Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 952 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(437)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(158)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

126 out of 170 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 158 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    A Bushel of Bunk

    I can't believe the false notions that are presented here. 'Facts' such as you will get rich of you think about it. Or you won't get sick if you don't allow it. Positive thinking is great, but nature has bacteria that causes illness accidents happen sometimes that bushel of money just doesn't happen. I DO believe that you can change your attitude. But the SECRET that Byrne is talking about is that SHE got rich by writing such garbage, and it is purchased. (I read a library copy. Sure glad I didn't waste my money)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    A gigantic load of nonsense.

    If the headline wasn't enough, then let me expand on what this book is: it's garbage. At the basis, the synopsis is 'if you believe it, you can achieve it.' Overall, it's message is enough to make an intelligent invidivual ill in it's poorly worded and put together effort at selling you hope for 19.95 'or whatever the cost'. It begs the question that if the author means so well in sharing a message of hope and charity, that we may all live better lives in having learned this 'secret,' then why is she selling it at twenty bucks a pop? Hasn't her positive thinking left her rich enough? Frankly, the book is ridiculous, and that it's so highly touted only serves to show the sad state of the world we live in. It's perhaps enjoyable, however, to the inherently stupid, the mildly literate, and the absolutely gullible.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    Don't Waste Your Money!

    This book is the biggest waste of money. Not only is it a waste of money it is also a waste of paper and ink. Don't even bother reading it. You'll learn nothing new.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    So pathetic

    They tried to get rich from this junk years ago. I call it fraud.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    What a piece of Hog-Wash!

    I have read this book and another book with the same message. I followed everything they said to do, time and time again. There was a major object that we were using the book for. We worked it dlilegently every day. When the time came for the object to bloom or fail for us....it failed in such a way we are severly devastated and in such a state of depression, I don't know if we can climb our way out of it. So buyer beware. I would not even take this book with a grain of salt.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    Self Help book for the Greedy

    I found this book so disgusting. The claim...the ancient so-called Secret is nothing more than a sham to show the rest of us how inadequate we are. The great people of history and the same today are portrayed as being Rich and Powerful merely because they sunscribe to the notion that they are that way because they can think in a way that is vastly different from the rest of the World's population and therefore they are the rich and powerful. It does nothing to help the ordinary man or woman in the street with the grit and grime of their lives other than highlight the idea that the authoress and her cohorts are so, so much better than the rest of us.
    And it's so repetative. Just telling the reader over and over again that they can be great, is pure BS. Sending thought messages out to the Universe will change your life...don't make me laugh, that is such a pathetic premise. The writer points out that 1% of the population earn 96% of the money, and she thinks that reading this book will shift the balance of power. I hate the book, I hate the writer and she should stay in the Penal Colony of Australia and refrain from uttering false hope to a World plagued by the greed and avarice of that 1%.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a bunch of hooey!

    I bought this book because a friend of mine said it changed her life. I didn't have any expectations when I purchased it and when I began reading it just solidified my own way of thinking and considering difficult situations. The book was short but boring and the ideas that it espouses are good in a happy go lucky kind of gum drops grow on trees world but definately not in today's world. I really just couldn't get past the feeling that these people were high off the same supply and because I wasn't high too I couldn't grasp the logic or the triumph that they all shared in their "Aha!" moment. This book was good for nothing and Barnes and Noble should allow a rating to reflect that without having readers use energy to rate useless materials at one star. I ended up selling the book to a used book and music resale store. I think The 72 Names of God is a book that is worth reading and contemplation.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2007

    It works - They have attracted your money!

