Customer Reviews for

The Second Opinion

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Palmer's---"The Second Opinion"

    In prior Palmer medical themed stories, the characters in key roles were normal, but this story differed in that he created a heroine out of an afflicted characteer and played the story to the affliction. It kept you guessing, deep thinking, and on the brink as the plot developed around the central character. The key figures were believable and credible in their roles. For his genre, Palmer is a master of the story. As with all Michael Palmer books, I would highly recommend this one to the serious mystery fan.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a well written solid medical thriller

    When American Dr. Thea Sperelakis learns her imposing father, renowned Boston physician Petros is dying, a hit and run victim, she rushes home from the Congo where she works for Doctors Without Borders. At home Thea is stunned to find the mighty ¿Lion¿, as her dad is known, look so feeble and helpless.<BR/><BR/>Her brother Dimitri creates a computer simulation of the accident that appears to support the unthinkable premise that the driver tried to purposely murder Petros. Thea struggles to learn why as no motive comes to mind until she obtains some information from her dad. Although still containing monster gaps in what she knows, Thea believes her father is a victim of a professional hit that she thinks is tied to medical fraud Petros must have uncovered at the hospital where he was working.<BR/><BR/>THE SECOND OPINION is a well written solid medical thriller though the story line cooks up nothing new even for Michale Palmer fans. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Thea returns to Massachusetts as she obstinatley seeks the truth although she knows first hand how dangerous that is.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    I had never read a Michael Palmer book before and enjoyed this so much that I actually set it aside from the rest of my books, already read. In the back of his book under Author's Note, he actually has a section that gives you brief answers about Aspergers, I read them, and almost fell out of my seat. I wear sunglasses to hockey game and baseball games, when others ask me "why?" I have always told them that bright lights distract me and give me migraines. When at restaurants, I hear conversations from 10 tables away and even hear the cooks talking. I smell odors that no one else notices. I immediately went to my doctor after finishing the book and he disagnosed me with Asperger's Syndrome. Aside from that, the book is truly worth reading, well-written, easy to understand and you may be surprised. It might sound a lot like you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Asperger's syndrome bought into the limelight....

    Michael Palmer has yet again written a wonderful plot that keeps its readers engrossed till the very last page of the novel. Absolute vividness of description is involved here in suggesting the people's behavior having Asperger's syndrome & the author has very well kept the reader's attention to the top level till the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exiciting read, keeps you interested right to the end.

    Michael Palmer is a premier writer and his medical novels always have both a strong plot and consistent twists and turns. Seldom is there not one or more medical diagnoses or crises that give me reason to read further in the subject.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Get Ready for a Great Read!

    Michael Palmer has always been a good writer and I have enjoyed each one of his efforts but in the time since First Patient, he has matured and aged as a fine wine. Perhaps it is his interest in Asbergers Syndrome or another change in his life but I get a feel from his work that I never got before.

    The protagonist is a female and I often find that writers have a difficult time creating good opposite sex character development but his Thea is very layered and real. Readers will not only feel the complexity of her disability but know her uncertainties as a woman.

    It is often easy to identify the antagonist early in a writing but Second Opinion leaves the reader guessing not only about who that is but who might be the ultimate target. I was disappointed when my eyes cried out for sleep and I still had half the novel to read.

    Bringing a syndrome to light like Asbergers is a tremendous service and will offer the readers an opportunity to understand these unique individuals in a compassionate and respective view. The space of medical thrillers, when used for greater public understanding, is a wonderfully responsible action for the writer.

    Congratulations on a really superior piece of work!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was an excellent medical mystery by Michael Palmer! I espec

    This was an excellent medical mystery by Michael Palmer! I especially loved the main character, Dr. Thea Sperelakis, and her inner dialogue about the actual and potential influences of Asperger's on her behavior. The plot started slowly, but once I was into it I really enjoyed the book. I know this isn't his custom, but I'd love to see Thea again in another of Dr. Palmer's novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great book

    The mix of autism & medical mystery kept me turning pages. Would recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Always good stories

    Kept my interest start to finish

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    An OK Read!

    This book was OK - it wasn't fast paced, edge of your seat - but was OK. A good one time read. --K--

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Excellent book

    Good read especially in the times of electronic health records.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Thriller!

    If you love Michael Palmer and medical mysteries, this one won't disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Medical thriller

    Michael Palmer returns with another interesting medical thriller that deserves a good place in this genre. It is fun to read like his other books. It is a good book for the frequent traveller that spend time at airports. It can take the mind of the long waits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    Very exciting book!

    Michael Palmer has yet again written an awesome book that keeps its readers captivated until the very last page. This book was well worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Couldn't put it down!

    I have been waiting for another book by this author. This one was worth the wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Another Michael Palmer thriller!

    For ome, Michael Palmer always delivers a good read. My favorites have been his medical thrillers.

    Looking forward to his next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Disappointment

    I have read all of Palmer's books and have really loved them. This one did not keep my attention. I read half the book and felt it was wasting my time. I did not like the characters and it moved very slowly. I feel bad because I can hardly wait till his books come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Second Opinion

    Michael Palmer at his very best. He is always an engaging read, but this book is so much more. The characters, the surprise ending, no one can do it better. This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    Michael Palmer Perfect!

    Michael Palmer NEVER disappoints me & once again that is true. This book is a page turner from page one. Being an RN & having a cousin with Asperger's -I could relate to so much of this story.But the medical aspect is not all-it's the suspense & "who done it"! The fact that for the most part it takes place in a hospital-that we should trust-makes you very uncomfortable.The rivalry between siblings & Father--the lives of the wealthy & what people will do to have a drug approved for the "money" not the benefit of patients-all makes for a very unsettling feeling. READ & ENJOY-you will not be disappointed-trust me!!!Thank you again Michael!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    Palmer delievers another medical thriller.

    Why would anyone want to kill Dr Palmer opens Petros Sperelakis is lying in a bed, in his own hospital, in a deep coma. He's been the victim of a hit and run. After all, he is a world-renowned diagnostician and the man who created the stellar Sperelakis Center for Diagnostic Medicine at Boston's Beaumont Clinic. Dr. Sperelakis is the father of four grown children: Dmitri, the oldest, twins Selene and Marcos, and his youngest, Thea. All, except Dmitri are well-known doctors and despite family dysfunctions they understand that they may soon have to decide what to do about their father's future. Readers are told right at the beginning of the story: Dmitri and Thea each have a form of Asperger's Syndrome . a mysterious form of autism, that with help can often be "controlled." Unfortunately for Dmitri his father refused to get him any help or to have him diagnosed. Thea is the other sibling with the syndrome. But she benefited from her mother's insistance she get the proper treatment. With the help of her therapist & she became a physician too. But she chose to join Doctors Without Borders and take her brilliance to the Congo, far away from the pressures of daily stresses in the formal medical community.

    Fans of Palmer's many medical thrillers will be ready for the number of sub-plots and the winding labyrinth they lead readers through. THE SECOND OPINION certainly has its share. But at the forefront is Thea and her uncanny ability to see things in black and white. No gray exists in her view of life or the world. Her years of therapy have helped her to learn how to focus her thoughts and her photographic memory allows her to key into everything she has ever learned or read.
    But it is the "other one," .who has recreated the attack on their father and to his eye the hit and run was no accident. It couldn't be. When he shows Thea his 3-dimensional computer representation she too sees that her father was a target. The suspense is high and the tension gripping. REVIEWER BARBARA LIPKIEN GERSHENBAUM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3