Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(159)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

130 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    What's the big secret?

    This popular tome of the way the Universe works seems too heavy on the old paradigm of positive thinking and not enough on belief. In order to optimize your life, belief plays the largest part. As Rosalene Glickman Ph.D. says, 'the quality of your thinking determines the quality of every aspect of your life.' So why not optimize your thinking with the best beliefs and actions and not just rose-colored glasses full of hopefulness.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    It's OK, but where's the beef?

    This is an easy read; I'll give it that. It's also harmless and uplifting, but I'm not so sure it's very useful. I believe in this power. I believe that you can envision your future positively and it will help to make things fall into place. However, this author just repeats "Think it and it will happen". I need a bit more meat to feel convinced that just "thinking" will change things. There's at least one other book out there that does exactly that. It's a bit complex, but it spells it out.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2007

    The Secret isn't such a secret!

    Our actions are led by our thoughts and this is the foundation for the Secret and any philosophy of self-empowerment. While the author has done an amazing job at mystifying a simple principle, she writes a book that is difficult to digest thanks in large part to the simplistic black and white world she paints. People seem to either love or hate this book. The people who find it inspirational see the secret as the path to happiness in every form. Others who loath it find the message to be essentially about materialism and greed. But in all honesty, if you live in the US and many other parts of the world, materialism is the driving core of the economy and accordingly, material rewards are regarded as success. Anyone who has struggled financially understands the power of wishful thinking. Now add a positive spin on the wish and believe in your heart that it can accomplished and you¿ve got yourself something that almost anyone use in there life¿hope. Rather than being logical, the author wraps the ¿Secret¿ in a mystical blanket. I suppose this makes it feel sacred and special to many readers. You might conclude with the off the charts sales and praise of the book, DVD, etc., that many people need this mysticism to believe. Yet, Rhonda Byrne is criticized for her attempt to make a case against selfless compassion. For example, she basically states that, quite literally, every person¿s situation is a result of their thought process and belief system. And, of course, there is much truth to this. Yet, according to her, people who are starving in places like India and Africa are responsible for their circumstances. In this case she seems to lose sight of basic human compassion and empathy. It seems almost as if she allowed herself feel compassion for another¿s suffering, she would lose her power to alleviate her own and exist in blissful happiness. You can certainly believe in yourself and at the same time have compassion for others who are not able to see such a positive view of life. More over, you can certainly understand that people are sometimes born into circumstances that are much more difficult to rise up from then your own. Absolutely good thing happen when you are positive and believe your dreams are possible. There are also steps a person can take to get there. While there is no doubt the book can be inspirational, a little self-editing is certainly in order. If you are a person with a reasonable faculty for compassion and intelligence, you should be able to navigate through the text and be reminded of the power of positive thought.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Basics of The Law of Attraction Without Judgment or Religion

    The Law of Attraction is an undeniable law of the Universe. You create the life you want through your thoughts. Every great invention, concept, and reality that exists in the physical world first began as a creative thought. However, the Law of Attraction is not as simple as thinking about something and expecting it to arrive. Thinking about what you do NOT want can actually have the opposite effect and manifest that exact thought into reality in your physical life. The Secret by Rhonda Byrne incorporates the teachings of a plethora of classical and modern new age thinkers and healers and explains in simple terms how to think the life you desire into existence.

    The Secret is a guidebook, short and simple, demonstrating the proper way to think to utilize the Law of Attraction. Non-judgmental, non-religious, and mildly spiritual, Byrne and her collection of teachers explain how to manifest what you want. They make no suggestion of what you should or should not want and use as many examples of manifesting money and prosperity as they do health and spirituality.

    "Like attracts like" is a common phrase, and it is the foundational concept behind the Law of Attraction. The Law does not distinguish between "good" or "bad" thoughts. This explains why people are capable of manifesting seemingly unpleasant situations such as disease and poverty. In its simplicity, The Secret teaches you how to think. For example, rather than saying, "I wish I was a prosperous person," the more appropriate way to attract prosperity is by saying, believing, and actually feeling, "I already AM a prosperous person." The phrase "I am" is one of the most powerful phrases in the Universe and is highly effective in attracting what you want out of life. Thoughts are merely the first step in the process, though. Behind those initiating thoughts must come a belief that the desired physical response will manifest. You must actually feel as you would when you receive what it is you asked for. And, most importantly, you must express gratitude NOW for having received that for which you asked, even if it has not yet manifested. Giving thanks now is an assurance that you believe, without a doubt, that what you have asked for will be made a reality.

