Customer Reviews for

Secondhand Spirits (Witchcraft Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Definitively Bewitching!

I picked this up on vacation because I could not find the next installment of the series I was currently reading and have fallen under Juliet Blackwell's spell. The book was very well writen, entertaining and for anyone who is a fan of this genre, magical mysteries, yo...
I picked this up on vacation because I could not find the next installment of the series I was currently reading and have fallen under Juliet Blackwell's spell. The book was very well writen, entertaining and for anyone who is a fan of this genre, magical mysteries, you will not be disappointed. Great surprise, I cannot wait for the next installment.

posted by Siren_RN on August 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok read

This is an ok book if you're looking for something light to read. I felt it was dragging in places at time when I really just wanted her to get to solving the case of the missing little girl. I'm willing to give the 2nd book in the series a try.

posted by Kenabug25 on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitively Bewitching!

    I picked this up on vacation because I could not find the next installment of the series I was currently reading and have fallen under Juliet Blackwell's spell. The book was very well writen, entertaining and for anyone who is a fan of this genre, magical mysteries, you will not be disappointed. Great surprise, I cannot wait for the next installment.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    Really enjoyed the characters and the story!!
    Can't wait for the next book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Juliet Blackwell delivers a fun mystery full of interesting characters and a good story line. The book gives the reader enough information to want to continue reading the next in the series. Really, what's not to like in a book that has ghosts, witches and paranormal activity?!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    Great Magical Mystery

    I wasn't sure how I was going to feel about this book because I'm anxiously awaiting the next installment of a series that I have been reading and had myself convinced this would just be a filler. I was wrong. I loved the story, the detail, the technical information. Was a little put off by the character at first, then grew to like her. The author provides a lot of cultural details which I'm sure if related to her career as an anthropologist. Half way through the book, I jumped in my car and went back to the bookstore to get the next book in the series. I remembered there was only one on the shelf and didn't want miss out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    Enjoyed the San Francisco setting. Loved the characters...kept my interest..can't wait for the next installment.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Very riviting and fun!

    I am happy to find a new author that is exciting, funny, and riviting! Juliet Blackwell set the perfect mood using the setting of a vintage clothing shop I'd love to explore myself!. The characters were well developed and believeable! the story was suspenseful enough to cause a tingle or two up my spine. Can't wait to read her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Secondhand Spirits is a fun murder-mystery that captures a readers attention instantly. Juliet's writing technique is addictive and her ability to tell an entertaining tale is amazing. I had a lot of fun befriending Lily and helping her solve the mysterious disappearances. Five stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Wonderful debut!

    SECONDHAND SPIRITS caught my attention from the opening and kept me delighted throughout the read! Paranormal mystery at it's best, and I'll be in line for the next book in this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I sooooooooooooo love this book

    This book was wonderful. I never write to the author this time I did I wanted her to know just how much I loved the book. I dont know how much of it is fact or fiction and didnt care. I was sucked in and this book didnt let me go till the very end. Loved all of the charaters they worked so well together. I really hate that I didnt wait longer before reading this book so I could shorten the amout of time I have to wait for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent !!!

    I pick this book up and it is very good, filled with action and very original. I can't wait until the second book is out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I bought this entire series after reading Blackwell's Haunted Re

    I bought this entire series after reading Blackwell's Haunted Renovation series - and it was a GREAT buy!

    The whole Witchcraft Mystery series is absolutely captivating - Lily is a soul that many could identify with,
    she's down to earth, doesn't trust easily & has been hurt more than words can describe.
     But her powers set her apart from everyone else. She's a heroine I never would've dreamed of, but she has captured my attention
    & my heart. The story is well written, with vivid details. The story unfolds in your head, as if watching a play or movie, Blackwell writes with such vividly painted descriptions that you can imagine every step of the way. Lots of mysteries, unforeseen twists/turns. A page-turner! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Lily Ivory is an entrepreneurial witch with an ability to ┬┐read┬┐

    Lily Ivory is an entrepreneurial witch with an ability to “read” the history of vintage clothes. No wonder she owns Aunt Cora’s Closet in San Francisco. Her store becomes a hit, but after a client is murdered and children begin to disappear, Lily investigates. Her own father is a mystery to her, and her father’s apprentice, handsome Aidan Rhodes is even more of a mystery. Her investigation leads her to find the truth behind an old Mexican myth of La Llorona. Entertainingly good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent mystery with just the right amount of paranormal pheno

    Excellent mystery with just the right amount of paranormal phenomenon
    that should appeal to all readers. I can't wait to read the rest of the
    books in the series. I think this series is going to become one of my
    top favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable read for people who like the paranormal.

    Entertaining book about a witch who wants to hide her abilities. Good characters and plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    I loved this book, it was a fun read and kept me guessing. The c

    I loved this book, it was a fun read and kept me guessing. The character of Lily is someone you can cheer for and grow to love. Cannot wait to
    wait to read the second novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    HUFFLEPUFF ROOM

    Slytherin next res.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    There are just some characters that you connect to almost instan

    There are just some characters that you connect to almost instantly; characters who you love and hope for. Lily Ivory was one of those characters for me. Not only was she a witch (although I’m not a witch, per se, I do practice the Wiccan faith), but she was also the kind of person who was hesitant to make new friends, because she was worried of what they might feel about her. Because of this, I felt invested in Lily’s safety, and it was hard to release the breath I was holding until the end. Now, this wasn’t all because of the fact that I connected with the character, but the way that the author wrote it as well. Even with a connection, nothing would have felt the same if the writer hadn’t written it so well. Ms. Blackwell’s writing was fun, suspenseful, humorous, and more. It was the kind of book that makes it hard to say anything against it. I will definitely be adding the rest of the series to my TBR list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Loved!

    I really enjoyed this book! Can't wait to start book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    loved it

    was a great and easy read. enjoyed the entire book. it was an easy read, no parts of the story dragged. i look forward to reading the rest of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    A fun read!

    Love this series, I am hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4