Customer Reviews for

Second Child

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

compelling and breathtaking

This book kept my wife and I up late at night scared and intrigued. It was my first John Saul novel. I am sure he has others that are good too. We highly recommned a companion when you read this novel.

posted by Anonymous on June 24, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing!

I just finished this book and boy am I disappointed in the ending!!! Shame on you, John Saul! It's as if he just got tired of writing the story and decided to end it as quickly as possible. The ending is very anti-climatic and leaves you unsatisfied with too many loose ...
I just finished this book and boy am I disappointed in the ending!!! Shame on you, John Saul! It's as if he just got tired of writing the story and decided to end it as quickly as possible. The ending is very anti-climatic and leaves you unsatisfied with too many loose ends. I've always enjoyed other books by John Saul but this one was a big disappointment.

posted by Queenzeke on April 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2006

    Great Story

    My uncle had a couple of John's Sauls books after coming home for the hosptial so I happen to pick up Second Child after he read it I was immediately hooked. I was so drawn to the characters it was almost like I was watching a movie. The imagery of the setting and the gory details had me glued to the pages. It also touched my emotions as I felt symathy for Melissa and Darcy and a growing dislike for Melissa's cold hearted social seeking abusive mother Phyliis and her evil rotten-to-the core step-sister Terri.If you want a good story I recommed you pick up this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2004

    A Classic

    This was the first book that I ever read by Saul. This book inspired me to read all of his works, and I have. Great book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    My favorite book

    I read this book for the first time in middle school, I read it in three days! I've read it twice since, and it still gives me chills!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    this is a great book

    I've only read two books by john saul anf both were great and I usually can't read most 'horror' books the authors seem so worried about the gory details they forget the story has to be interesting and could use some suspence but not the case here. He remembers everything and much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2003

    good reading

    this book is great. I first started reading it in the sixth grade and never wanted to put it down to go to school.It's got suspense but not to much.Its aswome and I highly recommend it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Read it! Read it! Read it!

    I definitely would recommend this book to any John Saul fan, or suspense horror fan. John Saul is the definite master of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    1st Time/2nd Child

    I first read this book as a teen in high school and was spell bound by it. It's been awhile but I still remember Darcy's every ghory detail. I'd like to read it again - it was THAT intense for me. John Saul is one of the best horror authors I've come to appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2003

    LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT LOVED IT

    This was the greatest book!!! John Saul is a sensational horror writer and I look forward to reading more of his works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2003

    Awesome book

    I loved this book. John Saul is one of my favorite authors. He never lets me down. Great book!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2003

    This Book Was Great!

    This book was wonderfully written. I was very satisfied with the ending and I felt very sorry for Melissa.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    Two thumbs up!

    You know what? Everyone who reviewed this book thought it was great! Me too! The ending is good and satisfying, and the book gives you a lot of emotions. Sympathy for Melissa Holloway, sympathy for Tag, even the dog, Blackie, and a growing hate for Phyllis. For people skeptical because this is a horror book, don't worry, it is not that scary...and I am a person who gets nightmares easily. The book is very suspenseful, and John Saul is an excellent writer. This was the first book of his that I have ever read. Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Excellent Story

    I read this book about 4 years ago and immediately fell in love. I read it over and over again I had to buy another one beacuse it fell apart. Saul uses of imagery and the development of his charaters are amazing You really feel Melissa and her pain and you want to console and protect her as D'Arcy did. You also become to like other charaters such as Charles and Tag and despies other such as Melissa's overbearing mother Phyllis, Teri and the snobby cove crowd.I was so completely enthralled with the book I felt as if I was was there. This is a book i defintely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Wow!

    This was the first John Saul book I had ever read and it was awesome! It was gripping, and scary, and I could hardly put it down. Definitely one of my favorites by Saul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2002

    Good

    I really liked this book. It was sad during the length of it, and I really pitied the main character, but I liked the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2002

    ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS I'VE EVER READ

    This is one of those books you just can't put down, and just when you think you have it all figured out the story takes a twist. . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2002

    Best Book I've Ever Read

    i read this book for this first time in the seventh grade, and it has come to be my favorite book. I still have the original copy, tore up..but i still enjoy to read it. It's a great BOOk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2001

    first john saul novel i read... and loved!

    my friend recommended this book to me, and i loved it! i read it in all of one day, because i couldn't put it down! i fell in love with the characters of melissa and charles, and immediately hated many others. if you want a GREAT suspense novel, this would definitely be the right one to pick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    My most favorite John Saul book

    This book has a very lovely ending. It is classical. I enjoyed this book alot!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    Kep Me At The Edge Of My Seat

    I really liked this book becasue it kept youat the edge and you can never put it down. I finished this book in 2 days and loved every bit of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2001

    My favorite John Saul book

    This is my all time favorite John Saul novel. He writes the best suspense stories! This one kept me up all night - I just had to see what happened in the next chapter. Definitely recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4