Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 976 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(448)

4 Star

(168)

3 Star

(114)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(165)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

What a truly amazing book this is! Also love Marty Jenkins , the

What a truly amazing book this is! Also love Marty Jenkins , the two have the same type of 'thinking' ways except this is more of a step by step guide and Marty Jenkins is more of a story form, both very popular books, Im leaning on Marty Jenkins book at bit more but ov...
What a truly amazing book this is! Also love Marty Jenkins , the two have the same type of 'thinking' ways except this is more of a step by step guide and Marty Jenkins is more of a story form, both very popular books, Im leaning on Marty Jenkins book at bit more but overall these are good must have books!

posted by Asilverstone1 on January 10, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

139 out of 188 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 981 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A complete change of attitude

    When I read the intro to this book, I thought it sounded a little too far fetched. But as I began reading, it started to strike a familiar chord with me. My outlook has always been "You get out of life what you put into it." So the Law of Attraction kind of made sense to me. I'm one of those people who always say "I never win anything" but I stopped saying that and started thinking "winner." I went to a bridal fair with my daughter shortly after reading the book and we both signed up for the prize drawings. Five minutes later, they announced the first winner of the evening....me! I won a fabulous Lancome gift basket! We spent an hour stopping to check out the different vendor stands and sampling products. Several more names were drawn during this time. My daughter was ready to leave, but I hestitated. I told her I just knew they were going to draw her name. I told her to wait until the next drawing and then we would leave. Sure enough, her name was selected! She won a beautiful fragrance basket.
    I have a Vision board and keep a Gratitude Journal. I practice daily turning negative thoughts into positive ones and the results have been amazing. This book has changed my attitude and my life!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No secret here

    This book will wrongly motivate good people who are stuck in negativity that just by thinking positively, they will be successful. It will also misdirect people who want to be successful but don't know how.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Not literally...

    I can't see why people are taking this book so literally. Obviously by thinking about something isnt go to put that thing in your hand. It's the meaning behind the words not the literal words. Basically it just wants you to redirect your thoughts to positve things. All the people that think it's a fake, just don't see the truth behind it and obviously they just dont want to try and change anything with their negative reviews. The people that take it for the meaning in the words are going to be the happy wealthy successful ones who are greatly satisfied with their lives. Some people need this book just to reiterate their ability. Yah most people know these things because its common sense and then there are the some that don't need this book at all and can get the wealth happiness and success without it. But don't crush other peoples hopes in finding happiness. Some people just need a push in the right direction and this is definitely mine. I don't think this book is a scam in anyway and I belive it has great meaning and value.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    To R.P. McMurphy whereever you are . . .

    Dear Mr. R.P. McMurphy, Just wanted to say that I read your review of 'The Secret' and laughed hysterically. Your money is probably in the same place as my monopoly pieces. I do not have your million dollars, but I think Kesey would be very proud, which must be worth more than money. Thanks for the laugh, Cheswick

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    THIS BOOK WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!

    This book is amazing! The moment I began to read this book, things just clicked. "The Secret" is the world's greatest secret. It is very inspiring and helpful. The stories, words of wisdom, and ideas are very applicable to life. As long as you keep an open mind while reading this book, you will have the tools to obtain anything and everything you have ever wanted. Follow this book and it WILL change your life for the better.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Inspiring

    I am going through a tough part of my life, and I was reccommended this book by my personal trainer. I wrote down my "perfect life" scenario and what I am greatful for - and it is keeping me much more happy. Hard to believe what they say, but I do see that it can cheer you up. I think everyone that needs to get out of a rut should read this book, and with an open mind. I also watched the dvd, but there is more information in the book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    What's the big secret?

    This popular tome of the way the Universe works seems too heavy on the old paradigm of positive thinking and not enough on belief. In order to optimize your life, belief plays the largest part. As Rosalene Glickman Ph.D. says, 'the quality of your thinking determines the quality of every aspect of your life.' So why not optimize your thinking with the best beliefs and actions and not just rose-colored glasses full of hopefulness.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Self Doubt Eliminator

    This book it great for one who is seeking to achieve something and venture out into the unknowns of life. Too often many people have dreams and aspirations and allow them to drift away with the clouds. There are so many people that doubt their own abilities in life not knowing that the reality of it is, we can achieve all things. The Secret and all of its participants have opened up to unknown to its readers. Allowing one to see just how much power and leverage they have within the universe.

    www.bsminvestors.net

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's OK, but where's the beef?

