Customer Reviews for

A Second Chance

Average Rating 4.5
( 441 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(303)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

LOVE!!! LOVE!!! LOVE!!!

I read this entire series...sentence to marriage, mud & gold, settling the account, & the second chance...& I LOVED IT!!!!! I love historical romance stories & that is exactly what this is!! You will love the heroine, hate her husband, & love how it all ends up. There a...
I read this entire series...sentence to marriage, mud & gold, settling the account, & the second chance...& I LOVED IT!!!!! I love historical romance stories & that is exactly what this is!! You will love the heroine, hate her husband, & love how it all ends up. There are times that you will hate what is happening...love the "justice"...you will hate the stepmother...trust me, you will be captivated & be upset when it's over!! I think that is the only thing I don't like is how the last book ends...what happens to the characters that we have fallen in love with? She just left it hanging like there was going to be another book but I can't find anything else by her...NO FAIR!!! =]

posted by ivymelinda on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

more, but less than the preceding volumes

Another chapter in a work appealingly different from most of today's. The story reads much more like fiction than the preceding three volumes. This book takes a strange turn from the earlier story, leaving the reader restless and slightly disappointed.

posted by 10866408 on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    LOVE!!! LOVE!!! LOVE!!!

    I read this entire series...sentence to marriage, mud & gold, settling the account, & the second chance...& I LOVED IT!!!!! I love historical romance stories & that is exactly what this is!! You will love the heroine, hate her husband, & love how it all ends up. There are times that you will hate what is happening...love the "justice"...you will hate the stepmother...trust me, you will be captivated & be upset when it's over!! I think that is the only thing I don't like is how the last book ends...what happens to the characters that we have fallen in love with? She just left it hanging like there was going to be another book but I can't find anything else by her...NO FAIR!!! =]

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    A Must Read if you're following Amy's story

    When I got to the last page of the first book, I shouted, "You can't end it there!" What a relief when I discovered it was a series and I could quickly continue to follow Amy's life. This author really makes you love and hate her characters and the pages of her books fly by. If you've read the series prior to this book, this is a must read. Happiness at last.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2012

    Highly Recommend this series!!!

    I'm finishing up the last book in this series. About 100 pages from the end and I can't lie. I don't want to finish it. I've flown through these books but it feels like I've been reading them forever. You really do feel like you get to know Amy, Lizzie, and lovely Frank! And all of their kids. I felt like they are strangely a part of me. Shayne Parkinson has a real gift.

    I'm not going to lie, these books are depressing and you will have that moment where you ask yourself, why am I reading these? Nothing good ever happens to the characters that you grow to love (ie. Amy), but it does seem to come together.

    You have characters you love, characters you hate...love stories, stories of family, stories of abuse, stories of redemption. I highly think that this a series that is worth your time.

    Set in 1800's in a small farm town in New Zealand, you meet Amy Leith and her pa and her two brothers. You follow young Amy from the tender of 15 all the way through adulthood. You watch her struggle with the choices that she makes and what she must do to get through this life. And you see just how brave and strong she really is.

    READ THIS SERIES. The books are long, but beautifully written!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Literature

    I wonder how many reviewers here know that this remarkable quartet of books is self-published? I didn't know either until I had devoured all four books in less than a week. After I finished reading, I visited Parkinson's website and followed a link to a review in which the critic praised Parkinson's work and held it up as an example that there ARE self-published books that are well written and enjoyable works of fiction.

    I make this point to say that not only did Parkinson write a set of books which I'm certain are destined to be popular classics, but she did it pretty much on her own, without the help of professional editor or publishers. Parkinson is, indeed, one very talented lady. I applaud her and I thank for providing us with such wonderful books!

    This series of books put me slightly in mind of the American classic Little House on the Prairie series, except written for more mature audiences. I have really only read one of the Little House books, so am not keenly familiar with them, but I did see a resemblance--and I mean that as the highest praise.

    These characters are captivating, particularly Amy--the main character whose life is followed from late girlhood to mature years. Lizzi, Amy's cousin, gives Amy, however, a run for her money in terms of which character you want to fall in love with.

    I am an avid reader as well as a former English teacher, so I know a good story when I see it! I heartily recommend these books and as you read, you will see why.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    A Great Happy Ending

    From book one all the way to the end, I found this book to be one of the best series I have ever read. When I started reading this series, I thought it was going to be kind of boring but decided to try it regardless, and now, Shayne Parkinson is one of my favorite authors EVER! I do wish she wrote another series, and I bet it'd be as good and the Promises to Keep series. Anyway, after reading this book, Parkinson has still surprised me. After the incident with Jimmy, I thought the book was going to be a total downer since the part with Jimmy was exciting to read for me, but it proved to be entertaining afterwards and I especially enjoyed the end. I highly recommend this book to be read in schools for teenagers and young adults in college for those who want to know the experience women had to deal with in the 1800s-1900s. Again, great read!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Fantastic series of books!

