Customer Reviews for

Second Chance

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this Book!

This was actually my first experience reading a Jane Green novel. I must admit that when it was chosen for this month's book club... I was a bit skeptical. However, once I began reading this book, I fell instantly in love with her writing style and character developme...
This was actually my first experience reading a Jane Green novel. I must admit that when it was chosen for this month's book club... I was a bit skeptical. However, once I began reading this book, I fell instantly in love with her writing style and character development. Definitely a 'must-read'

posted by Anonymous on September 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I got the CD to listen to since I'm traveling and it's just on and on and on until I was about to scream 'GET ON WITH THE STORY!' I can't even imagine sitting and reading all that ... all the descriptions, all the things that just aren't that important to make the stor...
I got the CD to listen to since I'm traveling and it's just on and on and on until I was about to scream 'GET ON WITH THE STORY!' I can't even imagine sitting and reading all that ... all the descriptions, all the things that just aren't that important to make the story good. The thing is, the idea is good .. we all saw that in the big chill, and it would have been a good book if it had taken a different turn. I started out with a good attitude about it. After a while, I was ready to throw the CD's out the window. Next time I'll choose more carefully when I'm trying to be entertained while driving across country ... something like that is just dangerous. A person could fall asleep listening to such drivel!!

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I got the CD to listen to since I'm traveling and it's just on and on and on until I was about to scream 'GET ON WITH THE STORY!' I can't even imagine sitting and reading all that ... all the descriptions, all the things that just aren't that important to make the story good. The thing is, the idea is good .. we all saw that in the big chill, and it would have been a good book if it had taken a different turn. I started out with a good attitude about it. After a while, I was ready to throw the CD's out the window. Next time I'll choose more carefully when I'm trying to be entertained while driving across country ... something like that is just dangerous. A person could fall asleep listening to such drivel!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Jane Green is by far my favorite author.This book was a great read. At first I thought it was a little morbid, but as you continue to read because you can't put it down, it gets lighter. This book will make you look at your own relationships with people including friends and family. This book made me realizes that I'm normal to have certain feelings that I have and at the end of the day I wouldn't want my life any different than how it is. Double thumbs up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Love this Book!

    This was actually my first experience reading a Jane Green novel. I must admit that when it was chosen for this month's book club... I was a bit skeptical. However, once I began reading this book, I fell instantly in love with her writing style and character development. Definitely a 'must-read'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everything comes back Together

    I read some peoples reviews on this book and im sorry but I dont agree. I thought this book was touching, it had a great plot and it was hard to put down. Maybe not as romantic as I assumed it would be, but still a great read. Its sad what brought all these friends back together after so many years but it happens. I enjoyed the characters, and I thought the whole idea around the book was great. Im def. getting into Jane Green's novels more and more. I have read quite a few now and I think she hits the spot everytime.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2007

    Love Jane Green books!!

    The first chapter started off slow, so I was not sure how I was going to like the book as a whole. However, once I got past that first chapter it is AMAZING!!! I have been having a hard time putting it down, as I want to know what happens next! It's not Jemima J, however, it is just as good!! I love Jane Green and countdown until her next book is out!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    It's not Jemima J, and if people are expecting that they will be disappointed. But if you are excited about new characters and how great Jane Green is at developing characters - you will really enjoy this. I personally couldn't put it down because I was dying to see what was going to happen next and how the characters were going to get on with their lives. I love Jane Green and I look forward to her books each time they are released.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Truly a great read...

    I thought this was a great tale of friendships and relationships. I truly couldn't put it down and would recommend it to anyone - especially those who have enjoyed her other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    Good book for a light summer read

    I have read all of the Jane Green books and this one was not bad but not as good as some of her others. Her writing was good and I did feel feel that I could relate to the main character Holly. The ending left me wanting a little more closure but overall this is not a bad book in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Loved the new book!

    I have been eagerly anticipating the arrival of Green's new book. My mom and I both loved the story and found it impossible to put down. The story about rekindling old friendships, and beginning new ones made us laugh and cry out loud. A fun book for pool side reading. Go into it with an open mind, because the book gets better and better as it goes on. It is only proper that an author's style will change as she grows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Boring as all heck!!

    Can't even finish the book!! Totally disappoined in the author's last few books. Loved her older ones. Oh well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2015

    Wonderful read...

    Jane..love anything you write.Beautiful,touching and very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Not good.

    From the description, i thought this would be a warm story about old friends rekindling their friendship and acting like kids again, realizing after the sudden death of their friend that they've only got so much time left together. Instead, I got the story of a bunch of rich ladies clucking about how hard their lives are. The main character, Holly, is the worst. All she thinks about is how much she hates her husband and everyone else's wives. Another mediocre story by Jane, surprise surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Great

    Read it on my honeymoon in Jamaica. Great feel good book. Love the one you're with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good but drags on a bit

    I didn't love this book as much Jane Green's others. It was a good story, but I think it drug on a bit through the middle. Still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Terrific and Warm Story.

    I have bought just about all of Jane's books because she writes such wonderful stories and this novel "Second Chance" is no exception. In this story of friends the author again drew me into the story and I could feel every emotion (even the laughter) the characters were experiencing. In my opinion it's an easy, feel good read. A great book to relax with on the beach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    I just could not get into this book...

    ...honestly, I only read the first half and figure that I'd wasted enough time on it. I could not get into the story and kept waiting for something to happen, anything, secretive, thrilling, romantic...I got nothing. There were so many characters, none of them outstanding or memorable, that I could not tell the difference between who was who and wish I'd written them down so I could tell them apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Divorce, affair, etc.

    I have a hard time with books about affairs and divorce. mostly because I'm recently married and not ready to think too much about those topics. If you are more into these topics, then you may enjoy this book more than I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    No Second Chance Needed

    The plot of this novel was not what I expected from the blurb, and even from reading the first few chapters. However, as I delved deeper I became attached to the characters and was reacting as if I were in a movie theater, i.e. shouting "NO!" at my book, only by myself, in my study. Regardless, Jane Green is an excellent author and even if my initial understanding of the plot was a little muddled, she carries the story nicely by bridging multiple characters with interesting stories. One of the substories was a little cheesetastic, but it can be overlooked due to my overall enjoyment of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Fast Read

    This book is about a group of high school friends who get reunited due to a friends death in a terrorist attack. They are approaching 40 and Tom's death has made them all take a long look at their lives. It has given them all a second chance. A good enough book to save and give a second read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Take a chance on Second Chance!

    I enjoyed reading Second Chance. It was a fast read and very entertainig to watch the characters go through their everyday lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4