Customer Reviews for

Second Glance

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

best work by a strong auhor

The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but ...
The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike┬┐s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not up to par

Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times -...
Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Not up to par

    Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    My First Bad Experience

    I have truly enjoyed reading Jodi's novels over the past couple years, however this one was very hard to get into. The middle of the book was the best part, but I was slightly disappointed at the end -- I guess I wanted a little more out of it. Her writing style is the same as other books, but after the first few chapters, it starts getting more interesting.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    Don't Purchase as NOOKbook

    There are transcription errors on nearly every page of this novel whenever the type changes to italics in the Nook format. This creates an irritating, distracting reading experience. Every few sentences my attention to the story was halted while I was forced to pause, re-read the last words and attempt to decipher though the typos. This experience and similar with some other eBooks has made me reconsider my previous affection for the Nook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Was this written by JP?!

    I was much enthralled by JP's 'My sister's Keeper' and '19 Minutes' - I read both in two weeks, I could not put them down! I thought I would read all her books until I opened this one. I had to force myself to turn the pages hoping it would get better. Instead I found myself skipping many pages to see if the good bit was close! The unravelling of the mystery was a tad pridictable. As much as I loved her other novels, this one didn't reach the bar. But it certainly won't keep me from reading another of JP's novels. Her writing and the way she expresses those moments in life deserve more than a second glance.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    not that great...

    This one is slow reading; different sort of topic and jumps around some. had it a while and still not finished. usually like her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Great

    It was strange to read something by Jodi Piccoult that is so subjective--ghosts. However, she did a great job, as usual, of pulling me into the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Not as good as her others-

    I love Jodi books but this one for some reason was not as good as the others. This is the a story about a ghost hunter, a little girl and a boy who can't be in the sun and many others. All of the characters have their paths cross. I didn't think this book was as good as the other ones she wrote. This book was hard to get into, I stuck with it because I love her books (usually) but it really didn't get better as it went along. Pick a different Jodi book to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Very predictable.

    This was an interesting story, but far too predictable and unrealistic. I struggled to finish reading, although I'm glad I did. It isn't a bad book, there are just so many other fantastic books out there to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    It's on my D-List!

    I really regret buying this book; I literally had to force myself to finish it over a few months as opposed to a good book I can read in a weekend. I bought it because I've never read Jodi Picoult before and have read some fairly high reviews of this and other books that she had penned.<BR/><BR/>I found the story-telling to be a bit jumbled, for one. I felt there was too much jumping around from character to character and time period to time period. I found it irritating that too many characters' names begin with the letter "E." With all the jumping around between characters, all of the "E" names were excessive. I didn't feel the characters were well developled, either.<BR/><BR/>The book was very predictable and at times not at all plausible. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    Disappointing

    I have enjoyed her prior books and read them quickly. This took me weeks to finish and was difficult to become engaged in, a real slog. The characters are not particularly engaging and, to a person, are dysfunctional. The whole concept of ghosts is silly though I did enjoy learning about the true eugenics history in Vermont.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love Jodi Picoults novels. I love her ability to always hold the readers attention but this one was just really boring and that surprised me. I just couldn't get into it. I didn't finish this one but am always willing to try again so i'll try again and see how it fares this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2