Customer Reviews for

Second Chance Grill

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    Blossom, age eleven and in remission from leukemia, convinces he

    Blossom, age eleven and in remission from leukemia, convinces her dad, Anthony, to take her to the Second Chance Grill for ice cream.  The young girl has ulterior motives; her long time single dad needs to meet the new owner, Dr. Mary Chance.




    Dr. Mary Chance moves to Liberty, Ohio after her best friend dies.  In Liberty, she has inherited a struggling restaurant from her aunt.  When Blossom and Anthony come to her restaurant the first time the connection is immediate.  Will their bond keep her in Liberty?




    Second Chance Grill takes us to a charming, typical Midwestern town.  I love towns like these.  Everyone knows each other and there are no secrets.  Dr. Mary Chance comes from big town Cincinnati and doesn't quite fit right in, but as time goes on she becomes one of the townsfolk.
    Watching Mary fend off her feelings and stay on course for her original plan was fun.  The story was not predictable, I know how some parts would end, but were happily surprised with other parts.   The unpredictability made me keep reading having to know what happen next.  I also loved how Anthony persuades her to doubt her original plan without ultimatums.  Not being over bearing, just incredibly sexy, sweet, and thoughtful won him a place in my heart.




    The there is Blossom.  My favorite character in the whole book.  At eleven she is witty and smart beyond her years, but Nolfi did not make her old beyond her years.   She still had tantrums and struggles with tween issues.  The fact that she wants and needs a mother was not lost on me and that is the true reason I was hoping for Anthony and Mary to get together.




    I believe this is a novel you will enjoy and come back to again and again.  Second Chance Grill is a truly good book with a truly amazing story.  I know that I will most definitely read the rest of this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    I truly loved everything about this book! Christine Nolfi once a

    I truly loved everything about this book! Christine Nolfi once again brings the small town of Liberty to life where we get to know Mary and Anthony better. In this book we learn how they fell in love and what a beautiful romance they have despite problems along the way.

    This was a heart breaking at times story but the heart warming parts were there too and they were superb. It was so touching how this small town came together to help one of its own. Of course, we couldn't visit Liberty without the comical Theodora. Once again, she brought a smile to my face. :)

    I do look forward to more stories about Liberty and the wonderful cast of characters that the author has created for us. There are some books that are unforgettable and this is one of them!

    The author gave me a copy of this book in return for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    Nolfi asked me to read and review Second Chance Grill, and I imm

    Nolfi asked me to read and review Second Chance Grill, and I immediately jumped at the chance.  The reason is that I have loved her previous books Treasure Me and Tree of Everlasting Knowledge.  Plus Second Chance Grill is the prequel to Treasure Me, so I wanted to return to Liberty and experience the characters and charm of the town.
    Let me just say that if you haven't experienced any of Nolfi's writing you are missing out!  She is very talented in drawing the reader in and holding the attention until the very end!  Also you connect with the characters to the point that you experience the joys and sorrows that they experience.  
    Second Chance Grill is another great read!  All the elements that I love about Nolfi's writing is here.  The story drew me in quickly and I just wanted to keep reading.  In fact at the end of the story my e-reader died, and I had to let it charge just enough that I could finish it.  I was that involved that I was not happy that I couldn't finish it right then.  Especially as emotionally charged as the ending was, even though technically I knew what happened, I needed to experienced it!
    The characters are great!  Having Mary and Anthony narrate the story is great, since both have things in the past that needed to be revealed.  Blossom, while had to deal with a lot for a teenager, has the typical teenager mood swings.  Plus all the other native characters you grew to love from Treasure Me make their appearances as well.
    So if you can't tell you really ought to pick up this book and the others by Christine Nolfi!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    highly recommend

    Really enjoyed it. Like the humor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great Read

    Here is a wonderful story of a young Doctor, who give her all to give a young girl a second chance in life. Very moving and wonderful story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    A young doctor inherits a restaurant in the small town of Libert

