Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 959 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(160)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

131 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

    I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

    131 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Don't Be Fooled!

    I read this book and my first impression was 'WOW!' Then I went one step further, and studied it. Then I felt sick! Not only does this book and DVD promise people they can become wealthy by just merely thinking it, they also suggest that in a catastrophic event, that the people who may have died or suffered in that event were all of one negative frequency! Does this mean that on 9/11 that every single person who died during that terrorist attack were all on the same negative frequency? I don't think so! It tells people who want to lose weight, not to observe overweight people because in doing so, they 'the ones who want to lose weight' will add more weight to themselves simply by observing other overweight people! Insane! They even go on to say 'by bringing the Bible into it for those of us who have faith in God' that Jesus was rich....huh???? If you buy this book, you are only going to be suckered like so many others. Actually...because I was curious...I even went to the Forum for The Secret and just read that these two people are SO positive they are going to win the lottery, just simply by being positive about it, that these two are actually quitting their jobs. If I see posts like this by these two, it makes me wonder how many out there are taking such foolish chances with their lives on false promises. The Universe is NOT a genie. You simply can not wish something and have the Universe say to you 'Your wish is my command!' If that were really true, we would all be rich, have perfect health, have perfect relationships...etc etc. I have recently tossed The Secret in the dump!

    68 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    Self-involved American individualism at its finest(/worst)

    We live in a society that is ready to blame victims for anything and everything. It's because of our arrogant and self-obsessed attitudes, the kinds that this book glorifies. Clearly, six million Jews died in the Holocaust because they lacked positive energy - or maybe it was just that Hitler had it in spades. Clearly, starving children around the world simply don't want food enough - but sure, go on and *will* yourself a bigger paycheck or a marriage, because you want that more than the kid wants a loaf of bread. Clearly.

    28 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2010

    Totally Not Right!

    THE SECRET by Rhoda Byrne

    Have you ever wanted to know the secret of life? Don't look for it here. The book states that your thoughts will turn into things. It places you as creator of all and if you concentrate on a thought the Universe will align and turn that thought into existence. In reality you are not the creator and neither is your weird family member or your mean neighbor next door. Also, if you think about a new car don't expect the trees, grass and the ants in your yard to form that car.

    The author even brings up one of the greatest points as to why this secret wouldn't work. You are told that once you have decided what you want you just ask for it once, think it, and then receive it. The author tells you there is a time delay so your thoughts will not come true instantly. She warns you to be careful what you think or you may get into trouble. Can you imagine what would happen to the guy who cuts you off while you were driving and you wished him dead? Relying on what a person thinks to attain riches, power, fame, your wants, etc. is ridiculous.

    The book is filled with deception. It even tries to prove its point by bringing in Scripture verses and quotes from Martin Luther King, but each was used out of context. If you read this book read it as fiction. If you want The Secret of Life read The Bible.

    17 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    There is no secret here, just an effort by a group of people supporting each other in an attempt to seprate you and your money by any means necessary. Do as I did, read the book, check the statments given as fact,return it and write an approprate review.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Something New

    Here's something you'll really enjoy knowing that might change your life. Get the book How to Fink Yourself and Your Best Match Socionics by Rod Novichkov. It is a positive and well written book that explains the uniqueness of all of us and how we can be happy for the rest of our lives.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    If you want to read 200 pages of the same thing over, over and over again - THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU!

    I honesty couldn't finish this book. It was so redundant - you probably only need to read the first 20 pages and be done with it - unless you enjoy reading how different people can re-state the same concept over and over again. Sure, I agree with the idea that positive thought can be powerful and life-changing, but it does not guarantee that you will become filthy rich in addition to some of the other claims this book makes. Lastly, I hate books that use science improperly and out of context. I don't think that Newton's 1st law was intended to be translated into some money making scheme - the authors' attempt at using scientific laws in their claims would come across as completely absurd to anyone with any background in science.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No secret here

    This book will wrongly motivate good people who are stuck in negativity that just by thinking positively, they will be successful. It will also misdirect people who want to be successful but don't know how.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    To R.P. McMurphy whereever you are . . .

    Dear Mr. R.P. McMurphy, Just wanted to say that I read your review of 'The Secret' and laughed hysterically. Your money is probably in the same place as my monopoly pieces. I do not have your million dollars, but I think Kesey would be very proud, which must be worth more than money. Thanks for the laugh, Cheswick

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    WHAT A LOAD OF CRAP!!!

    When I saw the segment on Oprah for this book I went out the same day and bought a copy..boy was I dissapointed This book only makes one point 'beleiving is acheving' this Author is making alot of money off of gullible people...

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    The Secret : Just Another Waste Of Paper

    The Secret:: A Waste of Paper This book is complete crap. I'm sorry, but it jsut doesn't work. The idea that if you think positive things will work out is just stupid. Your thoughts can only change your actions, not the actions of others. It's only coincidental that some people who read this book did well in life. The idea behind it sounds almost like a cult if you ask me. Don't waste your time on this pathetic waste of trees. There are plenty of other books out there that are much better than this one. Go find one of those and read it.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A fool and her money...

