BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

SecondWorld

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Can't Put Down!!!!

Another real "page turner" from Jeremy Robinson, if you want characters you want for friends, plots that race at a breathless pace you should read this book. The concepts of Jeremy Robinson's books always teeter on the edge of reality and this is no exception, every tim...
Another real "page turner" from Jeremy Robinson, if you want characters you want for friends, plots that race at a breathless pace you should read this book. The concepts of Jeremy Robinson's books always teeter on the edge of reality and this is no exception, every time he introduces a new lead character in his books I love them. I think anyone who would write a bad review of one of his books is reading the wrong genre because he is the master of his. Read SecondWorld and it will open a whole new world of great books by a great writer for you, I know it did for me!

posted by januaryil on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

LOVE ROBINSON - BOOK JUST OKAY

In contrast to Jeremy Robinson's other novels (and I've read almost every single one), SECONDWORLD didn't stand up to his self-published books - like PULSE, THRESHHOLD, BENEATH, etc. I like the main character but he pulled off some inhuman feats throughout the story lin...
In contrast to Jeremy Robinson's other novels (and I've read almost every single one), SECONDWORLD didn't stand up to his self-published books - like PULSE, THRESHHOLD, BENEATH, etc. I like the main character but he pulled off some inhuman feats throughout the story line which made him unbelievable. SECONDWORLD is about 350 pages compared to his usual 800-900 page novels. I'm very happy Mr. Robinson got picked up by a publishing company. He's one of my top favorite authors. I just hope it doesn't cause him to change his style or rush to meet a deadline. Some good twists along the way.

posted by CAReaderDO on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Can't Put Down!!!!

    Another real "page turner" from Jeremy Robinson, if you want characters you want for friends, plots that race at a breathless pace you should read this book. The concepts of Jeremy Robinson's books always teeter on the edge of reality and this is no exception, every time he introduces a new lead character in his books I love them. I think anyone who would write a bad review of one of his books is reading the wrong genre because he is the master of his. Read SecondWorld and it will open a whole new world of great books by a great writer for you, I know it did for me!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    FUN Read!!

    It's not too often that I find an author that I just have a blast reading their books! This is one of them! And, this book didn't disappoint!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Great book, Jeremy Robinson is a master story teller!!!

    Great book, Jeremy Robinson is a master story teller!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    LOVE ROBINSON - BOOK JUST OKAY

    In contrast to Jeremy Robinson's other novels (and I've read almost every single one), SECONDWORLD didn't stand up to his self-published books - like PULSE, THRESHHOLD, BENEATH, etc. I like the main character but he pulled off some inhuman feats throughout the story line which made him unbelievable. SECONDWORLD is about 350 pages compared to his usual 800-900 page novels. I'm very happy Mr. Robinson got picked up by a publishing company. He's one of my top favorite authors. I just hope it doesn't cause him to change his style or rush to meet a deadline. Some good twists along the way.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    If there is one thing I have come to expect from Jeremy Robinson

    If there is one thing I have come to expect from Jeremy Robinson, its a freakishly good time while reading his books. The phrases, 'Pedal to the Metal', 'Nonstop Action' and 'Wicked Good' all come to mind when I remember my thoughts as I finished this tremendously F-A-S-T paced juggernaut of a novel. Outside of Matthew Reilly, I can't recall a novel with nearly as much written kinetic energy as I found with 'Secondworld'. I've been a fan of Jeremy since discovering his first self-published book, 'The Didymus Contingency' many years back. He has consistently impressed me more and more with each successive release--and 'Secondworld' is no exception.

    What do Nazi's have to do with modern-day possibility of Armageddon? Well, I'm not about to ruin one of the best parts of 'Secondworld' by revealing way too much, but suffice it to say that finding out their connection is truly an experience in and of itself...one absolutely LOADED with equal parts entertainment, action, science and enough creativity for a dozen NY Times best-selling authors. Everytime I worry that originality seems to be passing quickly into memory, I end up getting a new Jeremy Robinson book and my faith is restored yet again. This man is NOTHING if not utterly original in a field which is over-flowing with 'been there, read that' recycled plots or blatant attempts to copy the DaVici Code. Jeremy takes what the *norm* is and I imagine works overtime carefully plotting a story which takes creativity to a whole new level.

