Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 971 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(446)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(164)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

136 out of 183 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 976 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 49
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    The secret is no secret

    and now I'm going to close my eyes, click my heels together and wish real hard...

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Disgusted

    A friend of mine was watching Opera and they were talking about 'the Secret' is a book by Rhonda Byrne. She convinced me to read it. It basically teaches people to think positive and good things will happen. My problem with the book is two things. First it tries to teach that thought waves are projected out into the universe and attract similar thoughts (explained by Quantum Physics??) But the second teaching is the one that makes my go hum.... They explain the process it all in a way that, if good things don't happen to you, is because you don't 'believe they will'. How destructive this could be... There is a psychological/sociological concept called 'blaming the victim' in which we blame the very individual who has been hurt. This is the process used by an abuser ('If you behaved the way I want you to, I wouldn't have to hurt you!'), and it destroys confidence, self-esteem, hope...The medical profession has its own version...There is some belief that we are the cause of our own illnesses. (Most especially, cancer). What a horrible burden to place on someone if they become ill! Likewise, if you wish for something to happen (without a true understanding of what, in life, you can control and cannot) and it doesn't come about (winning the lottery, for example), then the blame falls on you...('Well, you just didn't believe enough!') Can you see what the implications of this nonsense are? They have an answer for everything. They talked about the people who die in war and how it was because they had the 'thought' of war that drew them to their death. I can even begin to say how much damage this will cause. These are the basic RADICAL principles of people who do not believe in medicine and there child dies because of a simple cold, they blame the child for not 'believing enough'.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    Secrets

    Firstly I've never heard of this book or movie. My niece`recommended it to me.I went on line to find it, then I ordered it.I haven't finished it yet but I find it very inspiring, and very spiritual. I found information in the book related to a seminar that I did last year called Mirrors. It speaks about the same thing , "the power of the mind. It changed the way I look at life and the things I've done in my life, which gave me a new perpective on how I see things and how I react.
    Thank you for putting it on the market.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A life-changing book

    This is a book that anybody can use. Keep an open mind and a positive attitude. In a world of complainers and downers, it's so refreshing to have clear illustrations on how to avoid that mindset and live far beyond it. This book helps one to identify their true potential in life. It made me hungry to learn more which brought me to "The Law of Attraction - the Basics of the teachings of Abraham" by Esther & Jerry Hicks. "The Secret" is a good introduction to that book & concept. There's so much to live for, and now I know why.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Re-Packaged Secret

    A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

    Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend "The Sixty-Second Motivator" for more info on that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The eye-opening introduction to a more positive mindset was worth spending $15.

    First off, I want to clarify that this book is for motivation, not to change personal beliefs in religion. On that note, the book is very interesting to say the least. The book offers a new, positive thought process that eliminates discouraging thoughts by only allowing positive thoughts and aspirations to be present within the mind. Although scientifically, the law of attraction is true, it seems that the author really stretches the truth and tries to hard to scientifically prove the idea of the "secret." Another thing that she stretches is the length of the book. The book is very repetitive, predictable and vague at times. It seems that she could have condensed it much more than she did. The most important quality to maintain while reading this book in order to experience personal growth is open-mindedness. Although the book is far-fetched at times, especially when maintaining other religious beliefs, it offers a new way to look at your life. You can control what happens in your life, and you can succeed with positive thought and productive actions. A good, entertaining and inspiring book, the read and new point of view is well worth the money. I'm not sure if it's worth keeping for my personal library or if I should return it though. The concept can be life-changing if you let it manifest.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Such garbage!

    The only question I have is: Whatever happen to reading the bible? Anyone?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    disappointing at best

    If you begin to think positive you will attract more positive energy your way. We all know that I don't believe that reading this book can change anything. Only you can change how you think. This is an old idea that the author is trying make new and her rich!!!! Don't listen!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    A Bushel of Bunk

    I can't believe the false notions that are presented here. 'Facts' such as you will get rich of you think about it. Or you won't get sick if you don't allow it. Positive thinking is great, but nature has bacteria that causes illness accidents happen sometimes that bushel of money just doesn't happen. I DO believe that you can change your attitude. But the SECRET that Byrne is talking about is that SHE got rich by writing such garbage, and it is purchased. (I read a library copy. Sure glad I didn't waste my money)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    A gigantic load of nonsense.

    If the headline wasn't enough, then let me expand on what this book is: it's garbage. At the basis, the synopsis is 'if you believe it, you can achieve it.' Overall, it's message is enough to make an intelligent invidivual ill in it's poorly worded and put together effort at selling you hope for 19.95 'or whatever the cost'. It begs the question that if the author means so well in sharing a message of hope and charity, that we may all live better lives in having learned this 'secret,' then why is she selling it at twenty bucks a pop? Hasn't her positive thinking left her rich enough? Frankly, the book is ridiculous, and that it's so highly touted only serves to show the sad state of the world we live in. It's perhaps enjoyable, however, to the inherently stupid, the mildly literate, and the absolutely gullible.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Don't Waste Your Money!

