Customer Reviews for

Second Helpings (Jessica Darling Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 192 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    You. Yes. You should read this book.

    Jessica Lynn Darling is tall, skinny, athletic and smart. Who wouldn¿t want to be all of those things? Jessica Lynn Darling. In Second Helpings, McCafferty precisely captures the life of a frustrated high school teenager. Jessica is sick and tired of everything. From her parents, her sister and school, to her relentless love for the quote bad boy unquote, Marcus Flutie. She hates how her parents will never understand her. She is mad at her dad because he pushes her to be the athletic son he almost had, forcing her to do the unthinkable thing as captain and four-year varsity vet of the track team. She hates how her sister, Bethany, is the good-looking and popular child her mom always dreamed of. She hates even more how her mom wishes she was just like her. She cannot stand how her school and middle-of-nowhere-town, Pineville, is so focused on social status. She wants to get away from everyone and everything related to Pineville. She dreams of going to Columbia University in New York to study writing. But after the recent events of 9/11, her parents will barely let her out of the house, so she abandons all hope. But most of all, Jessica hates how she cannot seem to get Marcus Flutie out of her head. Even with his mysterious and quiet personality, Marcus is still managing to get into her hectic life. This time, Jessica is determined to steer clear of him and his mind games. After some wise words from her grandmother, Gladdie, Jessica discovers that she¿s been blind to what has been blatantly in front of her all this time, and finally makes the decision of her life. McCafferty¿s captivating novel, Second Helpings, leaves the reader content, yet eager for the next installation of this fantastic series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    This book is da bomb!!!

    Ok, so its kinda a love story but it's also completely realistic, I'm only 14 but it totally explains life as a teenage girl. The main character 'Jessica' is someone you can completly relate to, a lot of books these days either describe life as a scoop of ice cream or some really heavy depressing drug-adict-alcaholic-foster-kid-orphan mix. This book shows that yes, 'Life sucks, and then you die.' but you also have good times in between those super sucky moments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect conten


    This review cannot even express the sensation of perfect contentment I felt while being invited to stay in the wondrous world of Jessica Darling, queen of sarcasm and protagonist extraordinaire.
    In her five-book series Megan McCafferty allows us to follow Jessica on her way from being a teenager to a young woman, with all the responsibilities and decisions awaiting her in future. It was great to witness everything going on in her life over such a long span of time. I didn't want to miss one single of her thoughts. Because even though I am not a teenager anymore, it felt so good to read on page what makes these years so angstful and exciting at the same time.

    Every character contributes to the masterpiece of fun and hilarity -without ever forgetting that there's also the serious side of life- the Jessica Darling series stands for. I loved them all! Marcus Flutie, Jessica of course, her best friend Hope, the parents, her sister and her niece, to name only a few.
    Marcus Flutie is the main love interest and an extreme case of changeability. It's obvious that he hasn't found his place in life yet, always restless, always changing his mind and his heart about his future, his goals and even Jessica. I'd subtitle this series 'The metamorphosis of Marcus Flutie'. Alternative and surely not mainstream, he always seems to be on an experimental trip. We don't get him more often than we do, but when we connect, it's in all the right ways.
    Jessica is witty and her humour is the best. I laughed, I cried. I can’t believe how she always said and thought exactly what I was thinking. I wish I read this series much sooner. A revelation to every young adult reader!

    Jessica and Marcus make mistakes, get together, seperate again. Life comes in the way, wrong decisions play a part. It's just too much to point out every turn their relationship or lives make. There are so many scenes that need to be all time favourites! You. Yes. You. Marcus Flutie you stole my heart.
    The first two books SLOPPY FIRSTS and SECOND HELPINGS are about Jessica's time in high school.

    We are very lucky, because Jessica is keeping a diary. And the writing is as appealing as it is, because the story is written in the style of numerous diary entries. It has a very personal character and feels like we are just inside her head, going through everything she experiences and feeling as much love for Marcus Flutie as she does. Her writing is changing over the course of the series, especially in the fourth book, which is great, because it's a fab way to express change in her person or her ways of thinking.

    This series is a guide for all young, sarcastic, lovable and insecure girls out there! Megan McCafferty, I thank you for all the hours of laughter and tears your novels brought into my house. You are a marvelous writer and I'm expecting to see many more books of you on my favourite shelves in the near future. I hope that we can find a version of that incredibly admirable and lovely Jessica Darling in all of us.


    5/5 ***** JESSICA DARLING series - Clever, romantic, sarcastic & so much more. YA at its best!

    SLOPPY FIRSTS recently had its 12th anniversary. Unbelieveable, but true. This series is in no way inferior to contemporary YA relatives in its originialty or actuality. This is a series that needs to be handed down to your kids, they will surely love to read about that Jessica Darling when they are growing up. And for everyone who hasn't read this series, I suggest you catch up on it now. It doesn't matter if you are 13 or 30, you will get and love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Savannah to all single guys

    Hey im savannah im in need of a bf ill tell u mor if u reply

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely grew on me!

