living and the paranormal. This space is known as the "grey". She is known as a Greywalker and maintains the balance between both worlds. While reading the series we have watched Harper learn her skills as a Greywalker, face down evil adversaries and figure out her own personal life. I adore and respect Harper. She is strong, brave, snarky and brilliant. She thinks on her feet, and is a total kickass. She is like a Timex watch she takes a licking' and keeps on ticking. She is without a doubt one of my favorite female protagonists. She doesn't complain about her problems, she is fair and always tries to do the noble thing. She has made a life for herself in Seattle working as both a PI and handling "grey" cases. Often the two intertwine and the ride is always a good one. Harper has been hired by an insurance company, to investigate the return of the Seawitch. Twenty-seven years ago the ship and her crew disappeared. They were declared lost. Now it has suddenly reappeared and is docked in its old birth at the marina. Harper learns that the Seattle police department is also investigating and she is anxious to find out why. At the marina Detective Rey Solis greets her. Rey’s cases and Harper’s have intertwined before and Harper suspects he doesn’t entirely trust her. The tale that unfolds is suspenseful, full of old Ireland lore and mystical creatures. Richardson has this incredible ability to create characters that you cannot help but love. I have already professed my feelings for protagonist Harper Blaine. In each novel we have seen her grow and this novel is no exception. I loved seeing her open up and connect with people. Harper is complicated, delightful and her snarky attitude often has me giggling. I am so pleased that Richardson chose to include Rey Solis in this case. Learning his history and meeting his family was interesting and I loved getting to know the man behind the cold, professional, by-the-book Detective. I am hoping he joins Harper on other cases. Quinton wasn’t as present in this novel, but when he was ..WOW! We get to know more about him and his secretive past. Facts revealed about his father..OMG! I promised no spoilers so my lips are sealed. We meet other colorful people and creatures that add to the mystery. Richardson brought these secondary characters to life and each was unique in their own right. Let’s talk world-building and nobody does it like Kat! If you have read any books in this series, I think you will agree that Richardson is brilliant with bringing the realm between the living and the paranormal to life. As I read her words I slipped into the grey and it bursts to life. Each novel reveals more about this mysterious, unique place and I find myself completely enthralled. Harper's case was fascinating. I love to watch documentaries about lost ships and speculate about what occurred. The tale of the Seawitch was fascinating, as the author slowly revealed clues and pieces of the mystery. She did this while weaving in old lore’s and mystical creatures. It was delightful and she breathed an air of believability into it all. The action scenes were exciting and had me turning the pages at a rapid pace. The subplot(s) that weaves throughout all eight novels just keeps getting more intense and I find myself once again drooling in anticipation for the next book. *si

posted by kimba88 on August 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    fast paced, action packed tale that kept me on the edge of my seat.

