Customer Reviews for

Second Son: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 4
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This book was so interesting that it races to the finished line before it's gotten off to a super start!!!!

I ordered four Lee Child books and this is the first one that I read. The descriptive writing is a gift that only the most talented of writers possess. Child is such a talent. I can't wait to read a full novel by Child. Reacher and his family are people you can reme...
I ordered four Lee Child books and this is the first one that I read. The descriptive writing is a gift that only the most talented of writers possess. Child is such a talent. I can't wait to read a full novel by Child. Reacher and his family are people you can remember because if you've lived on a military base or visited friends or relatives who did, you can place yourself right on that street leading to the beach. The identical housing units, registering for phone usage; the non-excited famlies used to relocating. But the surprising and quick end to this tome is surprising and satisfying.

posted by Kansas-Bailey on September 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Story

Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

posted by Alfie_65 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Really not very good or satisfying

    Hard to believe there are so many favorable reviews here. I have read many in the series and enjoyed all of them very much. This however was very dissapointing. A waste of time and money.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Worthless sample

    Absolutely worthless sample, 18 pages and stops after reviews and table of contents.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    I paid money for this?

    This is the sorriest excuse for a 'short story'. It's not even a story, just some kind of sketch. Frankly it reads like something somebody wrote in high school - the thirteen year old dispenses life lessons to his world weary father, then punches out the bully? Really? That's a story?

    Makes you wonder:
    How bad does lee child and his publisher need money?
    Who or what exactly is writing these reacher novels?
    Did thesame person who wrote this 'story' write all the glowing five star reviews on this page?

    What a joke and a rip-off!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Didn't care for it

    It's a good thing this was free, makes me not want to read the Reacher books by Child. I liked the style of writing but the story was absolutely unbelievable, a 13 yr old summons the MP's and solves two mysteries in one minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    No Sample

    The B & N "free sample" of this e-book consists of "reviews" that you would have gotten an F for in high school. It does include the table of contents, though.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    greggoode

    Dissappointing. I'm an military brat and the depiction that Childs has of a military base overseas is completely CRAP. I lived in Germany, England, Morocco, Spain, Philippines, Guam and many U.S. bases. We (brats) are more independent and worldly (less sheltered) than our civilian counterparts. But generally when a dependent puts another kid in the hospital the family is transfered stateside within 72 hours and the service member kisses their career goodbye. Regardless of rank or position. Saw a similar event happen to a Colonel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Heelo

    D

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    waste of $

    waste of $

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    can't wait to read this book!

    I have never written a review prior to reading a book, but I LOVE Jack Reacher and have read everyone of his books. I love the idea of Jack being so young. I am afraid of the end though, because I am rarely ready for a lee child book to end!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Overated

    Too much money for a poor sample

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2