Customer Reviews for

Second Skin (Nocturne City Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Second Skin

    This was a great installment. Luna and Dmitri are shacking up and driving each other insane! He's a strong Alpha male with pack-mentality and an alien demon bite and she's a strong alpha female with insoli-mentality (insoli aka lone-wolf) and together they make a deadly, dysfunctional couple. It doesn't help that Luna sees the demon inside Dmitri slowly but surely killing off his were, which is what makes him Dmitri, but instead the demon is turning him into a stranger. It also doesn't help that Luna is a workaholic with a bad attitude and an addiction to trouble. Luna has transferred from homicide detective to SWAT. Instead of taking advantage of being in SWAT and using it as a positive outlet for her aggression; she's pulled back into being a detective on the down-low. It seems Bryson, a detective from her old precinct, is on a case that is way over his head. Four werewolves in Nocturne City have turned up murdered execution style. He's asked Luna, the only were on the force, to speak to the pack leaders on his behalf. Her investigation leads her to the Wendigos pack's leader Lucus. Wendigos are shapeshifters who have cannibalistic tendencies for survival. When in human form they appear deceptively gentle and civil, until they transform and shed their human skin to an almost indestructible form. Nocturne City is not big enough for both the weres and wendigos. An old treaty put enforce decades ago, prevents wendigos from stepping on were property and visa versa. Luna being an Insoli, is not bound to abide by this treaty. Insolis are thought of as gutter-trash by pack weres and wendigos hate weres of any kind. Luna has to navigate between both the weres and wendigos and figure out who is picking off weres one by one and why are some wendigos going rogue and fixating on Lucas. This was a great book full of twist and turns. Lots of humor, action and suspense. My only hope is that Luna tamps down on her reckless behavior and grows up a bit. I highly recommend this book and the rest of the series. Can't wait for the next installment Wifch Craft, due out 9/1/09.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Truely amazing

    Truely a good book really one that keeps you turning the page . Keeps you on your toes a action packed book could have changed the ending a bit but overall very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Good 3rd Installment

    What I like about this author is her ability to not pull any punches. You get gritty, charming, sassy characters and lots of them. If you haven't read the other books in this series I highly reccommend them. Gives a different view of Were society and the magical community as a whole. Thy mythos is well thought out and leaves a lot of room for the author to stretch. I wonder what is next for Luna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Got to love a werewolf cop

    this book was absolutely amazing. after pure blood i didn't think that there could be anymore surprises in store for Luna. but i was wrong.

    also love the fact that there was alot more of sunflower in this book.

    i cant wait until witchcraft, book 4, comes out. its killing me not knowing what is going to happen between Dmitri and Luna. you know, what is in store for Dmitri and his Demon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I Loved it

    I'm a very picking reader and it takes me forever to find a good book let alone a great series. This is both a good book and great series. Luna is just great character in the book. I love her and feel for her whenever something bads happens to her or someone she has to save. Its a great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good book, but...

    Like the first two books in this series, the plot was great, the action was great, and it was well written. But - (I'm not sure how many will agree with me on this) - the main character frustrated me. I love the heroine's witty, sarcastic and bitter attitude, but there were a few too many scenes of repetitive arguing, and I found myself getting mad at her. The ending could have been better too. That said, this book is still worth your time, especially if you liked the first two - and hopefully the next book will resolve the unresolved issues from this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    Good escapte into a fantasy world...

    Luna is an engaging and entertaining character. The Nocturne City world is a fun vacation from reality. However, the book is marketed as a "police procedural" paranormal romance. (Perhaps that is a bit of an oxymoron.) If you can let go of the fact that the police procedures don't bear any resemblance to reality, the story is entertaining. If you are a stickler for details (like me), the massive discrepancies in weapons and procedures will be distracting. I would still recommend the series to fans of the paranormal romance/adventure genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    a series you sink you teeth into

    I like these books. I stumbled upon them while I was looking for a new author to read and I am glad that I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    it will keep you guessing

    the whole book will keep you guess. the charcters are really strong. overall it was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked the book but...

    I liked this book but I wasn't happy with the way that it ended. Of course this leaves the series open for other books but I just don't like to wait between books without some type of resolution. Other than that it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Good Book

    Fast paced with good action and interesting twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Nocturne City police procedural fantasy is an exiting homicide investigation

    Although Nocturne City werewolf police officer Luna Wilder has been transferred to SWAT to allegedly better use her aggressive behavior, her former partner in homicide Detective David Bryson pleads with her to assist him on a weird case. He is investigating the execution style deaths of four weres from the oldest most powerful packs.<BR/><BR/>Luna quickly finds a link to the legendary Wendigo shapeshifters who drink the blood of their victims. Neither she nor the coroner is prepared for the four dead were to reanimate into something deadlier. Luna survives their assault, but knows her unknown adversary is becoming increasingly powerful and soon will be invincible; what she also does not know is that their leader Lucas has special plans for her.<BR/><BR/>The latest Nocturne City police procedural fantasy (see NIGHT LIFE and PURE BLOOD) is an exiting homicide investigation in which the legend proves lethally real. The brass still thinks Luna is a lunatic with her obstinate independence, but also knows she gets results. However, this time failure may prove even worse than death as Lucas has chosen Luna for a chosen role in his Wendigo pack. Fans will relish this action-packed thriller from the opening execution to the final graveyard visit.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3