Customer Reviews for

Second Glance

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

best work by a strong auhor

The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but ...
The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike┬┐s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not up to par

Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times -...
Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    best work by a strong auhor

    The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike¿s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Wow!!!

    Thank you Jodi for another great book! Loved it could not put it down, A must read, Ten stars!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    One of Picoults Better Novels-- I've read several of Jodi Picoul

    One of Picoults Better Novels--
    I've read several of Jodi Picoult's novels and found this to be one of her better ones. It was a bit difficult to get into in the beginning due to there being so many different characters, and I actually had to stop and write down the various characters and who they were in order to sort them out in my head. However,once you get past the somewhat confusing beginning, the story becomes transfixing. How she was able to tie together a ghost story, a love story, a story about a boy with a rare genetic disorder, and eugenic studies and laws in the 1920s and 1930s is amazing. I have also found sometimes that while I thoroughly enjoy the ride Picoult takes me on, I am not always enamored of the way she ties up all the loose ends. This book was an exception and caught me by surprise. A captivating read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Loved this book

    This is my third jodi picoult book. The first couple i read several years ago, the books were good but i really enjoyed the way she stretched her style into magical realism

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Wow

    Not her usual read...but very good! The loose ends started pulling together but still held my attention right to the very end. Another hardback to add to my library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    Fantastic.

    Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Love books

    This was different from most jp books, but was a testiment of the talent ofauthor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Another wonderful book

    I love all of Jodi Picoult's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Amazing

    One of the best books by Picoult!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    My favorite Jodi Piccoult

    I couldn't put this down....amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    INCEPTION

    This book was.very difficult in the beginning, but it got better. U just have to get through alllllllof the beginning. Overall it was a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Made you think

    This was a great book. I couldn't put it down. The story has you thinking about the posibilites that exist. The book is about love, lost love and ghosts. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    A Mystery That Will Keep you Guessing

    My mommy recommended to me that I should read Second Glance by Jodi Picoult because she "could not put it down." I was really excited to read it because I have enjoyed every Picoult book, and this was no exception. Jodi Picoult has always been known for her heart wrenching dramas that include legal cases most often- Second Glance is not an exclusion. Picoult writes with reverence inexperienced by most authors. Although there are numerous characters throughout the novel, she strongly develops each one so that the reader can become one with the characters. The beginning may be difficult to understand because she writes from various points of views and the reader does not fully understand how they all tie in together; however, by the end everything entwines together and the reader can fully understand the book. No matter what kind of genre the reader prefers, Second Glance has a little bit of everything to please almost every single reader: from mystery, to romance, to history, and even science fiction. Picoult geniusely incorporates the Vermont Eugenics Project which is unheard of by many people, including me. Second Glance is a novel that i would recommend to readers who enjoy digging deep into the lives of their characters and likes surprises along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    An Amazing Book!

    I had read several of Jodi Picoult's books in a row and took a break from her writing because it started to feel as though all of her books were similar. Then, I picked up this book and I have to say it was amazing! I want to start reading her books again now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    one of my favorites of Jodi's

    I like answers for everything and this book left a couple of elements to the imagination, but other than that, it is so well written; one of her best. I highlight things in books that resonate with me, and my copy has a lot of highlights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book informed me on so many topics I have never thought about!

    Second Glance was so unexpected! I had never thought I would enjoy it as much as I did. It was page turning-I had to stay up late because I couldn't put it down! I really enjoyed learning about the Vermont eugenetics project, and soon after that I started doing research on it. I was so surprised by how many topics Jodi Picoult weaved into the novel. I am so glad that I didn't dismiss the book because I didn't want to read a ghost story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Highly original plotting with a little known historical fact - the eugenics movement

    I had not read many of Picoult's books before Second Glance, only My Sister's Keeper. Based on reviews by readers, I selected it. As I read it, I could not put it down; as a result, I recommended it to our Book Club. We haven't met as of yet, so I don't know how well it will be received, but one member e-mailed me and raved about as well. I found the interleaved plot lines to be original and challenging in their complexity while always driving the story onward. The philosophical metaphor of the ghost with whom Ross falls in love is an extremely original plot point which triggers a murder mystery and detective story while at the same time, the more mundane and everyday story of a developer's attempt to pave over a supposed Indian burial site goes on. The historically accurate parallel plot describing events that occurred in the 1920-30s eugenics movement is something essentially forgotten today and is woven into the contemporary story line in a highly original manner. Picoult also includes a boy as one of the characters with a fatal disease, xeroderma pigmentosum, which causes the patient to be extremely sensitive to sunlight. This allows him to accompany Ross at night in ghost hunting expeditions.
    This is the best novel I have read in at least a year and i recommend it enthusiastically!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    very good

    I was searching for a really good bood to read when I came accross Second Glance. It caught my intreset with ghosts and a lost love. there were so many layers to this book, i loved it!! my brain on in constant motion thinking how it would all work out. i love this book and have lent it out to numerous friends of mine who all loved it at well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and an excellent read

    I read this book because in my school's library, I was running out of things to read and for some reason, the cover just drew me in. When I finished this book, I thought it was amazing. Ross was the character that just instantly became my favorite character. This is just one of those books that just touchs you by the time you close the back cover. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    I only read this book because Jodi said it's her favorite book she has written.

    This book was unbelievably amazing. In the beginning there are so many characters, and it does get a tad bit confusing, but everything makes sense in the end. It IS the best book I have ever read and I recommend it to every one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7