    This book is the biggest waste of money. Not only is it a waste of money it is also a waste of paper and ink. Don't even bother reading it. You'll learn nothing new.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Truely Life Changing

    Some of the reviews on here are indicating that The Secret is no secret at all and that its just a bunch of crap. I don't think its crap at all. It works for me and has been working for over a year now! I am so happy that i found the book and movie. I was in a really low stage in my life and The Secret gave me hope. Everything has improved since I started applying the The Secret to my life. My husband and I have been shocked at how much our lives have changed for the better. We have a new beautiful home, a new car, he got an extremely well paying job so that I can stay home with our young children. We have been truly blessed. I have never been a strong believer in anything until now! It really is the best thing that has ever happened in our lives. I will continue to live like this until my dying day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    You can't just read the book, you need to Live the book,,,

    Is the advice my friend gave me after she had read the book. You have to have an open mind, and actually believe. This is not a book you can just read all the way thru, you read it chapter by chapter, pausing to let it sink in, and apply to your life and others. Over the past four years that I have read this book, I have bought several copies and gave to my friends and family, and have recommended to many others. I'm so happy to have it on my Nook so I can carry it around with me at all times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    So pathetic

    They tried to get rich from this junk years ago. I call it fraud.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Basics of The Law of Attraction Without Judgment or Religion

    The Law of Attraction is an undeniable law of the Universe. You create the life you want through your thoughts. Every great invention, concept, and reality that exists in the physical world first began as a creative thought. However, the Law of Attraction is not as simple as thinking about something and expecting it to arrive. Thinking about what you do NOT want can actually have the opposite effect and manifest that exact thought into reality in your physical life. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne incorporates the teachings of a plethora of classical and modern new age thinkers and healers and explains in simple terms how to think the life you desire into existence.

    The Secret is a guidebook, short and simple, demonstrating the proper way to think to utilize the Law of Attraction. Non-judgmental, non-religious, and mildly spiritual, Byrne and her collection of teachers explain how to manifest what you want. They make no suggestion of what you should or should not want and use as many examples of manifesting money and prosperity as they do health and spirituality.

    "Like attracts like" is a common phrase, and it is the foundational concept behind the Law of Attraction. The Law does not distinguish between "good" or "bad" thoughts. This explains why people are capable of manifesting seemingly unpleasant situations such as disease and poverty. In its simplicity, The Secret teaches you how to think. For example, rather than saying, "I wish I was a prosperous person," the more appropriate way to attract prosperity is by saying, believing, and actually feeling, "I already AM a prosperous person." The phrase "I am" is one of the most powerful phrases in the Universe and is highly effective in attracting what you want out of life. Thoughts are merely the first step in the process, though. Behind those initiating thoughts must come a belief that the desired physical response will manifest. You must actually feel as you would when you receive what it is you asked for. And, most importantly, you must express gratitude NOW for having received that for which you asked, even if it has not yet manifested. Giving thanks now is an assurance that you believe, without a doubt, that what you have asked for will be made a reality.

    The Secret was first a documentary film followed by the popular book of the same name. Featured in The Secret are common new age thinkers such as Michael Bernard Beckwith, Jack Canfield, Mike Dooley, John Gray, Lisa Nichols, Neale Donald Walsch, and others. The sources are reliable and exemplify the Law of Attraction through their own experiences. One note of caution to the reader: Byrne explains that manifesting a million dollars is as simple as manifesting one dollar and gives an example of a woman healing herself from cancer by laughing. Keep an open mind, and use the Law of Attraction, but also seek traditional financial or medical advice if you are in a dire situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    Great book

    Yet another book to live by! It brought peace to my mind reading it along with an awareness that wasn't there before. Thoughts become things.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    What a piece of Hog-Wash!

    I have read this book and another book with the same message. I followed everything they said to do, time and time again. There was a major object that we were using the book for. We worked it dlilegently every day. When the time came for the object to bloom or fail for us....it failed in such a way we are severly devastated and in such a state of depression, I don't know if we can climb our way out of it. So buyer beware. I would not even take this book with a grain of salt.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Great

    This is actually the second copy I bought because I passed on the first one to my Daughter-in-law. I think everyone should read it and live it. It is life-changing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Inspirational listening

    I purchased the audiobooks version of "The Secret" at a low point in my life. My daughter recommended it. I put the CD in the car and became enrapt by the discussion of the power of the mind. You can't help but be encouraged to be positive and change the way you think. I listen to it often and always come away in a better frame of mind.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The absolute best book I've ever read...

    If you're a beginner of the law of attraction, you should definitely pick up The Secret! It's very informative. It's my personal favourite!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 976 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 49