    Jessica Darling wants nothing to do with Marcus Flutie after his betrayal, but he seems determined to make her life as awkward as possible by helping his best friend Len Levy win her over. Not to mention, Marcus seems to be in cahoots with her colorful grandmother at the nursing home when it comes to Jessica's love life and college plans. As she tries to survive her senior year at Pineville High, Jessica combats a mediocre relationship with a boy not of her dreams, a dream college that far exceeds her family's budget, and the temptation of going over to the dark side known as Marcus Flutie.

    second helpings grew on me. I didn't love it at first, but the more I think about this book and the more I find myself quoting the infamous "you, yes, you" all the time to Mr. Z, the more I realize that Megan McCafferty has affected - or is it infected? - my mind. The tug-of-war between Jessica and Marcus is absolutely perfect in their imperfections, and I could not wait to see which one of them would finally yank the other over to their side. second helpings may not have impressed me at first, but it has definitely left a lasting impression on my own romantic whimsies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Amanda Dissinger for TeensReadToo.com

    In SLOPPY FIRSTS, Jessica Darling dealt with adjusting to life without her best friend, Hope, having feelings for the school rebel, Marcus, and finding who she really is as a person. You know, typical teenager stuff. <BR/><BR/>In the sequel to SLOPPY FIRSTS, SECOND HELPINGS, Jess finds herself dealing with even more problems as she starts her senior year of high school. After spending the summer at SPECIAL, a summer writing camp for (you guessed it) special high school students, Jess decides that she wants to 1). become a writer and 2). attend the prestigious Columbia University in New York City. <BR/><BR/>The only problem is that she now has the tough job of convincing her parents. <BR/><BR/>With Len Levy, her brilliant competition for Valedictorian, crushing on her, and her determination to get over Marcus with only the help of her blonde Barbie doll neighbor, Bridget, Jess gets more than she bargains for as she struggles to plan her future and rediscover her past. <BR/><BR/>In my opinion, SECOND HELPINGS is even better than the terrific prequel SLOPPY FIRSTS. Through her shocking and entertaining observations about everything from her high school peers to "hot" writing instructors, readers identify with Jess's plights as she tries to reach her dream of getting out of New Jersey suburbia. Another touching book, another realistic story, another fantastic read from Megan McCafferty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    A reviewer

    i loved this series!! This book is soo real. like its totally believable. i would rrecommend it to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Second Readings Please!

    Second Helpings was a phenomenal book. It always kept me reading. I loved how it was written like a diary. I like how Megan McCafferty made it seem like Jess was telling you the story, instead of just having Jess write in her journal. Jess seems like she¿s a down-to-earth girl, and she gets along with almost everyone. She has the same problems as what I have had in the past. My best friend lives in a different town than I do. Hope lives in a different state than Jess. I was a surprised to find that Jess is a lot like me. That helped a lot while I was reading it. If you loved Sloppy Firsts and Second Helpings, you¿ll love Charmed Thirds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    Dang this was good!

    This book was even better than the first one. I usually don't like reading, but because of books like these, i love to read. I actually enjoy reading now, and i cant wait to read the third one Charmed Thirds. I am so excited for it. Read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    Awesome!

    this boook is even more hilarious than Sloppy Firsts. its so funny hearing what Jessica Ddarling thinks about the school and her 'so-called' friends. i recomend this to EVERYONE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2006

    Three words: I LOVE IT!

    Never has a fictional character reminded me so much of myself. I too know how annoying gum-smacking bimbos are, how jerky oversexed jocks can be and how hard life is when your best friend just isn't around. I, like Jessica, have also felt like no one understands what's up in my life and, strangely enough, I love the eighties too!!! The only difference between that character and I, is that I'm just starting high school. It's hard to believe that Megan McCafferty is an adult when she relates to teens so well. All I can say is that Second Helpings had huge shoes to fill after Sloppy Firsts, but did it with flying colors. Now I can't wait to read Charmed Thirds!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Outstanding

    This book was most definitely outstanding. Jessica is so easy to relate to the whole plot is easy to relate to. This book gave me a whole new look on life, like how you shouldn't care so much about what people think and you should just be happy being you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2006

    OUTSTANDING

    no surprise here - the sequel to 'sloppy firsts' was equally if not more funny than the first book was. jessica had some tough decisions to make and a lot of stuff to deal with, but she got through it okay. i would definitely reccomend this book to everyone .. its awesome and hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2006

    I LOVE MARCUS

    I am about to go out and buy charming thirds, and I'm counting the seconds. Jessica is such a relatable character. She is funny and lovable, but even more than that I LOVE MARCUS!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2006

    Christina, 17

    Ok, Megan McCafferty has a way of creating stories and witty one liners that just keep you wanting more. As if thats not enough, she makes you feel like what you're reading is really happening, and everyone can relate. Her characters are so well defined and I must say, Megan McCafferty is the best author I've ever come across.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    By Kiara

