Customer Reviews for

Secrecy, Democracy, and Fascism: Lessons from History

Average Rating 3
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    Insightful

    Thank you for writing this book and making it available. You point out the similarities to what America is going through today with the rise of Fascism and Nazis in Germany and Fascism in Italy. When I ask people I speak with about us moving to a police state, they either look at me funny then deny it or are in complete agreement. I am fearful about what is coming, and looking for ways to get people to wake up. People here are so oppressed with just surviving, some are too beleaguered to unravel the truth from the lies much of the media and the government tells. I am only beginning to see the writing on the wall.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Confused Author

    It quickly becomes obvious this author merely has an ax to grind with political ideologies different than her own progressive left. In the attempt to villify something she doesn't clearly understand by calling it fascist, she has proven she is unable to see the fascist qualities of the radical left which seeks nobel goals of equality through government control of indivdual freedoms.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2011

    Great Overview of Historical Fascism and how it apples to today

    Understanding that the author is a liberal, she does point out the characteristic rhetoric from the right that are very similar to Fascism in Germany and Italy.

    I'm a moderate conservative who has been pushed to the left by the extreme fundamentalist right. Todays conservatives are ayn rand followers hell bent on the self and the nation. Bunch of self professed Christians following the opposite philosophy.

    Every citizen should read this essay.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    Horrible

    Left wing bs

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Silly kids.

    The left and the right are two gears of the same machine. Let
    that not be mistaken. But its the left who voluntarily allows our government to feed off of the taxes that fuel it. Our whole nation will be like los angelas soon. They scare you with the trickle down system, but what of the trickle up system? And the slaves to the pyramids wonder why they lay in recession. Meanwhile, the union of our fascist government along with walstreet and the leaders of nationalized corporations stand strong with all the power and all the money because they have realized that the left is under the inane delusion that the government has the ability to produce more money out of the money we are perpetually throwing into 'it'. However, if you turn the stations back and forth, from fox news to cnn, the left and the right are nothing more than two colors of the same flag infinitly debating the same mundane issues while the world never learns the truth within and without its self. And its always hate; its always hate because hating each other keeps you weak and the weaker you are, the stronger they are. Or is there no one left who remembers 1984's hate week? Because if nothing is done now, we will also end up in a system that can no longer be rebelled against. The truth people, 'is' in the individual, not the party. So, god bless ayn rand and her believes on the power of the individual. She saw socialism in russia, experienced the poverty and oppresion, all for the power of the one (the same 'one' obama speaks of in his speaches). She knew and she came to america, a place she loved because of its opposition towards the tyranny she encountered in russia, only to find it slowly subjecting to the same desease she had wished to be cured of. And until she died every single word was dedicated to curing our country from that desease, the desease that our founders destroyed, the desease that the great depresion returned, the desease we are all currently trying to evade with desperate haste; 'the power of the few over the power of the many.' Abraham Lincoln distinctly warned us of this desease and i wonder what his thoughts were as we stood right before him in mass and insane, welcoming obama and the desease with arms wide open. Silly kids, this is just the beginnig of the end. You know not their power. You know not yours. As benjamin franklin would put it, you have traded your liberty for security, and you have acheived neither.

    -James R. Henning

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Interesting political views

    Whether right or wrong, the author does give readers things to think about and to reason for themselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2011

    Pretty good!

    Much of this has been said before, but it bears repitition, since we are indeed in pre-fascist times. (And I doubt that "pre-" is accurate.)

    The excerpt from Mussolini's manifesto is enlightening, and is new to me, and is chillingly reminiscent of the Repugnican Tea Party's manifesto.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Deleting

    Pure garbage, but what does one expect coming from a leftist point of view.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Pointless!

    Rambling list of definitions with no conclusions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2