Customer Reviews for

The Second Time Around

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    Very Enjoyable!

    I really liked this book. It kept me wondering how it would turn out and I was not disappointed. Would I read it again? No, because I know the ending. But it was a very good read. I definitely recommend it. --K--

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    Well...

    MHC certainly has a flare with storytelling. MHC has a way of slowly starting out her story's and then building them(and building...and building...lol) into pages of twists, turns and surprises. I liked this book a lot and she certainly knows how to deliver a climax! Not to mention this 'Ned' scared me, he's creepy. A job well done, I recommend 'Second Time Around.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2005

    Disappointing :(

    Normally a great fan of MHC, this book truly disappointed me. It did not seem well thought out, and as someone else pointed out, the several changes of the name Millie/Milly really bugged me. The beginning was decent, the middle dragged and the ending was over in just a couple lousy pages. Better luck next time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Awesome

    Mary Higgins Clark is the best author in my opinion. I have read all of her books except 1. I truely enjoy her writing. She keeps you on the edge of your seat.I only wish she wrote more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Entertaining...

    Not Clark at her best abilities, but nevertheless it adds another book to her worldwide bestsellers, which are being bought by people everyday. You'll love this book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Just okay

    This book was okay, but it's just goofy how one of the main characters happens to be a relative--not too close--of the reporter, and she just happens to have had a son that would happen to be the age of another boy in the story... The end was okay, but the personal thread was weak and predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2004

    the second time around review

    I liked the plot of the book, but why are The Second Time Around. Ms. Clark's heroines such goody-two shoes? I mean they have no flaws. this heroine just knows things. Is she a doctor? I guess she is supposed to have gut instincts, but for a ruthless reporter who wants a story, she is too noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2004

    a terrible waste of time

    this is my first book by this author.. it was a gift.. and if i had ther receipt id return it. frankly, i fell asleep at least twice reading the book. it was too soap operaish for my liking.. and the plot was weak. the characters were unmemorable... pretty lousy work to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2004

    THIS BOOK KEEPS YOU READING

    I thought is was a good book. She has had better, however once into it I couldn't put it down until I was finished. I think the difference in this book was that she made the 'bad guys' a little more obvious than normal. I love her books and this was well worth the time I invested on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2004

    Great Page Turner

    This is the first MHC book I have read and I am ready to go buy another one. This was a good book. Everytime I put it down I would go back two minutes later to read more. I just had to know how it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2004

    Very disappointing

    I usually love MHC, but this one was very disappointing. Editing was sloppy and the story line was mundane and predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    Read them all... normally great, but this was the worst!

    I was so disappointed in this book! It seemed like it was written by a high schooler with minimal writing skills at best. It was so boring and the characters were not likable in the least. It also included so many mundane details as filler that I just wanted to stop reading the senseless drivel throughout the whole experience, but I guess I just hoped it would get better. I was wrong. I normally love MHC's books, but she is slipping big time. Maybe she used to be the 'Queen of Suspense,' but she's going to lose that title if she keeps writing books like this one. Horrible... just horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Great Read

    This book was delightful. I enjoyed how everything played out in the end; it moved me to tears. What a wonderful, suspenseful thriller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    MHC abandons usual formula; writes a gem!

    'Second Time Around' is not a novel for those who are content to remain with the typical page-turning Clark plots lines. That is not to say that 'Second Time Around' is not a page-turner; it is. But it is much more mystery than suspense. This novel is not about a sick, perverted serial killer, although there certainly is a killer who does manage to tally a fair number of victims! What this novel is happens to be storytelling at its finest. Clark seems to enjoy employing the themes of how lives intertwine and interconnect, and she demonstrates this superbly in 'Second Time Around'. She makes us care about heroine Carley, who is actually a welcome change from the picture-perfect, country-club-type characters that have always seemed to dominate Clark's main characters (not that there's anything wrong with that...) Second Time Around was a step away from the usual fare Clark offers. Yes, the likeable heroine is there; yes, people end up dead in not-so-nice ways, but what truly makes this a smarter story is that we are left in the dark for the length of the novel as to 'what really happened' to Nick Spenser. Was he a crook? Was he duped? Is he dead or alive? Throughout the story we are constantly asking ourselves (as does Carley) the 5 questions of 'Who, What, Where, When, Why' regarding the whole fiasco. Clues are handed out in a very miserly fashion. If you lost patience with this one, give it another read. I guarantee if you give it a chance, you'll love it the second time around. (Sorry - I couldn't resist!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    Losing her touch?

    I was so disappointed by this book! I love MHC's books, usually, but this one is sloppily written and she did not work hard to keep the suspence up, which is what she is noted for. For example: Milly is spelled Millie and it flips and flops during the whole book. When I can spot editting mistakes, someone didn't do his job well. MHC is one of my favorite authors, but her most recent offerings (Daddy's Little Girl and this book) have been way below par. Had this been any other author, I would probably not mind so much, but when I've seen what wonderful stuff she's capable of, this is a supreme let-down! Don't run out and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2003

    Pathetic.....Utterly Pathetic

    this is the second book i've read by clark. First was Anastasia syndrome which i thought was good but this book had to suspense, predictable, and nothing exciting happened. I was very disappointed. Normally i finish a book in about 4-5hrs but it took me about 2 days cuz i dropped it, read about 3 other interesting books before i finished it. So sad, so sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2003

    nice easy read

    Like all her previous novels, this one is also very enjoyable. The characters might be a bit generic at times, nevertheless, a good read on a summer day...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Spell Binding

    As always Mary Higgins Clark keeps the reader on the edge to the final pages of her books. Great suspense novel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    She's still the Queen of Suspense

    I was a little surprised by all the negative reviews. I thought this book was great, and very suspensful. Every Chapter left you with a question or hitch, making you unconciously flip the page to the next chapter. I have enjoyed all of MHC's books, but with the last few, I was a little worried that her magical touch might be starting to wear off. I was WRONG! This one's just as good as the first few she ever wrote. There were about 20 pages that were a bit slow, but that's not too much to handle, and the rest of the book was soooo good. The only quirk I had was that I can't figure out what the title has to do with the book, but the book could have been titled 'Cheese' and I would still have loved it. Don't disregard this book because of the ample amount of negative reviews, they discouraged me, but boy was I glad I read it afterall. It just goes to show that it just depends on the person as to how good the book is. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2003

    Don't Bother

    The main character, Carley, is one dimensional & the plot is simplistic and boring. I'm sorry I wasted my money on this book. Not one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4