    A young doctor inherits a restaurant in the small town of Liberty Ohio.  She decides to take a sabbatical from medicine to run the restaurant before taking over a clinic in Cincinnati as promised to a dear friend who has to retire.  Of course many obstacles threaten to upset her plans.  The author demonstrates her writing skill by creating a variety of interesting characters and situations.  Dr. Mary Chance deals with grief, jealousy, gossip, love, loyalty, life threatening illness, guilt and a few other problems along the way.  The exploration of the character's viewpoints provides valuable insights and empathy  The story flows easily and there are many twists and turns that kept me reading.  Everyone deserves a second chance.     
    I received my copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Everyone deserves a second (and sometimes a third, fourth, and s

    Everyone deserves a second (and sometimes a third, fourth, and so on) chance. It doesn't matter what people have done or what situation they're in, if they are trying to do better another chance should be given to them. Stop living in the past and look towards the future.

    Mary deserves a second chance with her medical career that helps her to feel fulfilled while not disappointing anyone. Her best friend, another doctor, was killed recently by a drunk driver. The two friends had intended on taking over a free clinic as a way to give back to the community, but now that her friend was dead Mary needed to get away. With her aunt retiring, Mary acquires the Liberty's only restaurant. She renames the place, revamps the menu, and opens up shop ... to a horrendous, disastrous first day.

    Anthony deserves a second chance at true love. He had never been in love even though he had been married before. A girl in high school, not even his "girlfriend," was waiting on his bed for him one day after school ... naked. Being a teenage boy with raging hormones, he did what any male in his situation would do ... he had sex with her. That one time was enough to get her pregnant and, being the honorable guy that he was, Anthony married her shortly after graduation. Two years later, she divorces Anthony leaving him in Liberty with their child.

    Blossom deserves a second chance at having a mother and at life. Growing up as a single child with a single parent, Blossom is somewhat spoiled. Anthony's done the best he could during her childhood years, but now that Blossom is a preteen she needs a mother. When Blossom sets eyes on Mary, she determines to have Mary in that role. While pushing Anthony and Mary together every chance she can, Blossom's hiding the fact that she's not feeling well. She's in remission from leukemia and doesn't want to worry her father about her health. About a month before the long-awaited two-year remission mark, Blossom takes a serious turn for the worse: her leukemia has come back with a vengeance. Her only possible chance at survival is a bone marrow transplant, which costs a ton of money her family cannot afford.

    Second Chance Grill is a wonderfully realistic story that I could read over and over again. It made me laugh and cry. Even though Liberty isn't a real city, I could easily picture this happening in any small town across America. This is a town that I want to live in with people I would love to have as friends. Christine Nolfi has a wonderful thing going on with the Liberty series and I cannot wait to see who we'll learn more about next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Smalltown, America... To be more real than this you would actual

    Smalltown, America... To be more real than this you would actually have to be living there. Everyone is in your business and when times
     are hard those same people are still in your business...holding you up. I felt the laughter, frustration, anger, and even balled my eyes out
     when my heart was breaking. If you have never experienced it, read this book. Its time you did. 

    I received this book from the author for free through Goodreads First Reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    This book is exceptional. This author, Christine Nolfi, has a tr

    This book is exceptional. This author, Christine Nolfi, has a true gift. I felt IN this story, like I was a part of it, throughout. The characters could be based on people I know. They aren't perfect but they are multifaceted, which makes the story feel so real. It's such a good, fun read, I flew through it. Although I needed a box of tissues next to me for the last several chapters, It left me with a great feeling of hope, Haven’t cried so much over a book since I ... can’t remember when. I laughed out loud a lot throughout as well at the dialogue and Nolfi's nuanced turns of phrase. It’s one of those books you don’t want to put down and, after it ends, you miss the characters. I am going to check out her other books and her FB page. If you need a great read--and who doesn't?--buy this book, no matter what it costs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    To nebula

    Traitor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Nebula

    What? I cant make my own dragon rp? Uhg. CAMP MOVING TO 'Dragons nest' res 1!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Ernest

    Hi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    Absolutely loved this story. I found myself ignoring everything

    Absolutely loved this story. I found myself ignoring everything around me to read this. This book had a fantastic storyline which had me gripped. I had goosebumps about three quarters way through this. what a remarkable journey this author took me on.
    Highly recommend this delightful yet emotional book to all readers.
    received from author in return for honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1