Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 963 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(441)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(113)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(163)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

132 out of 178 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    Where should you apply your faith?

    Definitely not in the contents of this book. Honestly, I have never have been so disappointed in a book, and I have read MANY... I think I'll stick to trusting GOD. I should have trusted the Great 'I AM' in the first place. At least this way I know that miracles will happen, I will be taken care of by none other than the TRUE Creator and that my faith will stregthened as a result. The good news was never meant to be a SECRET.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is a boring self helf book, and I feel foolish for buying this book. I do NOT recommend it. It is a waste of money !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Nothing new

    There is nothing new here in this book which has not already been said before time. The pages look nice. The Secret is Jesus Christ. Christ said the same things 2000 years ago. You can use this book to increase your faith or use it it as a tool, but there is nothing new here....... Jesus Christ on the Cross. Behind the cross is the Secret ....not this book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    There are much better books on the subject.

    I was turned off with the hucksterism of it--the fake parchment, the phony signatures after pithy sayings, the implication that this wisdom was somehthing found, something hidden. Actually, it's pretty much basic Buddhist thought, with a large measure of Western greed thrown in to sell the book. The premise is interesting, but there's too little practical application. If all you're looking for is money, this book might be entertaining, but it won't bring you wealth. If what you're looking for is a deeper, more spiritual form of success (which may or may not include wealth, depending on what is most important to you), Deepak Choprah's 'The Seven Spriritual Laws of Success' is far more valuable and deals with most of the same ideas in what seemed to me a more honest approach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    DISAPPOINTING

    Did Oprah actually watch this before so adamantly recommending it??? The DVD was an info-mercial format trying to sell 'the secret'. There was a central focus around wealth and even an implication that keeping the secret just that would mean not having to share the wealth. There was some very good content, but it was overshadowed by the manner in which it was presented. A very big disappointment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    What Is Going On Here?

    The Secret without a doubt has some pretty interesting ideas, however, from what I read, it does not prove to me how different it is. How many centuries has taught us that thinking positive will change your life. Even therapists try to tell you that! Christianity also says to ask, believe, receive. I mean, really think about it, what if everyone on earth got what they wanted, how would it affect you? I think eventually bad consequences would arise, especially since they used 'The Secret' for their own benefit. The book is teaching to be selfish and self seeking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2007

    Rhona bryne - hoax

    Save your money, rhonda bryne wrote a remake of a book from 1910. the secret is mostly made up of useless and uninspiring quotes. The book states that if you want to lose weight you should not look at fat people. If you must read the book read the remake! please!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Poor quality

    Here is a secret for you - The problem with people who are all about positive thinking is their inability to think critically, their lack of social consciousness and inability to make serious difference in this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Lazy author

    The author is using other peoples wisdom to earn recognition and wealth off of this story. I recommend reading Between Shadow & Light if you are into this sort of philosophy. In that story you have well developed characters and an interesting plotline to keep your attention on the wisdom that is there to be gained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2007

    The 'Secret' remains a SECRET!

    I do not understand. This person obviously took bits and pieces of so MANY other books written on this subject over the last 50 years and effectively parlayed the complilation into a fortune. Fine, I suppose,but a warning on the back cover would have been nice. The joke is on the reader...the 'secret' (and the formula for using it) are strangely absent. This blog rivals the Hicks' so-called 'channeled' material (again, the same old/same old, stale and overly utilized mainstream ideas pummeled into yet another format with new catch-phrases)in that its degree of mind-numbing, contrived dribble caused me to conclude that there is no 'evolution' of the human mind....only authors who are jumping on the band-wagon of making big bucks off the stupidity of the general public. 'Kudos', Rhonda Burn, for capitalizing on/in an area usually reserved for TV evangelists. Save your time, money (and face) and, for goodness sakes, read something with some actual substance and content...like Secrets of Attraction or Quantum Success (Hay House) by Sandra Anne Taylor...or Gregg Braden's Divine Matrix....or go back to the old standard, 'As A Man Thinketh' (where it seems the author obtained many of her 'original' ideas). THINK people!Just because someone else (Oprah) says that it is 'good', or right, or of value does not necessarily mean it is so. I found this book very disappointing, especially after all the hype. Not as disappointing as the DVD by the same title,but disappointing,nonetheless. I did in fact think that maybe I had 'missed something' while watching the DVD so I bought the book. Silly me. It is the 'emperor's new clothes' and 'much ado about nothing' all rolled into one experience. Live and learn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4