    Harper Blaine is a private investigator, who after dying for two minutes found herself able to walk the realm between the living and the paranormal. This space is known as the "grey". She is known as a Greywalker and maintains the balance between both worlds. While reading the series we have watched Harper learn her skills as a Greywalker, face down evil adversaries and figure out her own personal life. I adore and respect Harper. She is strong, brave, snarky and brilliant. She thinks on her feet, and is a total kickass. She is like a Timex watch she takes a licking' and keeps on ticking. She is without a doubt one of my favorite female protagonists. She doesn't complain about her problems, she is fair and always tries to do the noble thing. She has made a life for herself in Seattle working as both a PI and handling "grey" cases. Often the two intertwine and the ride is always a good one. Harper has been hired by an insurance company, to investigate the return of the Seawitch. Twenty-seven years ago the ship and her crew disappeared. They were declared lost. Now it has suddenly reappeared and is docked in its old birth at the marina. Harper learns that the Seattle police department is also investigating and she is anxious to find out why. At the marina Detective Rey Solis greets her. Rey’s cases and Harper’s have intertwined before and Harper suspects he doesn’t entirely trust her. The tale that unfolds is suspenseful, full of old Ireland lore and mystical creatures. Richardson has this incredible ability to create characters that you cannot help but love. I have already professed my feelings for protagonist Harper Blaine. In each novel we have seen her grow and this novel is no exception. I loved seeing her open up and connect with people. Harper is complicated, delightful and her snarky attitude often has me giggling. I am so pleased that Richardson chose to include Rey Solis in this case. Learning his history and meeting his family was interesting and I loved getting to know the man behind the cold, professional, by-the-book Detective. I am hoping he joins Harper on other cases. Quinton wasn’t as present in this novel, but when he was ..WOW! We get to know more about him and his secretive past. Facts revealed about his father..OMG! I promised no spoilers so my lips are sealed. We meet other colorful people and creatures that add to the mystery. Richardson brought these secondary characters to life and each was unique in their own right. Let’s talk world-building and nobody does it like Kat! If you have read any books in this series, I think you will agree that Richardson is brilliant with bringing the realm between the living and the paranormal to life. As I read her words I slipped into the grey and it bursts to life. Each novel reveals more about this mysterious, unique place and I find myself completely enthralled. Harper's case was fascinating. I love to watch documentaries about lost ships and speculate about what occurred. The tale of the Seawitch was fascinating, as the author slowly revealed clues and pieces of the mystery. She did this while weaving in old lore’s and mystical creatures. It was delightful and she breathed an air of believability into it all. The action scenes were exciting and had me turning the pages at a rapid pace. The subplot(s) that weaves throughout all eight novels just keeps getting more intense and I find myself once again drooling in anticipation for the next book. *si

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    I've read the whold series and really enjoyed them. They are the

    I've read the whold series and really enjoyed them. They are the kind of books you read late at night and can not put down until you know everyone in the book is alright so it may be 3 or 4 o'clock before you know it. You get that involved with the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Favorite of the series

    This was my favirite book of the series, i love all things nautical and this was spot on. I am enthralled by the myths and legends Ms. Richardson brings to life and makes her own...while still keeping us ground in reality. I know she must spend an enormous amount of time in research and it does no go unnoticed. My request for the next book...BIGFOOT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Fast paced, good reading

    Another well written book in the greywalker series. This time it revolves more around her investigative abilities. A one day read even though it kept me up late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the better outings of the series.  After the &qu

    This was one of the better outings of the series.  After the "big bad" arc of books that took our protagonist to England before returning her home, this (and the last book) are trying to grounder Harper back in the real world.  I like that Ms. Richardson is doing that, it makes me happy to see an author do a veritable "re-boot" without making a big deal of it.  She's brought the series back to it's paranormal gumshoe roots.  I, for one, am pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read!

    Good read. Characters still interesting like the evolving relationship between Harper and Detective Solis. Story was good but seemed a little slow to begin with but then took off to where I couldn't put it down. A good solid outing for Richardson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Great book! I am so glad this series was recommended. It was har

    Great book! I am so glad this series was recommended. It was hard not to rush through the book. There was so much to absorb. I love how Richardson can put us in a new world as she did in this book. Harper teams up with Detective Rey Solis to investigate a missing boat appearing after 25 years. Harper investigates this collision of the mortal and paranormal worlds with Solis trying to make sense of the events Harper draws him into. I am hooked on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great summer read.

    This is another fine story about Harper that tells a fun funtastical mystery. But what I liked best is how she built up the relationships between the characters. Ok so I did figur out the mystery plot line early, but that didnt detract from how the story was told or how much more connected I felt with the characters. I just wish I could learn to pace myself and not devour her books. But to paraphrase my oldest "but its just so goood!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Very engaging story!

    Kat Richardson, did a wonderful job with this book. Harper finds herself working with Detective Rey Solis on a case involving Ghost Ships, mermaids, and mythical otters. Like all her other books, Kat gives you excellent detail and imagery that we keep you wholly invested in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Great Read!

    The latest installment in the Harper Blaine books is another entertaining mystery. Love the series. Like all of the myths Richardson uncovers in all of the areas. In this book, the look at the sea, and the myths and legends involved is delightful! Now, write faster, Ms. Richardson!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2