BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Second Sight: An Intuitive Psychiatrist Tells Her Extraordinary Story and Shows You How To Tap Your Own Inner Wisdom

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    5 Stars - A MUST read!!!

    Reading this book has really changed my life. Dr. Orloff explains in clear language how to incorporate intuition into your life. I will highly recommend this book to all my family and friends and anyone interested! It would be great if all counselors and therapists would read it. Thanks for another wonderful piece of work Judith!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    The perfect book to awaken your intuition and inspire you to act on it.

    Second Sight: An Intuitive Psychiatrist Tells Her Extraordinary Story and Shows You How to Tap Your Own Inner Wisdom by Judith Orloff MD

    Book review by Joan Borysenko Phd


    SECOND SIGHT: An Intuitive Psychiatrist Tells Her Extraordinary Story and Shows You How to Tap Your Own Inner Wisdom (Three Rivers Press, $15) is

    We live in an over-intellectualized society where too many people are stuck in their heads. An Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at UCLA, Dr. Judith Orloff is a bridge between traditional medicine and the intuitive/spiritual realm. In Second Sight she helps us open to a part of us with a much wider vision than the linear mind: our inner voice.

    Second Sight reads like a thriller. It is a page-turner that's hard to put down.
    This pioneering book shares the struggles and well-won successes of a courageous physician who fights against a skeptical medical system to validate the power of intuition. This book will assure anyone who ever thought they were weird or crazy for having intuitive experiences that they are not.

    In Part One, "Initiations," Dr. Orloff describes being an intuitive child who had premonitions about deaths and illnesses that frightened her and her physician-parents-so much so they forbade her to discuss them at home. Judith grew up believing there was something wrong with her. This part of the book is extremely personal and frank. In riveting detail she describes how an ignored premonition of a patient's suicide attempt convinced her to get beyond her fears and integrate intuition into her medical practice. And the chapter "Female Lineage" also shares the "family secret" about intuition that her mother told her on her deathbed. You'll discover what that secret is when you read the book.

    In Part Two, "Teachings," Second Sight shows you effective ways to cultivate your natural intuitive abilities including how to recognize intuitive experiences in daily life such as déjà vus and synchronicities. There are particularly touching chapters on remembering dreams and embracing the spiritual path of the intuitive. She describes intuition as an outgrowth of spiritual evolution and an expansion of the heart-not just as information your pick up to win the lottery.

    Second Sight is the rare book that is both inspiring and controversial. You will find a new friend in Judith as her writing style is as intimate as if she was talking to you in her living room. In this revised edition with a new introduction by Judith, Second Sight will challenge to reexamine your assumptions about the parameters of the human mind-and your own wondrous potential.

    Joan Borysenko Phd is a pioneer in Mind-Body Medicine, author of Minding the Body, Mending the Mind

    Judith Orloff MD, a psychiatrist and intuition expert, is author of the newly released bestseller Second Sight. Dr. Orloff synthesizes the pearls of traditional medicine with cutting edge knowledge of intuition, energy, and spirituality. Her insights create a new convergence of healing paths for our stressed-out world and proves that it not heresy to combine intuition with the healing arts. She is also author of the New York Times bestseller Emotional Freedom.
    For more information and inspiration visiwww.drjudithorloff.com

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone should own this book!

    I read this book based on a recommendation from a dear friend. That recommendation turned out to be one of the greatest gifts I've ever received in my life. This book held my interest the entire time. I took my time reading it because I was savoring the information, inspiration, etc., that I received and continue to receive. The words from this book will stay in my mind and heart forever. I plan to purchase many copies of this book to give away as gifts. Judith's writing style keeps you interested and excited about the next chapter. The experiences of her patients, and her own, are realistic and easy to relate. I can't say enough about this book. It has confirmed and explained so much of my life's path - it has given me the confirmation and courage I needed to embrace my life path.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Delve Deeper Into Intuition and Discovering Your Own Intuition

    In this book Dr Judith Orloff shares her struggles to understand her intuition and the events in her life that motivated her to weave her intuition into her psychiatric practice. This book gives the reader information to delve deeper into their own lessons about intuition in their own lives. The reader learns how to understand intuition, how it works, how to tap into their own intuition and much more. Second Sight helps empower people to listen to intuition and apply it to decision making, health and emotional issues, and empower their lives.

    In Part 1 - Dr Orloff shares intimate details of her own intuitive journey. In Part 2 learn how to uncover and develop your own intuition.

    If you are interested in learning more about intuition in yourself or others you should read this book. If you are interested in how a psychiatrist can use the science she learned and combine it with her intuitive wisdom - this book is for you. If you read the original edition of Second Sight and you would like to delve deeper into Dr Orloff's life experiences and to understand more about intuition - this is the book you need to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Second Sight Should Be a First Read!

    In this book, Ms. Orloff leads the reader through her coming to terms journey with the intuitive gift she has been given. As with many gifts of this nature, there are mixed emotions along the way to acceptance. When Judy entered the medical field, she all but abandoned her gift. Medicine, regardless of the field pursued, is a scientific arena that is intolerant of all that can't be proven beyond doubt. As with all people who try to deny what is an essential part of their being, Judith reached a point where she had to decide once and for all how she would embrace her gift.

