Customer Reviews for

Second Son: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 4
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Power packed!

Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

posted by BellFamily on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Story

Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

posted by Alfie_65 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This book was so interesting that it races to the finished line before it's gotten off to a super start!!!!

    I ordered four Lee Child books and this is the first one that I read. The descriptive writing is a gift that only the most talented of writers possess. Child is such a talent. I can't wait to read a full novel by Child. Reacher and his family are people you can remember because if you've lived on a military base or visited friends or relatives who did, you can place yourself right on that street leading to the beach. The identical housing units, registering for phone usage; the non-excited famlies used to relocating. But the surprising and quick end to this tome is surprising and satisfying.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Power packed!

    Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    a good prequil

    A quick diversion to whet your appetite for the next Reacher instalment. A back story for the brother, Joe who was killed off too soon.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Learning about Jack

    Too short but interesting to learn how Jack grew up, what his life was all about.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Love Reacher!

    Enjoyed the clever storytelling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    SECOND SON is a short story e-book that tells about the early fo

    SECOND SON is a short story e-book that tells about the early formative years of Jack Reacher as a 13 year old.  His family has followed his Marine father to Okinawa Marine base.  Reacher and his brother, Joe, get the normal "bully kid" initiation to a new place.  Of course, Reacher's prowess and cunning are already showing as he "handles" ---literally and figuratively---the situation, while also using his ingenuous logic to solve a problem for his brother and his father.  Lee Child is great as always!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Grest short story about Jack Reacher's early years

    Am new to the Jack Reacher series, but this is a good introduction to WHY Jack is the way he is in the later books. In just a few pages, Child lays out quite a story. Anyone reading the series, must read this one too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Typical Reacher - justy walking around and finds himself in trou

    Typical Reacher - justy walking around and finds himself in trouble - again. But this is a teen-age Reacher without his specialized Army training. He just has his wits and "overwhelming" ferosity in fighting to get himself and his brother out of trouble. But this time, his father is in trouble, too. As always, Reacher defeats the bad guys in a "Reacher fair fight" and uses his powers of observation and reason to discover who did what with whom and when. An enjoyable read. You might also like the other "younger Reacher" novels that I have recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Cloudesage's prophecy chapter 1

    It was a cold rain, the sound of the monsters drowning out the sound of the forest. The darkness seemed to eat the light, and a bloody white body lay at the side of the thunderpath, the sand clumped and red around the lifeless body. Tiny, quiet mewling came from the belly of the white lump, and a small white kitten pressed at its mothers belly. "Mommy, you have to wake up. You have to!" The kitten cried in a soft, squeaky voice. A large grey tabby tom had his head hung low in the shadows. He sadly strolled over to his daugter and rested his white tipped tail on her spine. "Its all right, cloude. She's in starclan now." Cloude didn't know what starclan was, but it wasn't going to bring back her mother. She stuffed her face in her mother's belly and sobbed. The rain was slowly washing her mother's scent out of her snow white fur, now stained crimson from her own blood. Cloude was lifted by the scruff of her neck and was carried into the woods by her father. "We can't leave mom! Not like this!" Cloude cried, struggling against her fathers grip. "There is nothing i can do but take you to a safer place. Your mother would have wanted it this way..." her father trailed off as if it pained him to think about it. He dropped her down in a bush and left her there.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    I have read the whole series 3 times. I love Jack Reacher. I am

    I have read the whole series 3 times. I love Jack Reacher. I am so dissappointed that Tom Cruise is playing him. He is so wrong for the part. Gen1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am not a short story person and this is definitely a short sto

    I am not a short story person and this is definitely a short story. However, I really liked this little story of Reacher. To begin with, whether he is a man or a child in the story, Lee Child still writes with that Reacher humor (or sarcasm) so I enjoyed the story. A good, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    quick, fun and too short

    Reacher at 13 is just as fun as Reacher at 40. Just wished there were 200+ more pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Too short!!

    Still good to see how Jack lived early on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Love Reacher

    It was short but sweet. Awwww! MY HERO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great backstory about young Reacher!

    This is a great short story and it fills in a lot of blanks about how Reacher became Reacher. If you love the Jack Reacher books, definitely pick this story up! If you haven't read the Jack Reacher books, hurry up and get one. You won't be sorry! (I only gave the short story 4 stars because I wish it was longer. Maybe Lee Child will write more of these.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Good short

    Fun little story but it lacks the substance of the full books due to its size

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    Another Reacher Tale (Short)

    Anyone who follows Jack Reacher will want to read this, also........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5