Customer Reviews for

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood

Average Rating 4.5
( 526 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(376)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This is a Wonderful Book

The Second Summer of the Sisterhood was very similar to the rest of the
books in the series. It followed all four girls, Tibby, Carmen, Lena, and Bridget on their various adventures throughout the summer. I really like Ann Brashares' writing because it describes ex...
The Second Summer of the Sisterhood was very similar to the rest of the
books in the series. It followed all four girls, Tibby, Carmen, Lena, and Bridget on their various adventures throughout the summer. I really like Ann Brashares' writing because it describes exactly how the characters feel and what they're going through. While I was reading the book, I experienced the same anger, frustration, jealousy, giddiness, and heartbreak that the four girls had. I would recommend this book as a light, on-the-side reading book, because it kind of reminds me of a chick-flick in the version of a book. I would also strongly recommend the rest of the series, because it is the same, descriptive, emotional writing, and the stories of the four girls continue.

posted by 150541 on October 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sorry

Why would you post a coment that is just nonsence? That is really immature...

posted by 6920124 on February 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Just read it!!!!

    If you dont read it you are missin gout on the best book for girls 10and older, especially if you love love storys and happy endings!ann brAshares is the best Eric seems HOT!read it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Awesome!!!!

    Three words. A- MA- ZING!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome

    I love this book its even better than the first one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Pretty good

    I like this book but i think you should read the frist one before though. I wish the second was as exciting as the frist but otherwise love it! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Superb Sequel

    I think as I re-read Ann Brashares' Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series I love the four main characters more and I have more appreaciation for the author's deft storytelling. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood is a novel that can be enjoyed during the first, second, or I'm sure even tenth read. It takes place a year after the first book and it is Lena, Tibby, Carmen and Bridget's second summer with their magical pants. As usual, the prologue is in the first person, this time narrated by Lena who gives a quick overview of book one and gives a glossy summary of the school year. That's something that makes these books special. Their stories take place completely outside of the world of school and studying and are set in that eternal land of summer.

    This summer the girls are sixteen. Tibby is going off to movie making camp at Williamston College. Bridget, Lena, and Carmen were all supposed to stay home. But the pants are Traveling Pants and soon their lazy summer plans are transformed, starting with Bridget impulsively setting off to Alabama to see her grandmother for the first time in years. Throughout the book there is humor, heartbreak, and life lessons. The Second Summer of the Sisterhood deals with the girls' mother-daughter relationships more than the first installment.

    I think I loved this book even more this time because I wasn't simply caught up in finding out what was going to happen. I appreaciated Brashares' imaginative use of language and her witty one-liners. I felt like this quartet of best friends were my best friends too. That's the magic in this series. It's not that this old pair of jeans miraculously fits these four very different girls. It's that these girls- Carmen, Lena, Tibby, and Bridget- feel like the reader's best friends every time they pick up one of the books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    4 stars for The Second Summer of the Sisterhood!!

    The Second Summer of the Sisterhood was a well written book. It kept me hooked to see what happens next. The four main characters learned lessons all girls will sometime in their life, whether it is about love, death, or life in general. The book made me feel like I was living the lives of the four girls, Bridget, Lena, Tibby, and Carmen. After I was done with the book, it was hard to come back into my life again, because I got so absorbed in the book. It sucks you in and doesn't let you go until it's finished. This novel made me cherish my friends even more, because no matter where you go or who you meet, your best friends will always be there for you.
    I can always tell when I'm reading a good book, because I start to feel the same emotions as the characters. For example, when Carmen got mad at her mom, Christina, for acting like a teenager out on one of her dates with a co-worker, I felt the anger, too. Or when Lena lost Kostos, the love of her life, for the second time, I felt as miserable as Ann Brashares describes Lena. I give this book, The Second Summer of the Sisterhood, five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good friends grow together and individually

    Most books don't deal with some of the challenges of the journey from childhood to adult, the teenage years. We meet four girls who are strengthened by their friendship, the relationship that provides a safe place to grow, expand horizons, succeed and fail. It provides a place to learn. We experience their journey through their eyes, and are provided a chance to learn and examine their decisions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    HELP! COME READ ME PLEASE

    The Second Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann. Brashares
    The time was the summer, when four best friends had to separate so they can work on what they wanted to achieve. But the problem was they all had a rule that they had to share the pants with each other. That would be a problem because they were all going to different states for the summer so they try to send the pants to each other. At the end they finally see each other again.


    I recommend this book to anyone who liked the first book. There were some big surprises at the end. It wasn't really a big page turner but I thought it was from one page to another I wish I could say so much more about the book but I was afraid I would give it away so easy. It was kind of hard to concentrate because all the distractions I have at my house. I finally finished it but when there were not distractions I was deeply in the book I could read it over and over again. To be honest I really connect with the character because they go through what I am going through in my life.


    I enjoyed this genre because it relates to the average teen age girl life with the boys, jobs plainly teenage life. No the story did not end in cliff hangers in my point of view

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    This is a super-duper great book!!!!

    I loved the book. Its one of the best books ive read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ann Brashares did it agian

    Ann Brashares has done it again. I love these books and wish they were real. AMAZING BOOKS!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Pants rule

    Must reaad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Must read!

    This is the best book! Dont hesitate for reading it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Amazing

    So good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Read it!

    READ ALL FOUR :D!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    Very original!

    I LOVED this book. Great read for tweens/teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    ROCKIN BOOK!!!!!

    I love this book. More peolpe need to read it! I can say that you will find thingss that you relate to. I,m recommending the series to my friends!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Second Summer of the Sisterhood will leave you wanting more!

    This book is the second in the Traveling Pants series, and I ordered it immediately upon finishing the last page of the first book. There's no way it could be as good as the first, right? It was amazing, and it not only picked up where it left off, but it flowed gracefully into the next parts of the characters lives without skipping a beat. This book definately had a bit more drama and negativity than the first book, but the views and spiritual journeys left me analyzing and appreciating my own family. I was brought to tears more than once. I can't wait to see what will happen to these girls in the next 2 books, and I may just re-read this book while I wait for my 3rd book to arrive!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    Great book

    THis is a good book for young readers.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    Second Summer

    More adventures and drama await Carmen, Tibby, Lena, and Bee. I know that any teenage girl will be able to identify with one or more of the characters as they go through the difficulties of adolescence in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Best!!!!!

    An amazing book, full of love and a lot of heart break. The pants work there magic once again on the girls and I dont know about u, but I like Billy a lot better than Eric!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19