    Second Sight is not merely an autobiography. It is the complete sharing of an inner journey like that faced by each of us in our lives. Judith Orloff opens her soul to readers, allowing them to feel her confusion and the pain and frustration that comes from denying our innate nature. Going even further, she shares with readers how they can avoid that pain. She shows each reader how to embrace their own intuition and trust it. Ms. Orloff learned things the difficult way and has willingly created a piece of work that can save others that hard journey, or at least lessen the length of it.

    With words that let you know the writer has been where you are and knows, not from formal education but from life experience, what works and what doesn't. You can feel her genuine concern and confience in you coming through on every page of this book. I can't limit my suggestion as to who this book is most directed toward. It is a book for all who want to be able to live their genuine life within the life that society has created.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Genuine and Revolutionary Story - the very jolt I needed!

    Judith Orloff's story deeply moved me; as a result, I now have a renewed desire to develop and hone my own psychic abilities. Judith validated my own sensitivity to energies and innate intrigue by dreams - like Judith, I never for a moment doubted that dreams were symbols representing a higher consciousness and a deeper part of ourselves. I deeply admire, and resonate with, Judith's perseverence and open mind. To cross over with such delicate fluidity between the medical and the spiritual, to defy such odds on either end of the spectrum, is revolutionary as far as I'm concerned. I myself have struggled with mental illness, and its just so wonderful to know that people like Judith are out there, revolutionizing the way science and spirituality are approaching healing. In fact, reading "Second Sight" has made me better understand where my own spiritual yet grounded therapist is coming from. "Second Sight" was the jolt I needed to keep on keep'n on! Thank you so much, Judith!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Very interesting book...

    At first I was a little disappointed as I thought this book would have more information on how to develop your second sight. But instead it is the author's personal story on how she came to embrace and accept her gift. It is a wonderful story that gives hope to others that no matter your profession in life, that you should embrace your intuition. If you have ever felt like you don't fit in because of intuition, then this is the book for you to read. I ordered a couple more of Judith's books and can't wait to read them also!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I Can Breathe Now

    It's like I can take a deep breath and relax now. Someone once asked me "How do you feel when you enter a room where there's a lot of fighting and anger?" My immediate response was: "I recoil and want to run out of there." I thought everybody felt this way. Granted we all feel things up to a certain level, but the notion that I feel more than most never occurred to me. Doesn't everyone? I thought. Learning I was not alone in my experiences was a huge relief and revelation to me. When I read Dr. Orloff's book I felt I had found me. I now knew who I was and could now just simply enjoy what once seemed like a curse. Feeling everything like I have been up to date without understanding it is "crazy making." I now realized no, it's a blessing, I have been given a whole 'nother level of awareness and depth. It is powerful. Hearing Dr. Orloff explain it through sharing her life- it blew the barn doors open. She talks openly about all her experiences as well as how she deeply respects her gifts and how she has combined these with traditional methodologies. Yes, there is a feeling of "safety" that she has credentials when reading this, but for me the true safety comes in how Dr. Orloff has chosen to use her gifts and live her life. She deeply respects what she has and is grateful for it. She does not misuse what she has and adds seriousness and credibility to her spiritual gifts.

    I bought a copy of this book for my sister as she feels things on the hyper-sensitive scale as I. My sister gets massive migraines and has been taking medication to manage this. After reading Dr. Orloff's story and learned how she went through a phase of medicating herself to "escape" until she new what to do with what she had been given, I related this to my sister. She opened up to me and told me more things that she had experienced as a child. I now hope that my sister will be able to understand herself an accept and enjoy these gifts she has been given.

    As far as I'm concerned Dr. Orloff is opening doors for people and allowing everyone to relax as well as respect a whole arena of the human experience that typically gets shunned, and until very recently even went punished. And the biggest tragedy of all is that these gifts have gone unused, denied and ignored by many and dismissed as sillyness or even crazyness of some kind. With this openess and understanding of what is really going on many can now not waste what they have been blessed with and can live incredibly rich, powerful lives. There's nothing to reject or push away. In fact, this is cause for celebration. Thank you for sharing your story, Dr. Orloff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Simply a book you have to read.

    Very well written and i recommend this to anyone with any type of problem. Beware you have to have a really open mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Finally, the integration of the spiritual, psychic, and mental health

    If both the stereotypes of the 'wild-eyed psychic', to whom logical and rational thought seem to be entirely foreign, as well as the dryly cynical psychiatrist, to whom any thought of the spiritual or psychic are a sure indicator of mental illness strike you as equally irrational, but with opposite polarity, then Judith Orloff's accounts of her experiences and the way in which she has integrated them into her life and practice are just what the doctor ordered. Judith's skepticism is countered her strong psychic experiences, and the eventual integration that she describes is hopefully the beginning of a new model of mental health in which the healthy aspects of spirituality are considered an important part of being a functional person. I loved being taken along for the ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2002

    Finding guidance in my search for healing

    When I read 'Second Sight' I felt like if I had finally found someone who understood what I was feeling and clarified it all for me. All of a sudden I realized that it was natural for me to walk into a room and sense the energy that was there. I found that dreams were an important part of healing for me. Once I started reading I couldn't put it down. With the utmost respect I'm very thankful to Dr. Judith Orloff for opening doors to my self discovery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    A Must Read for anyone wanting wisdom

    This book is a MUST for anyone who is seeking answers to the human mind and the potential that we have within us. Dr. Orloff's writing style is warm and inviting. It felt as if we were in the same room having a conversation. If you want a book that will change your life, pick up this book today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1