Customer Reviews for

Second Son: A Jack Reacher Story

Average Rating 4
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(153)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Power packed!

Jack Reacher at his finest. Everything you would want in a short story. Lee Child never let up on the pace. If you ever wondered what kind of character Reacher was but did not want to read a whole book, here is your chance.

posted by BellFamily on August 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Story

Typically I do not like short stories but this was good. Try it you'll like it.

posted by Alfie_65 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent

    As others have said, Lee Child is a superb craftsman of suspense. Can't wait to read more.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Reacher as a teenager

    Reacher as a teenager was just as badass as reacher is as an adult.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Young Reacher

    I really enjoyed this short story and made me realize how much I missing Reacher -- I love the series and this one doesn't disappoint except it's just a short story. It's Reacher at 13 and he's really the same as Reacher the adult. Enjoyed the book

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    For Reacher fans everywhere

    I hope Lee Child writes more about Reacher's childhood!!! It's neat hearing his life as a child.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    the story is way too short, but as good as any long book I've ever read.

    I thought it was great to take a look at reacher as a young man growing up with his brother. It is a good read. Read it you'll enjoy it very much.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    recommend

    A very interesting suspense book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    good stuff

    That was fun! Thank-you Mr. Child.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    God Bless Jack Reacher

    I loved, loved, loved this short story. Of course, I would love any book or story about Reacher so I'm not totally without bias here. This is just basically a good short story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    To Cinderstar

    I'm a little confused. She is only an apprentice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    reacher

    a wonderful short story! enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    hmmmmm

    Hmmmmmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    ?

    Were is everybody?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Whitetail's Bio

    Name: Whitetail
    Gender: Tom
    Rank: Elder (Is it ok if he can be the oldest cat in the Clan?)
    Personality: Calm, wise, loves to tell stories to kits, and kind
    Description: Battle-scarred tortoiseshell with a distinctive white tail and dark green eyes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Talent

    Hey! All those people who wrote their own story rock! You guys really want to write but nook reviews arenot a good way to start. Start a book. Go for it!!!!!

    Just no plagerism

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Characters

    CLAN
    IceClan

    LEADER
    Mysticstar: blue-grey with jet-black paws, tail-tip, and ears. Ice-blue eyes, tom

    DEPUTY
    Spiritchaser: silver grey stripe down back, blue eyes, tom

    WARRIORS
    Flowerwish: grey, amber eyes, she-cat
    Dragonbreath: black red swirls grey spots, green eyes, tom
    Dapplestrike: dark brown silver and black spots, green eyes, tom
    Dogtooth: brown, amber eyes, tom

    MEDICINE CAT
    Eagletalon: white grey paws tail-tip muzzle, blue eyes, tom

    APPRENTICES
    Mosspaw: grey brown stripe running down back, blue eyes, she-cat
    Owlpaw: brown tan paws and muzzle white tummy, amber eyes, tom

    KITS
    Shadowkit: white black stipes on paws tail-tip around eyes,green eyes, she-cat

    QUEENS
    Frostfur: white, green eyes, she-cat

    ELDERS
    Stormcloud: grey, amber eyes, tom
    Freezeflame: tabby, blue eyes, she-cat
    Icytalon: white-grey, blue eyes, she -cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Jaysoar, author of Jaysoar's story

    Nice job! I can't beleive Purdy is in your magnificent story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend to Jack Reacher fans

    An in sight to the make up of Reacher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Excellent short story, would make an interesting full length book

    I have read all the Jack Reacher books. This short story gave you a good insight into his analytical mind at an early age.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good read. Short but informative

    Reacher is such a private person with regard to his background. This provides a rare insight into his early life and entry into the private nature he exhibits in later books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    GATHERING AT

    Moon palace res. 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 153 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8