    The law of attraction works - lots of money these marketers of 'spirituality' have attracted from your pockets. They actually walked the talk. They have invisioned making lots of money, created a marketing plan, and now lauging all the way to the bank. Just look at the authors picture - do you see a true spiritual teacher there or a saleswoman?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Secret is one of the worst books I have ever read. It simply makes no sense at all, and is easily disproven. For those who don't know- the 'Secret' is that if you imagine something will come true and believe it, then that is bound to happen. So, if you really want to fly, simply imagine yourself floating above the ground, picture and tell yourself that it's happening all the time, and one day you'll just start to fly. Oh, or you might just be delusional and nothing will happen. The book is also against organized religion, and states that all people are one and that man, not God, is the creator of the world. This book is just ridiculous.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2007

    You couldn't hold down a job with this belief system

    This audio is terrific packaging of old simplistic ideas targeted at gullible people. Give me a break: You can't solve life's challenge with wishful thinking. Listen to Optimal Thinking, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, and Getting It Done if you want practical, realistic roadmaps to make the most of your life.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Junk spirituality -- cruel and useless

    The mere idea that 'right thinking' can cure you of serious ills or make a major change in your economic status just blames the poor and the the suffering for their own woes. The authors should be ashamed. They owe us all an apology.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    If ever there was dangerous propaganda that could lead weaker mi

    If ever there was dangerous propaganda that could lead weaker minded people astray...this book reminds me of a cult leader...Davidian Complex anyone?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    This All In The Bible

    This information is in The Bible. Attracting, love, faith and forgiveness are all in The Bible. The Bible even introduces "The Universe" to you. The Bible even gives the source of enlightenment. You really don't need this book. And yes, I have read it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Is the word "Sucker" tattooed on your forehead?

    You can't get anything, just by thinking about it...or "visualizing" it. The only person who is benefiting from this book is the author, when SUCKERS purchase it, looking for an easy way to achieve their dreams and goals, without actually having to do anything. So...are YOU going to get rich or thin, just by thinking about it and wanting it bad enough? NO...you get off your @$$ and work for it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Bunk

    Don't waste your time. I was given this book as a gift, read all of it, then immediately threw it into the trashcan - and, being a book lover, it takes a lot for me to threw a book AWAY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    First off, I want to say that I have not read THE SECRET. Why am I writing a review? I want to save you some time. I am a follower of Jesus Christ and I was reading my Bible the other day which prompted this review. Colossians 2:2-4 (The Message) says this 2-4I want you woven into a tapestry of love, in touch with everything there is to know of God. Then you will have minds confident and at rest, focused on Christ, God's great mystery. All the richest treasures of wisdom and knowledge are embedded in that mystery and nowhere else. And we've been shown the mystery! I'm telling you this because I don't want anyone leading you off on some wild-goose chase, after other so-called mysteries, or 'the Secret.' Stop searching. God is the answer and has all the answers for you. If I pray to God for a million dollars, will He give it to me? I'm guessing no. God gives us everything we need. I'm battling a virus now which I consider a blessing because God's power is made perfect in my weakness (2 corinthians 12:9) You see, there is no secret to life. Of course it's challenging it always will be. There is hope for those who know that JC died on a cross for them and they are going to Heaven. Pick up a Bible sometime if you want to find out 'The Secret.' You don't have to believe me, but sooner or later, God will speak to you and you better hope you are listening. That's all I have. Chalk it up to the fever or lack of sleep or what have you, but believe it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The 'secret' of this waste of your life, is that if you believe strong enough, you will obtain wealth, happiness, global domination, etc... If you believe in positive thinking, than I guess this crap is for you, but if you do, then you shouldn't need it anyways. Personally, I think magical thinking such as this is a waste of time, but if you're in to self delusional thinking, then go right ahead and buy it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This type of ideology seems to fit well in our individualistic, superficial, and material obsessed society. It takes the responsibility away from any social force (poverty, racism, etc.), community mindedness, or even biological forces and places the focus on the individual... as if everything and anything is controlled by the power of thinking it into or out of existence?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    One big RIP-OFF

    This book is nothing but quotes from other books and authors. The whole concept of thinking something and it will come to you is rubish. If you want something you have to go out and get it. I cannot understand how Oprah would endorse something that is so clearly nothing but a waste of paper and ink.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    Sad world we live in

    the people in our world today are all looking for happiness and what there purpose in life is, they feel empty trying to fill the emptieness they reach out to all the wrong things. If only they would read and follow the bible they would have no need for superficial books like this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 158 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8