Customer Reviews for

Second Chance Boyfriend (One Week Girlfriend Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

MARSHMALLOW!!!!!!!!!!!

What a great follow up book to One Week Girlfriend. There were ups and downs, some stressful situations and then the HEA. Loved Fable and Drew's story and how the author let us see their thoughts/views within the story. I am also glad that the book finished rather th...
What a great follow up book to One Week Girlfriend. There were ups and downs, some stressful situations and then the HEA. Loved Fable and Drew's story and how the author let us see their thoughts/views within the story. I am also glad that the book finished rather than leave us with a cliffhanger(too many authors are going that way). However, if the author Monica Murphy deems it worthy, she can include them in further books about some other characters in this book: Owen's story or Jen/Colin's relationship?

posted by 13gpb on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

M

This is a book review site, not a sex site for catching partners. Take it somewhere else.

posted by 8888649 on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Good read

    Once again a good read. But still many errores through out the book. If you can look past that. It was good. I am hoping she introduced Colin and Jen to make a book out of them. Fingers crossed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Engaging Characters

    I read the first book OWB and loved it. Would have rated it 5 stars. The characters were sympathetic and the hero had a real trauma. The heroine was courageous and struggling. The story continues in SCB. The characters love each other and persevere through real obstacles. I liked the characters but the second book was just not as good as the first.
    Fable's boss came off as sleazy, but he's not? The horrible stepmother is still in the story, but this part of the plot was not resolved in a satisfactory manner. Would I recommend it? Yes, particularly if you read the first book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    This book is written for teens but it's a pretty good read!  Lot

    This book is written for teens but it's a pretty good read!  Lots of drama but she ended it well!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Like it.

    I like the story. Andrew comes from a screwed up family. His stepmother molested him when he was young. But he learned how to straighten himself and void his step mom. Then he met fable who also grew up in messed up family. She has a bad reputation as a slut, but she a very good person. She takes care of her little brother, fable accepted andrew, understand him and tries to help him deal with his past. As andrew tries to help her do the same. I like the story.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2014

    I loved this second installment of the Drew + Fable series. I kn

    I loved this second installment of the Drew + Fable series. I know that the next one, Three Broken Promises is about Colin and Jen so I am kind of sorry to say goodbye to Drew and Fable but excited to read about the new couple.




    In the second one to the Drew + Fable series, we see Drew + Fable at a new angle. At the end of the book, we see them seven months later. I loved that! It was interesting to see a new angle and to see them grow older.
    I can't wait to read the next installment, Three Broken Promises along with the new novella, Forever Drew and Fable and finally the one Four Years Later, Owen's book. I am so excited for his book, because he is just so cute and I know I'm gonna love him.
    Second Chance Boyfriend was funny and sarcastic and made me feel many emotions that I usually don't feel toward a book. Such as:




    I yelled, cried, screamed, and loved with the characters.
    I recommend this series to readers who love contemporary romance, but can stand a few annoying characters.
    Rating: 8.6/10
    Parental Rating: 16+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    I enjoyed this book as much as the first. It is not the same ru

    I enjoyed this book as much as the first. It is not the same run of the mill story line and like that the female character is actually a strong person. So sick of the weak, damaged girl meets the man-whore book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Kept my interest

    Loved this series. With each book I wanted to read more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    great story

    never give up hope...great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Very good

    A very good story i liked book 1 better, this one felt rushed at the end Looking forward to books 3(Colin and Jen) and 4(Owen)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    ;)

    Very good book! Can't wait to read about Colin and Jen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    I am so happy that this book ended the way I hoped

    Fable and Drew both deserve a HEA although it was a tough road and they still have a little ways to go I have no doubt they will. I have already pre-ordered #3 which is Jen and Colin's story. I recommend this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    223 pages on nook

    I wish it was longer I love drew and fables stories! cant wait to read broken promises

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Emotional and Heartbreaking:   SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND is the se