    So...does it all work...? The answer is, YES--VERY well, too. The long answer is a bit more complicated. Are there portions of the book that stretch believability? Well, that all depends on what it is YOU require of a book. I'm totally willing to shelve my hold on reality in order to fully immerse myself into a story which keeps me wanting more. More to the point, Jeremy Robinson has EARNED my respect by making everything I've read by him genuinely WORTH it. I can ask nothing more of a novel than to provide me with an escape from the world of pressures for a few hours, and leave me ultimately feeling like I REALLY got my moneys worth. My ONLY gripe of 'Secondworld'? I got into the story SO deeply that I finished it MUCH sooner than usual. I have some books I intentionally take my time reading if for no other reason than to extend the enjoyment of being immersed into the story a bit longer...however, in this case, I simply couldn't finish it fast enough. Kudos yet AGAIN, to Jeremy. An author who really does get better with each new release. Do yourself a favor, if you haven't read Robinson yet, go out and get one today. It'll only be a matter of time before you will have finished up his entire collection. Yes, he's THAT good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading SecondWorld. It was well-researched, a

    I really enjoyed reading SecondWorld. It was well-researched, and believable. The suspense built steadily, and the ending was suitably climactic, without leaving you hanging.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Not recommended

    Fast pace action, but story too unbelievable. Characters are developed ok, but again their roles and actions just a bit too unrealistic.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Great book! Could not put down! A must read!

    Great book! Could not put down! A must read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Creepy good fun

    I have never been one to enjoy just a plain mystery and this book isnt just a plain anything. Worth every penny and then some.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    I don't read for reality. I read to get away the madness of ever

    I don't read for reality. I read to get away the madness of everyday life. This book did a great job of taking me away. It was pretty far-fetched, but so much FUN and very exciting!! Jeremy Robinson is one of my favorites because he never fails to entertain. I really liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I am really enjoying this book it has me on the edge wondering w

    I am really enjoying this book it has me on the edge wondering what will happen to the characters in every chapter.  It is well written and exciting to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Catastrophically bad. Please avoid this, for your own sake.

    This book wraps Every. Possible. Cliché. In. The. Book. into one absolutely terrible read. Decorated ex-military officer, but with the one event that he regrets? Check. Tacky one-liners? Check. The president that can rely on ONLY this one man to save the world? Yep. Nazis? Oh yeah. This book is basically a high school boy's fantasy, which is appropriate since the writing evokes memories of high-school fiction writing. The fact that the first page didn't say "Jeremy Robinson, Grade 9, Mrs. Smith's English class" was a bit surprising. I can't burn my Nook in protest, though I was tempted. In truth, I can't NOT finish a book. I can't walk out of bad movies either. It's my curse. I think I really do try to give the creators a chance. So somehow I finished this book. And I almost gave the author (the horrible, horrible author) credit for not dropping the one cliché that I was convinced he would. Then I read the epilogue. Oh yeah, he went there. I regret reading this book. It has scarred a part of my brain that I can never recover. Please—please do not make the same mistake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was one of the best books that I have read in some time, an

    This was one of the best books that I have read in some time, and there is quite a bit of competition for that claim. SecondWorld was an amazing combination of action, suspense, historical fiction, and science fiction. I was a little reluctant to start reading because I was concerned that it would be another apocalyptic tale. I enjoyed the Strain Trilogy but it really ended on such a down note that it was depressing. SecondWorld is not a story of doom a gloom, but rather a fantastic adventure with a plot the took one interesting turn after another.

    I can't recommend this book highly enough. If you are looking for a fun summer read that is full of action, adventure, and is unlike anything you have read before, this is the book to pick up. I found myself hoping that it would not end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nazis trying to take over the world with advanced technology. Th

    Nazis trying to take over the world with advanced technology. This is a great read and keeps you hooked all the way through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    Awesome

    Could notput it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Not very good

    Creativity was really lacking in this book. The idea was promising, but the story telling was lame. I wouldn't recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    This book was very interesting and made you wonder if Hitler is

    This book was very interesting and made you wonder if Hitler is truely dead. So far every book that I have read by jeremy robinson has good. I recommend any of his books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2014

    Lincoln Miller is a force to be reckoned with, nothing is going

    Lincoln Miller is a force to be reckoned with, nothing is going to get in his way of surviving...thank goodness for that. With assistance from Cowboy (read I Am Cowboy) a humorous gunslinger they set out to save the world from Nazi's. A fun, action-packed ride that will have you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2014

    This is the best book I have ever read besides Clive Cussler nov

    This is the best book I have ever read besides Clive Cussler novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    just awesome! Secondworld is a very new, fresh story. Lincoln Mi

    just awesome!
    Secondworld is a very new, fresh story.
    Lincoln Miller a retired Navy Seal and current NCIS investigator, is a lone survivor in a massive attack in Miami.
    He comes to find out that this attack was set in motion over 70 years ago.
    Another page turner from Mr. Robinson!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3