    Clearly, six million Jews and four million others died in the Holocaust because they weren't thinking positively enough. (or maybe Hitler just had really, really positive thoughts) Clearly, rape victims are asking for it through their thoughts. Clearly, people around the world starve daily because they just don't want that food enough. Clearly, crippling diseases are the sole fault of the victim. In fact, let's just blame the victims for everything. This book pretty blatantly states that the only reason for poverty is personal negativity. Take a look at the world for a moment and realize to get good things, most people have to work hard for them, not just sit around hoping that the universe will quite literally respond to your wishes.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    The premise of this book is that your every thought will determine your future. I do think it's important to keep a positive outlook in life, but I DO NOT think that people inadvertently through their thoughts 'think' horrible and tragic things to themselves. For example, the author writes, 'Often when people first hear this part of the Secret they recall events in history where masses of lives were lost and they find it incomprehensible that so many people could have attracted themselves to the event. By the law of attraction, they had to be on the same frequency to the event.' Think of the Holocasut, think of 9/11- this author has some nerve. I will add one more 'nugget' of wisdom this author included in her book, 'You're going to immediately say, I didn't attract the car accident.....And I'm here to be a little in your face and say, yes you did attract it.' It angers me to hear this! Think of all the newborns and children who are suffering from some terrible disease -I'm sure they and their families will be comforted in knowing that their thoughts caused their tragic circumstances. I hope that the author does no have some tragic circumstance befall her, lest someone repeats her own words back to her. I can not believe people are buying into this farce.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    C'mon now, are you serious?

    I don't usually write reviews, but I just had to for this one. Everyone is saying how this law of attraction changed their life. I am a big advocate of the idea that you can change your life with positive thoughts, but not in the ridiculous way that this book suggests. Think about it, a thought cannot do anything at all on its own, it cannot make you rich or happy or find the man/woman of your dreams. Thoughts provoke actions and those actions are what change lives. I am truly happy for anyone whose life was bettered by this book, because you thought positively, so 'maybe subconsciously' you acted in a positive manner to achieve whatever goal you thought about. However, it is truly ridiculous that so many people can believe that they can sit on their bottom all day and just think about being rich and BAM your rich! It makes me sick to think that people aren't smarter than that. Can bookstores start shelving this book under fiction?!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Yet another waste of money

    I wish that I could give this book ZERO stars. Everything that this book says, people should already know. You can repeat 'I want to be rich, I want to be healthy' all you want but it won't happen unless YOU take the initiative to get off your behind and do what it takes to make it happen. The only person getting rich from this book is Rhonda Byrne. She should be ashamed. There are no 'secrets' in this book at all.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2007

    Load of Crap

    I can't believe this woman is getting rich off this drivel. This book is detrimental to our society. There is already a culture in this country of not taking responsibility for one's own actions, and this perpetuates that. Didn't work hard enough to make the salary I want? Oh, it must be the universe's fault because I sure wished for it every day. It is not different from religion, it is the same. The religious look to Jesus or other gods to fix their life problems. Now 'the Secret' followers will look to a different kind of mysticism (law of attraction) for the same comfort and to be able to remove the burden of responsibility for their life from their shoulders. People need to wake up! What YOU do every day is what makes your life the way it is, and you control your own destiny. If you get an education, work hard, care for your family and friends, eat healthy and get exercise, don't commit crimes, and try to do nice things for others, you will be an extremely happy and successful individual. No wishing required, it just takes hard work and dedication. As soon as people believe that we will have a much kinder, compassionate, educated and motivated society.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have seen the movie that partners the book and was thoroughly disgusted. After reading the reviews on here, I felt I needed to add my two cents. This book is everything the poor reviews have said. Common sense, a positive attitude goes a long way however there is a reality to life. To think you can have whatever you want and it will just happen is insane. And to blame the poor for being poor is purely cruel. Our minds cannot control the universe. If we cannot even begin to comprehend the universe we certainly cannot control it by mere thought. God is the creator of the earth. Religion and faith is far separated from this book and I honestly find it absurd this book is shelved in 'Christian Inspiration' section. Anyone with half a brain and rationale will see right through this book. Don't waste your money or time.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2007

    The secret is no secret

    and now I'm going to close my eyes, click my heels together and wish real hard...

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Disgusted

    A friend of mine was watching Opera and they were talking about 'the Secret' is a book by Rhonda Byrne. She convinced me to read it. It basically teaches people to think positive and good things will happen. My problem with the book is two things. First it tries to teach that thought waves are projected out into the universe and attract similar thoughts (explained by Quantum Physics??) But the second teaching is the one that makes my go hum.... They explain the process it all in a way that, if good things don't happen to you, is because you don't 'believe they will'. How destructive this could be... There is a psychological/sociological concept called 'blaming the victim' in which we blame the very individual who has been hurt. This is the process used by an abuser ('If you behaved the way I want you to, I wouldn't have to hurt you!'), and it destroys confidence, self-esteem, hope...The medical profession has its own version...There is some belief that we are the cause of our own illnesses. (Most especially, cancer). What a horrible burden to place on someone if they become ill! Likewise, if you wish for something to happen (without a true understanding of what, in life, you can control and cannot) and it doesn't come about (winning the lottery, for example), then the blame falls on you...('Well, you just didn't believe enough!') Can you see what the implications of this nonsense are? They have an answer for everything. They talked about the people who die in war and how it was because they had the 'thought' of war that drew them to their death. I can even begin to say how much damage this will cause. These are the basic RADICAL principles of people who do not believe in medicine and there child dies because of a simple cold, they blame the child for not 'believing enough'.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Such garbage!

    The only question I have is: Whatever happen to reading the bible? Anyone?

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 160 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8