    Very long, very entertaining...perfect summer reading. I had a very hard time putting any of the four books down. I am now off to download anything else this author has written.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    WONDERFUL!

    I simply could not put this series down. I have been completely spellbound by these books. I loved every one of them and couldn't put them down. I can't believe these books are not on a best sellers list. The author pulls you into the fabric of this large family and makes you feel as though you are one of them and leaves you wanting more.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Awesome read!

    I bought this book just because I read the reviews and for $2.99, I figured...it's not much to lose if I don't like the book...well 3 books down and I'm about to read Second Chance. I don't even have to read this book and I know it's going to be worth it. What I love is that these books are amazingly detailed, well written, and LONG! I'm an avid reader and 200-300 page books usually get read in less than a day! At least I can linger over these awhile....you won't be disappointed!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Story

    I just finished this book, the last of the four series. I am going to miss Ms. Amy and her journey through life. I highly recommend this series. The story which is based back in the 1800's, I learned about the way life was back then and how to appreciate the modern world of which we live in today. Loved it and hope that Shayne Parkinson will soon write more books.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Totally amazing book!!! I have now read the series (4 books total). The first "Sentance Marriage" was a free ebook, but I willingly purchased the rest of them... they were hard to put down long enough to work etc... I just wanted to be able to sit and devour them - my attention was ensnared from the first page through the last!! Would definately recommend these books!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    EXCELENT - OURSTANDING

    This is the 4th book to this series, As angry as I got in the first 3 bboks, I was equally tearful and wanting more.... I was sorry Charles & Amy took so long to find love, thrilled Jimmy finally got his due, and Amy finally found her beloved daughter and peace in her life... Love this story and am looking forward to reading it over and over again... OUTSTANDING story

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Second Chance

    Read all 4 of these books,spent many late nights, and many days the tv did not even get turned on because I had to read. Extrememly good, I was sucked into Amy and rest of her families lives. Amy is the kind of person everyone should have in their lives. I loved the way Parkinson tied everything up in the end. This will be on my favorite list, hoping Shayne Parkinson comes out with another set of books like these. My opinion "A MUST READ". Can't go wrong for only $2.99each for the last 3 books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    WILL CAPTURE YOU!

    Completely consuming series. Shayne Parkinson has such a way with words that each book will take you back to the 1900's and keep you there until the end, leaving you exhausted from every emotion and completely fulfilled at the same time. Truly a rare find.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Very good books

    I just lover her books and am looking forward to another. Even tho I have not read Second Chance, Amy certainly deserves better that what she has had. I agree these books should get a LOT of attention, they are wonderfully written.
    I was never a reader until the NOOK and now am an avid reader. Glad I found this series! Cannot wait to see what happens in this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Very good

    I read the whole series. Sweet stories, with just enough drama to keep you coming back for more. Parkinson's use of descriptive language and her ear for dialogue keep the story moving without ever feeling heavy or tedious. The setting was almost a character in itself: Victorian, colonial New Zealand. I loved getting to experience a different time and place through the characters' perspectives.
    I liked how the series ended, with Amy's "second chance". Nothing life-changing, but nice reading. I would definitely read more if/when they are available.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Wonderful Series of Books

    I truly loved the writing of Shayne Parkinson, she is a gifted author. I was drawn in with the first book, "Sentence of Marriage", and have read all 4 books of the series.
    The setting for this story is in the 1800's, which was eye opening for me as a woman. We take for granted the opportunities we have, which were certainly not allowed back when this story was taking place.
    It makes you realize how the many woman before us really had no say in what was to happen in their lives. The author has a unique way to draw the reader in quickly, and then its impossible to put down her books.
    I hope she publishes new books soon, as I haven't been able to find any.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I thoroughly enjoyed the entire series involving these characters. The author brings a depth to the characters that enables the reader to become totally involved with the story. I would certainly read other books by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Excellent Read.

    I hope someone makes a movie or mini series on these books they were such good reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Highly recommend!

    I highly recommend this book. I have absolutely enjoyed these books in this series. The writer Shayne Parkinson makes you feel like you are part of the book. I sympathized with the character of Amy and all the hardships that she endured in her life. Second Chance gives Amy all that she deserves. I loved Amy and her optimistic view of life!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    more, but less than the preceding volumes

    Another chapter in a work appealingly different from most of today's. The story reads much more like fiction than the preceding three volumes. This book takes a strange turn from the earlier story, leaving the reader restless and slightly disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 441 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23