Customer Reviews for

Second Son: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 4
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Power packed!

Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

posted by BellFamily on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Story

Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

posted by Alfie_65 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Great Short Story

    Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    It was good but am used to the real action series of the other Jack Reacher series.

    It was okay reading. Fine for a short story but could have missed it without a problem. Will stick with his longer version books as they are ther real page turners.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Really different take on an already famous character. Good read.

    The early years of 'Jack Reacher' is a fresh new look at the already
    famous character of Lee Child stories. I really began to understand
    Jacks nature with this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    typically reacher

    enjoyed it. recommend it for reacher fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I have no title, yet. *Chapter One *

    ••Vince: l walk as normally as l can through the crowded locker hallway, l feel the stares of highschoolers on my back. It's not everyday that you get to see a skimpy seventh-grader with freckles down here, carrying a pair of smelly basketball shoes, especially without a hall pass. As l approach my destination, Jesse, my freshmen sister, a 'highschool fledgling', l like to call her, is shoving her backpack into her so-called 'organized' locker, so l stand behind the door and wait for her to close it. "Hiya, Sis." I say, as her locker slams shut. ••Jesse: l was already in a notably bad mood, as my friend pointed out earlier, prior to Vince basically scaring the crap out of me. I glare at him, attempting to stay mad at a boy who is impossible to stay mad at for more than five minutes; poor kid, with his worn-out shoes, old t-shirt, and torn-up jeans, trying to fit in. I pat his head, again, finding it hard to stay mad at him. "Don't touch my hair, Jesse, or you will face my evil wrath." He claws the air with his free hand, and my best friend, Ethiopia, laughs. "What up, Ethie?" Vince asks, in that innocent sounding voice of his. "Oh, ya know, the usual." She smiles and ruffles his hair and scoots past us to her first hour class. ••Vince: "What do you need?" Jesse asks, in a somewhat sassy tone. "Look, Whim, l don't want to freak Mom out, but first and foremost, you have my shoes and l have yours." I hold out the shoes and she takes them, pulling mine from her locker and handing them to me. "Second, my wrist hurts REALLY bad from when that on kid stepped on it at my wrestling meet last weekend." ••Jesse: lt is soo not like my little brother to complain about heing in pain. This would freak Mom out. "Just get an ice-pack from the office and ice it for the rest of the day, you should be able to make it through practice." He nods, glancing up at the clock on the wall. "I should get to class," he says, "see you after school?" We do our signature Whimbley fist-pump routinr as l reply, "Yep. Behind the gym, as usual." He smiles that beaming little kid smile, and just like that, he's gone. Lost amist a crowd of teenagers going to class, which means, l have to get my butt to English, or l am dead where l stand. ((Meh. Should l continue?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Too short,hard to read due to being slow

    The story was too short and not enough action comparef to most Jack Reacher Novels, but still interesting how hes brought up. Still it was slow and hard to get into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Short, but good

    The "Reacher" stories are always enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    A good short primer on the legend that was to become Reacher.

    An entertaining read if you can ignore the premise that a teenager could have the insights necessary to make the deductive reasoning leap to the burned test material. The logic leading to the missing files is more believable and in keeping with the Reacher observations and instincts we all know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Enjoyed it,good background on a favorite character

    Even tho it took 4 days to download it on my Nook, it was ahold short story.Love Reacher,but doubt I will ever get any mor books on the Nook,back to real books for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3