Customer Reviews for

Second Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

compelling and breathtaking

This book kept my wife and I up late at night scared and intrigued. It was my first John Saul novel. I am sure he has others that are good too. We highly recommned a companion when you read this novel.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I just finished this book and boy am I disappointed in the ending!!! Shame on you, John Saul! It's as if he just got tired of writing the story and decided to end it as quickly as possible. The ending is very anti-climatic and leaves you unsatisfied with too many loose ...
I just finished this book and boy am I disappointed in the ending!!! Shame on you, John Saul! It's as if he just got tired of writing the story and decided to end it as quickly as possible. The ending is very anti-climatic and leaves you unsatisfied with too many loose ends. I've always enjoyed other books by John Saul but this one was a big disappointment.

posted by Queenzeke on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Read this book

    I like john saul books. I read this when i was ten and i loved it. If you have a kid thats into more twisted mature kinda stuff id recomend this for them. I dont think this was ment for kids but im sure teenagers would enjoy it and its an easy read for adults. Overall it was great i loved how it was twisted and ocasionally gorey. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Great Book

    This is an absolutley amazing book!!!! When I began reading it I couldn't put it down!!!!!!!!!!! I luv thi,is book and recommened for tween+


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This was a really good read. It held my attention and never got slow. I'm a little disappointed in the end because there are so many unanswered questions, but I still really liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read this book some years ago, but didn't recognize the title when I picked it up from the library recently. No matter. Although after reading a few pages, I quickly realized I had read the book before, I still found it an engrossing read. This isn't my favorite John Saul book, but on the other hand I've never read one that bored me. Despite his one-dimensional characters, it is his fast-moving, twisting plot that keeps me glued. I only wish he could write his books as fast as I can read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Great Story

    My uncle had a couple of John's Sauls books after coming home for the hosptial so I happen to pick up Second Child after he read it I was immediately hooked. I was so drawn to the characters it was almost like I was watching a movie. The imagery of the setting and the gory details had me glued to the pages. It also touched my emotions as I felt symathy for Melissa and Darcy and a growing dislike for Melissa's cold hearted social seeking abusive mother Phyliis and her evil rotten-to-the core step-sister Terri.If you want a good story I recommed you pick up this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    1st Time/2nd Child

    I first read this book as a teen in high school and was spell bound by it. It's been awhile but I still remember Darcy's every ghory detail. I'd like to read it again - it was THAT intense for me. John Saul is one of the best horror authors I've come to appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Awesome book

    I loved this book. John Saul is one of my favorite authors. He never lets me down. Great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Good

    I really liked this book. It was sad during the length of it, and I really pitied the main character, but I liked the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1