Customer Reviews for

Second Watch (J. P. Beaumont Series #21)

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Jance fans will love this

    I loved Jance going back to Beau's first days as a newbie cop.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This book is just as good as all her other books. Have enjoyed reading her books for years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    excellent read keeps drawing me back

    excellent read keeps drawing you back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    If you like Beaumont this is a good read

    I liked the book mostly because I have followed this series for years, and it has good rhythm and a great cold case feel. Probably would not liked it as much without the benefit of knowing Beaumont history .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    cannot download

    my ipad is on the blink. Is there an app for computer so you can read books on computer? I ordered 3 books and cannot get any of them. Thanks

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good story

    Love this series. Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good reading

    Will read more.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    A tender story of J.P. 's courage.

    I am still reading this story and find it interesting. It is full of intertwined tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Doesn't disappoint.

    A little slow getting started. A lot of backtracking on familiar characters in first half. Once the story took off, in the second half, it was good. Nice the way she connected with Joanna Brady. I've missed J.P. Hope there's more to come soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Our favorite authors are often those who seldom, or never, let


    Our favorite authors are often those who seldom, or never, let us down. Once again, J. A. Jance has not let me down.

    One of the appealing things about J. P. Beaumont is that we’ve come to know him so well over the course of twenty books and, now, in the twenty-first, we get an even more in-depth look at his past and, in the end, understand him as never before. Those of us who lived through the Vietnam era can feel a true connection and re-live those times as well as Beau’s earlier days on the Seattle PD Homicide Squad.

    Undergoing knee surgery means taking some pretty heavy-duty drugs and the resulting dreams (hallucinations?) take Beau back to those days when he did his first investigation, into the death of a girl named Monica. That case is still unsolved after all these years and the memories compel Beau to take a fresh look at the old case with new technology. While he’s delving in to this old mystery, another old memory comes to the surface, that of his Army friend, Lennie (Doug) Davis, who died in Vietnam. With a little help from Sheriff Joanna Brady, Beau decides to look up Doug’s's fiancee, Bonnie, to let her know what he meant to Beau and finds more than he ever could have foreseen.

    All these years later, there is still a lot of emotion involved with the subject of Vietnam and some of the wounds haven’t yet really healed—witness the uproar during John Kerry’s presidential campaign. I lost friends there as did so many of us from that period and Ms. Jance clearly has strong feelings about it, too. I really appreciate the way she focuses on the people and how the war affected them rather than the politics. Her approach brings a humanity to a still painful time. That, coupled with an absorbing and dangerous investigation into a very cold case, puts this entry in the J. P. Beaumont series at the top of the list for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1