Customer Reviews for

Second Glance

Average Rating 4
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

best work by a strong auhor

The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but ...
The town of Comtosook in rural Vermont is a quiet, bucolic place while nothing very much ever happening until the day that Rod van Vleet, on behalf of the Redhook Group, buys a piece of land from Spencer Pike. They intend to raze the house and build a shopping mall but the Abenaki Indians are protesting the sale saying that it is on Indian burial ground. From the time Pike┬┐s signature is put on the bill of sale a lot of supernatural happenings begin to occur. The sky is raining rose petals, the land that van Vleet bought is frozen solid even though it is august and the building crew hears strange sounds. Ross Wakeman, one of the walking wounded meets Lia, a beautiful woman who seems to fear her husband. When he discovers that she is a ghost he looks into a crime that happened in 1932 and with the help of a local police officer manages to solve it and bring the victims home again. Ross, a man who has cheated death many times, finds he has to outwit it once more when the victims he brought back as well as his nephew find themselves in mortal danger. Jodi Picoult has outdone herself in writing SECOND GLANCE, a novel that is the best work she has ever written. It has elements from three different genres contributing to the main storyline but it is so unique it defies classification. Genre fans and readers who like literary works will have their needs met with this outstanding novel. The protagonist in this novel, a man who defies death is a true hero because when danger threatens those he cares about, he takes action and by doing so finds redemption. Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not up to par

Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times -...
Okay, I LOVE Jodi Picoult's books, but this one was not her usual standard. It was extremely difficult to get in to and follow the characters in the beginning. However, by the end, all the loose ties are neatly in a bow. But, I debated putting it down several times - which is not my idea of a 'great read'. This is definitely a 'borrow from the library' - not a 'buy!!!'

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVE JODI PICOULT!

    This is another winner that I devoured quickly! Another author I see becoming a number one is LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG...I read her third book, EXPLOSION IN PARIS and was blown away!! The winning characters and subtle life's lessons are still floating in my head! Check out the reviews! They hooked me right away!!! Also read her second book, I WILL WAIT FOR YOU.....If you loved SECOND GLANCE, you'll love I WILL WAIT FOR YOU!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK, would recommend it to anyone

    Anyone who says this book is difficult to follow must be dim. This book is a beautiful story of love and mystery. It bounces through time flawlessly and draws the reader in with vivid characters. I loved this book completely. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys using their brain and love. The characters are real and not always beautiful. I have read some of her other books and they can be predictable but this one definatly wasn't. READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    This one makes you think...

    Picoult piles on the layers for her characters making them come to life and jump off the page. She has a unique way of discussing taboo topics and making you rethink your position on certain controversial issues such as suicide and sterilzation. Keep an open mind and you will really enjoy "Second Glance".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought provoking, great rainy day read.

    This book really makes you think about what you believe about life after death. It was easy to get into and kept my attention throughout. I had a hard time putting it down. She is a great writer....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Wowed

    I love jodi's books they always leave me wowed but this one has left me floored. Wow is all I can think of to say. A story so gripping it'll leave you frozen in shock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    OUTSTANDING READ

    I loved this book!!!!! I am a huge fan of Jodi's and this is my top book (so far!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    Wonderful!!!

    I started reading this book just yesterday and I am nearly half way through the book- I can't seem to put it down. I love her books and this one is by far been my favorite, it has def been a page turner for me and there are some very chilling moments/pages. Its not boring at all if one has an imagination they allow themselves to use! I recomend this book to anyone who has a very colorful imagination and will allow random-ness in their reading. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Outstanding!

    I don't read alot but when I do I want to be consumed with the story. This does just that. I could not put the book down and now want to read more by Jodie Picoult. This was my first Jodie Picoult book and was well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Great!!!

    This was a wonderful book. I couldn't put it down. I hope she does another ghost book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    when she talks about this book she says she might right another ghost book... i really hope she does. i thought this book was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Captivating

    Second Glance was a wonderful read and it captivated me fromk the verst first page through the end. A very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    BEST JODI PICOULT NOVEL THUS FAR...

    I am fascinated with Jodi Picoult's storylines and talent. I have to say, this is by far the best book I've read of hers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2007

    Picoult Wins Again

    I am a younger reader of Jodi Picoult, but I must say, she is one of the best authors that I have read material from. This book was one of my favorites, right up at the top with My Sister's Keeper. I love the way Picoult writes about her characters and the way she developes plots. There is some subject matter that was horrifying to read about, but so educational. An excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    amazing...

    This book is amazing. i am a huge JP fan and this is one of my favorites. I love how JP has the ability to connect and intertwine people that seem random.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    Outstanding!

    One of her best! I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2006

    Wow! Hold On For A Fabulous Ride

    This was the first of Jodi Picoult's books that I had read. It was by far the aboslute best book I read and the best so far I have read by Jodi Picoult. She captivates the audience from the first page and you just keep saying 'Wow'. There are several charecters that she introduces and that can be a little challenging, but it all comes together in a fabulous story of love, mystery & adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    GREATEST BOOK!

    Jodi Picoult adds to her list of amazing books with Second Glance. Her ability to follow so many stories at one time, without losing the reader, and to tie them all together in the end is amazing! This book made me think. I was just as involoved in the story as Ross was. Another thing that Picoult did to make this book astounding was her description of the characters. Throughtout the book, I grew to care about the characters. When someone bad or sad happened to one, I could feel their sorrow too. I wanted the mytery solved, not only for my reading pleasure, but for the characters. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes the supernatural, romance, or history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2006

    Her best book yet!

    I've read almost all of her books and this is her best yet. I read it over six months ago and the story still stays with me. Probably one of my favorite books of all authors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    Prepare to be entranced by Jodi Picoult

    I first purchased a Jodi Picoult book by mistake, picking up someone elses bag by mistake at checkout. What a lucky day! I am in the middle of Second Glance, and I'm spellbound. It is my favorite so far (something I also said about the last two). I find myself sidelined while driving or working by making family trees of the characters lives, I am torn between reading and everything else in my daily life that gets in the way of finishing her stories. I force myself to put the book down just to make it last longer. I make other people drive so I can read in the car. I've often been disappointed finding a book I love only to be disappointed by the authors other novels, not the case with Jodi Picoult! I will be disappointed when I have finished all she has written and am forced to wait for more. Please Ms. Picoult, keep them coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    Encore -- Bring on the sequel!!!

    George Guidall's superb performance brings these characters to life in the unabridged recorded version of 'Second Glance.' The web of sadness, love, fear, anger, and mystery will seize your attention and not release it until the very end! I highly recommend this book in any format to anyone who enjoys non-science fiction type time travel, mystery, and romance!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 134 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7