    Second Helpings by Megan MacCafferty is a great book. This book is a continuation of Sloppy Firsts. Between those pages there are many curiosities of a young teenager. It is very interesting and humorous. Second Helpings is about a female teen student named Jessica Darling, the main character. She is an American girl who goes through many events in her teenage life. She is also very smart and has a hilariously unique sense of humor. A part where I thought she was very funny was when she is concerned about loosing her virginity. She narrates the story very openly like in the form of a journal, diary and letters. I think she¿s kind of naïve but she is intelligent. She continues to talk about her life very openly. This time she goes through many social and emotional suffering of her senior year at Pineville High. She is trying to deal with her overly helpful family. Her best friend Hope moves out of the city, and she goes through many emotional and devastating circumstances which most of us teenagers go through when theirs no one who we can express our feelings to. This book is extremely funny. It gave me a lot of curiosity to keep on reading. I love the way she expressed herself. At some parts it made me get in her position of the events she was going through for example there were times which she is undecided of the decisions she should take. I was really into the book which helped me finish the book faster than what I even thought because I thought I was never going to finish with all those pages specially because the book is kind on thick. There were a few circumstances in the book where I was extremely curious of reading more. For example: ¿I WANT TO HAVE SEX¿. That was a phrase which she kept on bragging about in many parts of the book which were really funny because of her unique way of expressing herself. I think this book was very well written. It is a type of book which I would recommend to many teens who like reading about other teenagers¿ lives and many things they face. I got to connect with Jessica because I understand many of her situations including the ones with her family, school, friends, associates, boys, etc. Another way I can connect with her is that I can see that many of the things us teenagers go through are very delicate. We go through many vague situations which many of us teenagers don¿t know how to confront the right way whether it is because of family matters or maybe uncomfortably and confidence with in your self. Even thought I didn¿t read the first book Sloppy First I loved this one and I got to connect to it with out reading the first part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2006

    Second Helpings

    In 'Second Helpings' Jessica Darling is trying to decide what college to go to. She is also faced with the same drama as 'Sloppy Firsts.' For example, the 'clueless crew' is still on her case and troubling boys. I think that this book was outstanding. I would recommend that everyone read this book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2006

    really wanting the charmed thirds

    In this novel and it's prequel, Sloppy Firsts, Megan McCafferty accurately captures the feelings of a frustrated high school teenager. From boys to school, McCafferty knows it all. The main character and narrator, Jessica Lynn Darling, is sick of everything: her parents, school, track, Pineville, and her undying love for Marcus Flutie. She hates her parents for not understanding why she is different. She even more so hates her father for his vain attempts to make her a trackstar, while rubbing her nose in her mistakes. School is awful for Jessica, like it is for every teenager, because teachers, obviously, aim to make our lives as miserable as possible. She hates Pineville because it's a podunk town in the middle of New Jersey and she seems to think she's the only sane one there. She's frustrated at the other people in her high school and their idiocy. She's bitter at the fact that she and her friends got played by a New York City 'Trustafarian' who is making money off their pathetic lives. And last, but definitely not least, Marcus Flutie. The hook for most female readers of the Jessica Darling series, Marcus Flutie is the guy of every girl's dreams. The reformed bad boy who is still so mysterious a simple glance in your direction will make your knees melt. Jessica is in love, an almost obsessive love, and try as she may, she cannot stop thinking about him! Although they are less than friends by the opening of Second Helpings, he's still doing everything in his power to get inside her mind. McCafferty uses blunt sarcasm and witty humor to give her fans a fantastic read. And be the reader young or old, male or female I'm sure every girl can identify with Jessica and her frustrations. McCafferty¿s writing style utilizes sarcasm, satire, and short sentences to keep the reader enthralled. There is a secret thrill in reading someone¿s thoughts. Moreover, there is a sense of comfort in reading all those things you think but refuse to say aloud. With every page I found myself getting sucked farther and farther into the black hole that surrounds social life at Pineville High School. Jessica¿s hate-the-world attitude left me in fits of giggles. I did not leave the couch for several hours, and read the book without putting it down. By the end of the book, I was near to tears because I could not know what would happen next. ( I anxiously await April 11, 2006 when I can wait outside Barnes & Noble until it opens and buy my copy.)I was (am?) also convinced that I am going to meet my own Marcus Flutie who will turn my world upside down. I, personally, happen to love this book and its prequel. In fact I have read them each at least three times. Whether you liked the first book or not, whether you consider yourself above ¿fun¿ reads or not this book is worth the read. If only to find out what happens between Jessica and Marcus, or if only to pretend you are her, this book is worth it. Megan McCafferty hit the nail on the head in this attempt to describe teenage life and attitude. I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    best book i have ever read

    Even though Sloppy Firsts was amazing, Second Helpings is the best of the two. I can relate so much to Jessica Darling. She is just an ordinary girl and her quirks and personality just make the book. I wish there was a third becuase i fell in love with these two books. READ THIS BOOK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2005

    NO WORDS CAN DESCRIBE

    Second Helpings is the most amazing book i've ever read. Sometimes, people judge a book by the cover and just think this is just another silly teen book, but its not. It was sensational and the best ever. HIGHLY recommended! READ THIS BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8