    Emotional and Heartbreaking:   SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND is the second storyline in Monica Murphy’s contemporary New Adult romance series Drew + Fable. For me, this particular novel was not as emotionally strong as ONE WEEK GIRLFRIEND because many of the heartbreaking scenes and gut wrenching revelations had already been revealed in the first book.
    Second Chance Boyfriend follows Drew and Fable approximately two months after One Week Girlfriend. With the shocking revelations about his past, Drew walks away from Fable believing he is not worthy of her love or her support, but a chance meeting will find Drew and Fable together again, with the realization that both have been miserable without the other. Wounded souls and broken hearts have a way of finding each other and Drew and Fable needed each other just to breathe.
    Part of this particular storyline will focus on Drew’s withdrawal into himself; Fable’s new place of employment and a developing new friendship; the dissolution of a family; and the declaration of love between two emotionally broken souls who want to be loved for themselves. But the mind and the body remember and it is difficult to forget the tumultuous childhood and betrayal by those who were meant to protect you. In order for Fable to keep her younger brother safe there is only one option but fate had a way of interfering before it all began. And for Drew to move on, he would have to face the demons head on but not before the woman he loves is threatened.
    If you believe karma is a b*tch then she definitely had it coming. When the past and the truth are finally revealed to everyone concerned, the wall between father and son will begin to crumble and a new beginning is on the horizon.
    SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND is the final story for Drew and Fable in this particular ARC but Monica will be continuing the series with future books focusing on different characters we have met before. I highly recommend reading ONE WEEK GIRLFRIEND before SECOND CHANCE BOYFRIEND-so much of the second storyline is dependent on the first and it would be impossible to not to feel the emotional turmoil and heartbreaking sorrow of betrayal at the hands of someone you trust. Too much information is revealed in book one.
    Second Chance Boyfriends is an emotional and thought-provoking storyline of overcoming the odds when the people you trust most fail you at every turn. Monica Murphy writes from the heart and pulls the reader in so that you feel the angst, the betrayal, the sorrow and the pain, but above all else, you will cheer for two people, who at the end of the day deserve happiness and love, above all else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    totally recommend

    I fell in love with the characters in the first book and this one didnt disappoint

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    With the way that One Week Girlfriend ended I anxiously awaited

    With the way that One Week Girlfriend ended I anxiously awaited the release of this sequel. On the day it came out I purchased it, excited to get back into this love story. But like most books I buy, it got lost in my TBR pile. A month later I stumbled across the title in my kindle app and decided it was time to revisit Drew and Fable. Since it is the second book in the series I highly recommend reading book 1, especially before reading this review, but definitely before reading this book.
    I loved One Week Girlfriend, the first book. I loved the sexual tension, the build up, the alternating POVs and most of all the friendship and love story that evolved between two wonderfully different but beautifully pieced together characters. The ending broke me, it had me screaming MARSHMALLOW in search of my own savior from the cliffhanger that was KILLING me. I think most who read One Week Girlfriend don't need to be persuaded to seek out this second book, for me it wasn't even a choice I had to know what happened next. This final book definitely sums up Drew and Fable's story for us. As a reader and fan of the first installment this sequel does not disappoint.
    Second Chance Boyfriend begins two months after Drew leaves Fable. Fable begins working at a new restaurant and things are going great for her in that respect, but there's definitely a Texas sized hole in her chest whether she admits it to anyone or not. Drew's trying to help himself and is coping with everything in his life, but he still can't hear Fable's name without his body stiffening. As a reader you are dying for that moment when they see each other again as a firm believer in HEAs I was holding my breath for them.
    Next to the lead characters, my next favorite is Owen, Fable's younger brother. I love Owen. I love the way he loves Fable like something fierce. He's strong and capable of anything if he keeps his head on straight. I'm looking forward to hearing his story! Like, really looking forward to it.
    The villain of book 1, for me [and all of you I'm sure], was Adele. Woman is just wrong. In this book we're still dealing with the pain and emotional baggage Adele has caused and is causing, but I really came to hate, yes I said hate, Fable's mom. Her degree of carelessness and cruelty is unimaginable. Monica Murphy definitely pulls some strong feelings out of her readers and makes us experience the hurt with her characters.
    Second Chance Boyfriend became a much darker story at the end. We see resolution and closure to a dark part of Drew's past. His secrets become revealed and repercussions occur. This along with the demons, or demon, of Fable's life build into a heart breaking yet uplifting concluding chapter. It was a rocky but beautifully constructed and executed love story. I recommend this series to anyone who will listen. If your looking for drama, romance, an unforgettable story, and well drawn characters then this one is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A must read!

    Although this was a new author to me and I was hesitant at first, I am very happy I took a chance on this book! It has wonderful characters and keeps you wanting more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Loved it

    I absolutely love this sweet love story. The ending was so sweet and I was glad for Fable and Drew. Loved the special messages with the names. Very creative!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Good

    Not bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3