Customer Reviews for

The Second Time Around

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Awesome

    Mary Higgins Clark is the best author in my opinion. I have read all of her books except 1. I truely enjoy her writing. She keeps you on the edge of your seat.I only wish she wrote more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Entertaining...

    Not Clark at her best abilities, but nevertheless it adds another book to her worldwide bestsellers, which are being bought by people everyday. You'll love this book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    MHC abandons usual formula; writes a gem!

    'Second Time Around' is not a novel for those who are content to remain with the typical page-turning Clark plots lines. That is not to say that 'Second Time Around' is not a page-turner; it is. But it is much more mystery than suspense. This novel is not about a sick, perverted serial killer, although there certainly is a killer who does manage to tally a fair number of victims! What this novel is happens to be storytelling at its finest. Clark seems to enjoy employing the themes of how lives intertwine and interconnect, and she demonstrates this superbly in 'Second Time Around'. She makes us care about heroine Carley, who is actually a welcome change from the picture-perfect, country-club-type characters that have always seemed to dominate Clark's main characters (not that there's anything wrong with that...) Second Time Around was a step away from the usual fare Clark offers. Yes, the likeable heroine is there; yes, people end up dead in not-so-nice ways, but what truly makes this a smarter story is that we are left in the dark for the length of the novel as to 'what really happened' to Nick Spenser. Was he a crook? Was he duped? Is he dead or alive? Throughout the story we are constantly asking ourselves (as does Carley) the 5 questions of 'Who, What, Where, When, Why' regarding the whole fiasco. Clues are handed out in a very miserly fashion. If you lost patience with this one, give it another read. I guarantee if you give it a chance, you'll love it the second time around. (Sorry - I couldn't resist!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    She's still the Queen of Suspense

    I was a little surprised by all the negative reviews. I thought this book was great, and very suspensful. Every Chapter left you with a question or hitch, making you unconciously flip the page to the next chapter. I have enjoyed all of MHC's books, but with the last few, I was a little worried that her magical touch might be starting to wear off. I was WRONG! This one's just as good as the first few she ever wrote. There were about 20 pages that were a bit slow, but that's not too much to handle, and the rest of the book was soooo good. The only quirk I had was that I can't figure out what the title has to do with the book, but the book could have been titled 'Cheese' and I would still have loved it. Don't disregard this book because of the ample amount of negative reviews, they discouraged me, but boy was I glad I read it afterall. It just goes to show that it just depends on the person as to how good the book is. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2003

    What a thrill

    Another great story. I couldn't put this one down. Clark is at the top of her game. The twist and turn of the story was very engaging. With a dash of romance, this is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    What a ride

    Great characters and full of surprises. The ending was something else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    Another one of her GREAT Suspense Thrillers

    The twists and turns in this book keep you drawn to each page to see how it will end!! Couldn't put it down once I began reading it. You won't be disappointed with this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    She does it yet again

    Mary Higgins Clark has yet again written a novel that you stay up all night to read. She keeps the suspense going and you are never tempted to read the ending just to see if the book is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    Another great Mary Higgins Clark novel

    Once again, Mary Higgins Clark has shown us why she's the queen of suspense. This novel grabs hold and keeps you till the end. I've read all her novels. Awesome!!! Must read for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Another great novel by Mary Higgins Clark

    A great book. Mary has done it again! This book was a page-turner. It keep me guessing till the end. This was an excellent book. Must read for any Mary Higgins Clark fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    A first-rate mystery from the Queen of Suspense.

    Gen-stone is the leading medical research company involved with the development of a cancer vaccine and at the helm is Nicholas Spencer. Spencer is on the verge of a medical revolution until his plane crashes, and his body is not found. Marcia 'Carley¿ DeCarlo, a columnist for the Wall Street Weekly, is assigned the story of Spencer¿s disappearance, as well as his involvement with stolen money from Gen-stone. Carley knows this is the story of her career, and it doesn¿t hurt that she is the step-sister to Spencer¿s socialite wife Lynn. Carley does not like her step-sister and while the opportunity to bring her down as well as boost her career does seem appealing, she can¿t help but feel bad when Lynn¿s house is burned down nearly killing her. Carley has now turned her investigative skills to free her step-sister of any involvement with Spencer¿s wrong doings, and find out if Spencer was guilty or set-up. Is he in fact dead, or just hiding¿ `Second Time Around¿ is another winner from 'America¿s Queen of Suspense.' The pages turn fast as mystery fiction is blended with a what-if scenario that could have been pulled out of the headlines. Surprises, twists and turns, and shocks galore will keep readers guessing right up until the explosive finale. Mary Higgins Clark is without equal when it comes to writing suspense novels. `Second Time Around¿, one of her best novels in years, has a plot that is all-too-real, with suspense thick and razor sharp¿readers will be hard pressed not to finish this in one sitting. An instant bestseller, `Second Time Around¿ should be put on your must read list. Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2