BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Second Glance

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

best work by a strong auhor

The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but ...
The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike┬┐s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not up to par

Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times -...
Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Not up to par

    Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    best work by a strong auhor

    The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike¿s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    My First Bad Experience

    I have truly enjoyed reading Jodi's novels over the past couple years, however this one was very hard to get into. The middle of the book was the best part, but I was slightly disappointed at the end -- I guess I wanted a little more out of it. Her writing style is the same as other books, but after the first few chapters, it starts getting more interesting.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Don't Purchase as NOOKbook

    There are transcription errors on nearly every page of this novel whenever the type changes to italics in the Nook format. This creates an irritating, distracting reading experience. Every few sentences my attention to the story was halted while I was forced to pause, re-read the last words and attempt to decipher though the typos. This experience and similar with some other eBooks has made me reconsider my previous affection for the Nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Was this written by JP?!

    I was much enthralled by JP's 'My sister's Keeper' and '19 Minutes' - I read both in two weeks, I could not put them down! I thought I would read all her books until I opened this one. I had to force myself to turn the pages hoping it would get better. Instead I found myself skipping many pages to see if the good bit was close! The unravelling of the mystery was a tad pridictable. As much as I loved her other novels, this one didn't reach the bar. But it certainly won't keep me from reading another of JP's novels. Her writing and the way she expresses those moments in life deserve more than a second glance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A love story and a ghost story with a touch of Picoult wit

    This book was a step away from the everyday Jodi Picoult book, as she delves out of the realms of fiction and into a story which is centered around the supernatural. She intertwines the lives of numerous characters even connecting their fates through time.
    In this novel, Ross Wakeman, grieving over his dead wife, struggles between his attempts in suicide and his relentless persistence in looking for an afterlife through his hunt for ghosts. After many disappointments, he stumbles upon a mysterious woman named Lia, who he falls in love with despite himself. After a shocking discovery that Lia had in fact died years ago, he delves into Lia's mysterious past. As he progresses further into Lia's haunted past, he relives her time of discrimination and prejudice, as she is suppressed by her controlling and prejudiced husband who attempts to deal with her suicidal depression, unaware of her Abenaki heritage. Ross proceeds to solve the mystery of Cecelia's murder and her child's death.
    This book conveys Picoult's previous themes, such as power of love in both a positive and a dangerous way. On one hand there is Ross' sister, Shelby, who has both a powerful maternal love for her son, Ethan, who has XP, and a familial love for her brother Ross, who is suicidal. Her caring and healing nature spawns from her ability to love them. On the other hand, there is Spencer, whose love for Cecelia led to his restriction of her freedom and inability to understand and help her, due to his fear of rejection by society. She illustrates the full potency of such a selfish love, when Spencer attempts to murder Lia's baby, leading to her final suicide.
    Her characters natures were flawed and confusing, as in real life, but also managed to inspire empathy as we examine the contrast of valid opinions based on each person's life. For example, Meredith, seeing many miserable people with genetic defects, feels that the people have a right to choose a better future for their child through her job of eliminating those with bad genes. However, Shelby argues that she would not have wanted to spend the twelve years of her life with anyone else but her son, Ethan.
    Although this book was a slight disappointment to me due to the lack of scenes in a court, it was nevertheless a good read. Picoult's ability to invoke empathy in the reader did not fail in this book, and although I usually do not read ghost stories, this was nevertheless fantastic, tinted with Picoult's usual romances and opposing viewpoints.
    I also was a little disappointed at the fickle nature of Ross, who went from pining for his wife to loving a ghost to settling on the ghost's granddaughter. I felt like the author could have found another way to develop the plot without making his character suffer.
    Anyone who is interested in a good novel, or a chilling story to read, should try this book. Picoult fans won't be disappointed in this book which continues her multidimensional aspect as well as a new element of the unnatural.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Wow!!!

    Thank you Jodi for another great book! Loved it could not put it down, A must read, Ten stars!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    One of Picoults Better Novels-- I've read several of Jodi Picoul

    One of Picoults Better Novels--
    I've read several of Jodi Picoult's novels and found this to be one of her better ones. It was a bit difficult to get into in the beginning due to there being so many different characters, and I actually had to stop and write down the various characters and who they were in order to sort them out in my head. However,once you get past the somewhat confusing beginning, the story becomes transfixing. How she was able to tie together a ghost story, a love story, a story about a boy with a rare genetic disorder, and eugenic studies and laws in the 1920s and 1930s is amazing. I have also found sometimes that while I thoroughly enjoy the ride Picoult takes me on, I am not always enamored of the way she ties up all the loose ends. This book was an exception and caught me by surprise. A captivating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Loved this book

    This is my third jodi picoult book. The first couple i read several years ago, the books were good but i really enjoyed the way she stretched her style into magical realism

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Wow

    Not her usual read...but very good! The loose ends started pulling together but still held my attention right to the very end. Another hardback to add to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    not that great...

    This one is slow reading; different sort of topic and jumps around some. had it a while and still not finished. usually like her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Fantastic.

    Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Little Known True American History is Explored and a Different K

    Little Known True American History is Explored and a Different Kind of Love Story Unfolds here.

    This novel started a little slow for me. None of the characters really seemed immediately likable. However, as the story developed, it became quite interesting. The characters come to life in a way that causes you to invest in them because they are quite realistic in their feelings and motivations. The historical aspects and exploration of the little known pursuit of eugenics right here in the United States is a fascinating and scary topic. Ghost hunting is another interesting practice that we learn a bit about. I wasn’t sure how Ms. Picoult was going to pull together all the divergent storylines, but she pulled it off with her usual skill. This novel is an entertaining study of different kinds of love, and what they mean in our lives.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love books

    This was different from most jp books, but was a testiment of the talent ofauthor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Another wonderful book

    I love all of Jodi Picoult's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Amazing

    One of the best books by Picoult!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    This book you HAVE to pay attention and keep up at first and SOMETIMES i had to go back to make sure I was getting everything right. I COULD NOT put this down! You also have to kind of believe in the unknown and if you don't this book might make you believe. Jodie Picoult is a EXCELLENT author, her books AMAZE me everytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    My favorite Jodi Piccoult

    I couldn't put this down....amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    INCEPTION

    This book was.very difficult in the beginning, but it got better. U just have to get through alllllllof the beginning. Overall it was a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2011

    Different

    Its a very different book becuase you have to be open minded about spiritual things like ghosts ans spiriets of the dead, ect. But its still a good read, and i enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13