Customer Reviews for

The Second Messiah: A Thriller

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a fastenating, compeling, well written book by an author whose mind and imagination borders on genius. Every page you turn is filled with suspense, intrigue, action, danger, and drama of the highest level. Your mind runs wild with all the visualition. The characters are all equally strong and well defined. The vatican has always remained a mystery to me. How can one human being be elavated to almost "God like" stature and yield so much authority. I think this author's idea of portraying a pope with such humility and wanting the Vactican to follow in Jesus humble life is brillient. There is one sentence in this book that really touched my heart because it is so true, when the Pope meets the prostitute and asks her what she thinks of the Vatican and she answers, "Half the world starves and they live like princes in their ivory towers." My sentiments exactly. I think it took some courage on the authors part to write this book. I applaud him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Putstanding

    In a cave in Qumran near Jerusalem, archaeologist Jack Cane finds a significant Dead Sea scroll that mentions Jesus Christ by name. Jack is almost certain this parchment was written when Jesus walked the earth as it references his travel from Caesarea to Dora where he performed a miracle before being crucified there. Obvious to Jack this man was a false prophet as the two-millennium old document implies there were two messiahs.

    Musing over the find he returns from a walk to learn someone murdered the dig director using Jack's knife; the scroll is missing. Determined to recover the parchment, Jack applies archeological investigative skills. Clues lead first to Syria and then the Vatican where a new charismatic American has been elected Pope. His Holiness plans to open up the archives to let people see the secrets hidden over centuries. While some groups want Jack dead assassinating anyone who assists him on his quest, Israeli police inspector Lela Raul tries to help him recover the scroll. Hiddn in the shadows, a puppet master is using them to get the world to know the word of the Second Messiah.

    The theme of this interesting thriller is when religion and politics converge; the effect is carnage in the name of the Lord. Jack is a sort of modern day crusader trying to bring the truth out into open; although veracity will shatter Jewish and Christian belief systems. The Pope believes the truth will strengthen the faith of the flock who are divided between radical fundamentalists and agnostics as the Church is left behind. Loaded with action, this fast-paced thriller takes reader on a fascinating journey from the opening discovery to the climatic discovery.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    great read

    Good plot. Theory? Or really exist...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Excellent Read!

    I read this book while on vacation and it was outstanding

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Intense Global Conspiracy Thriller

    Glenn Meade in his new book, "The Second Messiah" published by Howard Books gives us a global conspiracy thriller.

    Jack Cane is an archaeologist digging in a cave in Qumran near Jerusalem. There he makes a significant discovery of a Dead Sea scroll that mentions Jesus Christ by name. While this parchment could almost be a new gospel except for the fact that the writer had to have been a false prophet as the two-millennium old document implies there were two Messiahs.

    After leaving the camp for a short while Jack returns to find the dig director murdered with Jack's knife and the scroll is missing. In an effort to clear his name and recover the parchment, Jack applies his substantial archeological investigative skills. The clues he finds lead him on a global chase and to the Vatican where a new charismatic American has been elected Pope. There are groups that want Jack dead and are assassinating anyone who assists him on his quest, however, despite the danger, Israeli police inspector Lela Raul works with Jack to help him recover the scroll. All the while there is an unseen person manipulating events to get the world to know the word of the Second Messiah.

    I love these global chases with groups that want the information to come out while others want the same information silenced and both groups will kill to accomplish their desires. Jack and Lela are in danger practically every step of their journey giving us a thrill ride of epic proportions. "The Second Messiah" is somewhat similar to the old movie serials because someone is getting into a trap at the end of every chapter. This is a roller-coaster ride of excitement so buckle yourself in and enjoy it. I recommend this book highly.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours a day non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Howard Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Awesome book!

    I loved this book...characters, story line, and setting. It was one of those that I didn't want to end. I can't wait to read the author's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    excellent

    Very well written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Extradionary work

    Not sure if this is another science fiction story.However I read itn my native language German.I could not put this book away. Actually some of the terms like the special code, and or about the pope thomas becket,seam to be true. I as a Christian, have always doubted these things in the bible.As i figured,they probably, were more man made, then actually truly real! When going back in Religious history of the Catholic church, we know that the power ful papricy alwys used fear full tatics to undermine their power over the help less. A very intriguing book.I read it in three days!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Great Read!!

    Unusaal plot, kept me reading and wanting more! Cannot wait for the next book to come out. With not bringing my religious beliefs into the book, and simply read it for enjoyment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Really slow and unshocking

    I enjoyed Glenn Meade's "The Romanov Conspiracy" and decided to read another of his novels. Frankly, I was a little disappointed in the end. The whole point of Thrillers based on religious issues is to shock and force us to reevaluate what we think is right. "The Second Messiah" fell short of that goal. The pacing was slow; the author spent too much time on unimportant storylines, scenes, and characters. The characters who were supposed to figure out the puzzle spent more time flirting with each other than thinking through the actual problem. The religious questions introduced were never addressed and answered. I did enjoy Glenn Meade's "The Romanov Conspiracy," but did not enjoy "The Second Messiah."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Fantastic

    This book was fantastic it was really good read l
    Could not put this book down and best of all it was free!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good Read

    I enjoyed this book, it got slow in a few parts, but it was a good and interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2012

    Recommended reading

    Good concept - worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Second Messiah

    Years ago, an archeologist finds another Scroll in the Dead Seas that could put to doubt the belief that Jesus is the Messiah. But he is killed (accident or murder), and years later is son follows in his father's footsteps and find another scroll. Soon is he is running for his life while trying to find the truth in the Scrolls and his parent's death.

    To say this is a thriller is no joke; Meade takes the reader on a tale of conspiracy and mystery that makes one wonder about the gospel and the books of the Bible (similar to Dan Brown). I found the story to not be too heavy into religion but more focused on history and what ifs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2