    This is an easy read; I'll give it that. It's also harmless and uplifting, but I'm not so sure it's very useful. I believe in this power. I believe that you can envision your future positively and it will help to make things fall into place. However, this author just repeats "Think it and it will happen". I need a bit more meat to feel convinced that just "thinking" will change things. There's at least one other book out there that does exactly that. It's a bit complex, but it spells it out.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!!

    When I saw the segment on Oprah for this book I went out the same day and bought a copy..boy was I dissapointed This book only makes one point 'beleiving is acheving' this Author is making alot of money off of gullible people...

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    The Secret : Just Another Waste Of Paper

    The Secret:: A Waste of Paper This book is complete crap. I'm sorry, but it jsut doesn't work. The idea that if you think positive things will work out is just stupid. Your thoughts can only change your actions, not the actions of others. It's only coincidental that some people who read this book did well in life. The idea behind it sounds almost like a cult if you ask me. Don't waste your time on this pathetic waste of trees. There are plenty of other books out there that are much better than this one. Go find one of those and read it.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    I have been a student of the law of attraction for years. Rhonda Byrnes has given the basics for begininer and experts alike. The book was easy to follow. The laws of the universe has been around for centuries and i am so happy that Rhonda Byrne has brought it back to main stream.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The eye-opening introduction to a more positive mindset was worth spending $15.

    First off, I want to clarify that this book is for motivation, not to change personal beliefs in religion. On that note, the book is very interesting to say the least. The book offers a new, positive thought process that eliminates discouraging thoughts by only allowing positive thoughts and aspirations to be present within the mind. Although scientifically, the law of attraction is true, it seems that the author really stretches the truth and tries to hard to scientifically prove the idea of the "secret." Another thing that she stretches is the length of the book. The book is very repetitive, predictable and vague at times. It seems that she could have condensed it much more than she did. The most important quality to maintain while reading this book in order to experience personal growth is open-mindedness. Although the book is far-fetched at times, especially when maintaining other religious beliefs, it offers a new way to look at your life. You can control what happens in your life, and you can succeed with positive thought and productive actions. A good, entertaining and inspiring book, the read and new point of view is well worth the money. I'm not sure if it's worth keeping for my personal library or if I should return it though. The concept can be life-changing if you let it manifest.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Changing your mind

    The Secret teaches the power of positive thinking. It shows you how to harness your abilities in achieving what you believe you can in this world. Not what you want, but what you are willing to go forward and achieve. It's a frame of mind that too few people can maintain for long and that's what's great about this book, it gets you to do just that. It's short, it's focused and it gets you going.<BR/><BR/>Another quickie I read this week that I strongly recommend because it changed my mind in a big way is The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A fool and her money...

    Clearly, six million Jews and four million others died in the Holocaust because they weren't thinking positively enough. (or maybe Hitler just had really, really positive thoughts) Clearly, rape victims are asking for it through their thoughts. Clearly, people around the world starve daily because they just don't want that food enough. Clearly, crippling diseases are the sole fault of the victim. In fact, let's just blame the victims for everything. This book pretty blatantly states that the only reason for poverty is personal negativity. Take a look at the world for a moment and realize to get good things, most people have to work hard for them, not just sit around hoping that the universe will quite literally respond to your wishes.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    The premise of this book is that your every thought will determine your future. I do think it's important to keep a positive outlook in life, but I DO NOT think that people inadvertently through their thoughts 'think' horrible and tragic things to themselves. For example, the author writes, 'Often when people first hear this part of the Secret they recall events in history where masses of lives were lost and they find it incomprehensible that so many people could have attracted themselves to the event. By the law of attraction, they had to be on the same frequency to the event.' Think of the Holocasut, think of 9/11- this author has some nerve. I will add one more 'nugget' of wisdom this author included in her book, 'You're going to immediately say, I didn't attract the car accident.....And I'm here to be a little in your face and say, yes you did attract it.' It angers me to hear this! Think of all the newborns and children who are suffering from some terrible disease -I'm sure they and their families will be comforted in knowing that their thoughts caused their tragic circumstances. I hope that the author does no have some tragic circumstance befall her, lest someone repeats her own words back to her. I can not believe people are buying into this farce.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    C'mon now, are you serious?

