Customer Reviews for

Second Son: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 4
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Power packed!

Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

posted by BellFamily on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Story

Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

posted by Alfie_65 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so interesting that it races to the finished line before it's gotten off to a super start!!!!

    I ordered four Lee Child books and this is the first one that I read. The descriptive writing is a gift that only the most talented of writers possess. Child is such a talent. I can't wait to read a full novel by Child. Reacher and his family are people you can remember because if you've lived on a military base or visited friends or relatives who did, you can place yourself right on that street leading to the beach. The identical housing units, registering for phone usage; the non-excited famlies used to relocating. But the surprising and quick end to this tome is surprising and satisfying.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Power packed!

    Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Reacher as a teenager

    Reacher as a teenager was just as badass as reacher is as an adult.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Great Short Story

    Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Young Reacher

    I really enjoyed this short story and made me realize how much I missing Reacher -- I love the series and this one doesn't disappoint except it's just a short story. It's Reacher at 13 and he's really the same as Reacher the adult. Enjoyed the book

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For Reacher fans everywhere

    I hope Lee Child writes more about Reacher's childhood!!! It's neat hearing his life as a child.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Really not very good or satisfying

    Hard to believe there are so many favorable reviews here. I have read many in the series and enjoyed all of them very much. This however was very dissapointing. A waste of time and money.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Worthless sample

    Absolutely worthless sample, 18 pages and stops after reviews and table of contents.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    the story is way too short, but as good as any long book I've ever read.

    I thought it was great to take a look at reacher as a young man growing up with his brother. It is a good read. Read it you'll enjoy it very much.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    recommend

    A very interesting suspense book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    good stuff

    That was fun! Thank-you Mr. Child.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Help with sample

    The free sample is nothing more than the glossary. I would at least like an epilogue, or the first few pages of the actual book to see if it was what I was looking for. Thanks


    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I paid money for this?

    This is the sorriest excuse for a 'short story'. It's not even a story, just some kind of sketch. Frankly it reads like something somebody wrote in high school - the thirteen year old dispenses life lessons to his world weary father, then punches out the bully? Really? That's a story?

    Makes you wonder:
    How bad does lee child and his publisher need money?
    Who or what exactly is writing these reacher novels?
    Did thesame person who wrote this 'story' write all the glowing five star reviews on this page?

    What a joke and a rip-off!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    a good prequil

    A quick diversion to whet your appetite for the next Reacher instalment. A back story for the brother, Joe who was killed off too soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    It was good but am used to the real action series of the other Jack Reacher series.

    It was okay reading. Fine for a short story but could have missed it without a problem. Will stick with his longer version books as they are ther real page turners.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Learning about Jack

    Too short but interesting to learn how Jack grew up, what his life was all about.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    God Bless Jack Reacher

    I loved, loved, loved this short story. Of course, I would love any book or story about Reacher so I'm not totally without bias here. This is just basically a good short story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    To Cinderstar

    I'm a little confused. She is only an apprentice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Didn't care for it

    It's a good thing this was free, makes me not want to read the Reacher books by Child. I liked the style of writing but the story was absolutely unbelievable, a 13 yr old summons the MP's and solves two mysteries in one minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17