Customer Reviews for

Second Chance Grill

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    Second chance at life and love. Miracles do happen. These are t

    Second chance at life and love.
    Miracles do happen.

    These are the two things that anybody will need, in order to summarize Second Chance Grill. But, let's take things from the top.
    Dr. Mary Chance needs a break from her life as a doctor. And the perfect opportunity comes up. Her aunt decides to retire and gives her restaurant to Mary, which is named Second Chance Grill. Mary decorates it, hires a decent cook and after a quite hard beginning, business is finally open. That's when Blossom, the cutest girl she's ever seen, walks in and steals her heart. Well, half her heart because the other half belongs to Blossom's father, Anthony. That's right people. Love at first sight.
    Anthony has been through enough. He got married and raised his daughter too young. Then his wife leaves him for another guy. And then Blossom is diagnosed with leukemia. Anthony is a great man, an amazing father and Mary has no other choice but to fall in love with him and vice versa.
    Everything seems to be perfect in Mary's new life. So, what's the problem? The thing is Mary wants to run the restaurant for a year and then return to her old life and take over the clinic she worked at. Sounds nice, right? Well, it's not. Because not everything in life goes as planned.
    She has to take over the clinic much sooner than she expected. But what about Anthony? Now that she's found true love, can she just let it slip away from her? And Blossom, who may be healthy for now but nobody knows when or if cancer will return. And in this case it does. But in order for Blossom to live , sacrifices must be made. But like I said, miracles do happen. And sometimes there's a happily ever after.
    All in all, I loved this book even if it's narrated from an adult's point of view. I really didn't mind because it's a story full of messages about life and the decisions that makes us who we are.
    For readers who loved The Fault in Our Stars and The Probability of Miracles, they will definitely adore Second Chance Grill.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    Very good book. You will feel every emotion imaginable at some

    Very good book. You will feel every emotion imaginable at some point during this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Heartwarming

    A bit far-fetched at times (are we really supposed to believe that three people can run a busy restaurant every day for three meals a day??) Characters have depth and likeability.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have read all three of Christine Nolfi¿s novels and this is my

    I have read all three of Christine Nolfi’s novels and this is my favorite. They just keep getting better and better. Even though this is the second book in the series, it is the prequel to Treasure Me, the first book. I wondered if knowing how the book ended before starting to read it would make it less enjoyable for me. The story was delightful and it didn’t matter that I knew what would happen in the end.

    It was a pleasure visiting Liberty again. I continue to be enchanted by the town and its quirky residents. I loved the story of Mary and Anthony and how they fell in love. I loved the story of Blossom and how ordinary citizens came together to help save her life. I loved the story of the restaurant. This was such a heartwarming story and I loved the humor that was expertly used throughout the book.

    Read this book!! This gifted storyteller really outdid herself on this one. Although it is the second book of the series, you can read them in any order and not take away from the enjoyment. I can’t wait for more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Aztec


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1