    I don't usually write reviews, but I just had to for this one. Everyone is saying how this law of attraction changed their life. I am a big advocate of the idea that you can change your life with positive thoughts, but not in the ridiculous way that this book suggests. Think about it, a thought cannot do anything at all on its own, it cannot make you rich or happy or find the man/woman of your dreams. Thoughts provoke actions and those actions are what change lives. I am truly happy for anyone whose life was bettered by this book, because you thought positively, so 'maybe subconsciously' you acted in a positive manner to achieve whatever goal you thought about. However, it is truly ridiculous that so many people can believe that they can sit on their bottom all day and just think about being rich and BAM your rich! It makes me sick to think that people aren't smarter than that. Can bookstores start shelving this book under fiction?!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Yet another waste of money

    I wish that I could give this book ZERO stars. Everything that this book says, people should already know. You can repeat 'I want to be rich, I want to be healthy' all you want but it won't happen unless YOU take the initiative to get off your behind and do what it takes to make it happen. The only person getting rich from this book is Rhonda Byrne. She should be ashamed. There are no 'secrets' in this book at all.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    The Secret isn't such a secret!

    Our actions are led by our thoughts and this is the foundation for the Secret and any philosophy of self-empowerment. While the author has done an amazing job at mystifying a simple principle, she writes a book that is difficult to digest thanks in large part to the simplistic black and white world she paints. People seem to either love or hate this book. The people who find it inspirational see the secret as the path to happiness in every form. Others who loath it find the message to be essentially about materialism and greed. But in all honesty, if you live in the US and many other parts of the world, materialism is the driving core of the economy and accordingly, material rewards are regarded as success. Anyone who has struggled financially understands the power of wishful thinking. Now add a positive spin on the wish and believe in your heart that it can accomplished and you¿ve got yourself something that almost anyone use in there life¿hope. Rather than being logical, the author wraps the ¿Secret¿ in a mystical blanket. I suppose this makes it feel sacred and special to many readers. You might conclude with the off the charts sales and praise of the book, DVD, etc., that many people need this mysticism to believe. Yet, Rhonda Byrne is criticized for her attempt to make a case against selfless compassion. For example, she basically states that, quite literally, every person¿s situation is a result of their thought process and belief system. And, of course, there is much truth to this. Yet, according to her, people who are starving in places like India and Africa are responsible for their circumstances. In this case she seems to lose sight of basic human compassion and empathy. It seems almost as if she allowed herself feel compassion for another¿s suffering, she would lose her power to alleviate her own and exist in blissful happiness. You can certainly believe in yourself and at the same time have compassion for others who are not able to see such a positive view of life. More over, you can certainly understand that people are sometimes born into circumstances that are much more difficult to rise up from then your own. Absolutely good thing happen when you are positive and believe your dreams are possible. There are also steps a person can take to get there. While there is no doubt the book can be inspirational, a little self-editing is certainly in order. If you are a person with a reasonable faculty for compassion and intelligence, you should be able to navigate through the text and be reminded of the power of positive thought.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Load of Crap

    I can't believe this woman is getting rich off this drivel. This book is detrimental to our society. There is already a culture in this country of not taking responsibility for one's own actions, and this perpetuates that. Didn't work hard enough to make the salary I want? Oh, it must be the universe's fault because I sure wished for it every day. It is not different from religion, it is the same. The religious look to Jesus or other gods to fix their life problems. Now 'the Secret' followers will look to a different kind of mysticism (law of attraction) for the same comfort and to be able to remove the burden of responsibility for their life from their shoulders. People need to wake up! What YOU do every day is what makes your life the way it is, and you control your own destiny. If you get an education, work hard, care for your family and friends, eat healthy and get exercise, don't commit crimes, and try to do nice things for others, you will be an extremely happy and successful individual. No wishing required, it just takes hard work and dedication. As soon as people believe that we will have a much kinder, compassionate, educated and motivated society.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 981 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 50