    The Secret was first a documentary film followed by the popular book of the same name. Featured in The Secret are common new age thinkers such as Michael Bernard Beckwith, Jack Canfield, Mike Dooley, John Gray, Lisa Nichols, Neale Donald Walsch, and others. The sources are reliable and exemplify the Law of Attraction through their own experiences. One note of caution to the reader: Byrne explains that manifesting a million dollars is as simple as manifesting one dollar and gives an example of a woman healing herself from cancer by laughing. Keep an open mind, and use the Law of Attraction, but also seek traditional financial or medical advice if you are in a dire situation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Has the "wow-factor", but lacks the "how-factor"

    This book inspires; I will give it that. However, for me, it doesn't make a viable connection between thinking something and understanding how thoughts can create real changes in attitudes and events. Rhonda repeats, 'just think it'. Fine, but there's a big difference between just wanting something and knowing how to create the future with thought. The good thing is that it led me to another book which clearly makes this link. That book is at the opposite end of the spectrum from this. It was a bit over my head, but it definitely shows you how to jump over its tough parts. There is apparently a new, simpler version of it coming out soon. That may be just the ticket.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful book!

    The Secret made a positive difference in my life. Half way through the book I used the prinicipals and noticed right away what I wanted in life was becoming more easily attainable. Very powerful book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    It's a very inspiring book, it's good to be read with some other

    It's a very inspiring book, it's good to be read with some other books in the "Getting things done" category.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    makes you think..

    for anyone looking to put a non religious answer to a few questions pertaining to life, then this is extremely helpful. A different concept than most 'self-help' books. In the end, I took in what I thought to be true & helpful and applied it to my life.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Secret

    The Secret by Rhonda Byrne has sold 6 million copies and also has been made into a dvd and film. The book is published by Simon and Schuster and its ISBN is 18473770292. It is a new age self help book that claims all you want is yours to have if you simply have positive thoughts. Its theme is self fullfillment and all negative things come from ones negative thoughts. I like the concept of postive thinking and self belief but the idea that world wars, diseases and poverty are ones own fault from negative thoughts is silly.Her theory is your thoughts are the primary cause of everything. If you have the rights thoughts, feelings you can cure yourself, make yourself thinner, richer and happier. ....I wish. She writes "You are God in a physical body". " You are master of the universe. You are heir to the kingdom. You are the perfection of life and now you know The Secret". Put simply it is the laws of attraction and your thoughts determine your destiny. Although I believe in the virtue of self believe, postive thinking, creative visualisation and mediating I feel the author goes too far with her promises. I hope nobody believes they can think themselves free of cancer. It was an interesting read. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    If anyone has ever read Norman Vincent Peale they will know Brynes idea is not original.Too bad she is making money on someones elses idea.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Windbox flower blooms despite winter weather...

    Far Eastern merchant shares scrolls... Joe Karbo promises $'s... Each new generation makes some author wealthy... oops, that's not in there... Well, OK, these are similar ideas to those around for some time, only dressed up in new clothes. Many great points, of course. Earlier versions, however, Napoleon Hill, etc., even Joe Karbo, stressed quid pro quo, value for value. This one seems truly a work of it's times, written for the 'me' generation. With all this, we also need to remember it is a boat that we are in - together.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2008

    Only One Gospel

    I watched the DVD in order to get a better understanding of 'The Secret.' It's not the Gospel according to God Almighty. They give Him an honorable mention only because they want readers to think God endorses this philosophy. Philosophy can never be the Truth. There are no Biblical principles in it. They reduce God to being a genie of the 'Universe.' The Secret makes man the owner of the lamp and God is our slave to be commanded and cater to our every whime. It mentioned nothing about salvation, Jesus Christ being nailed to the cross for the sins of mankind. Mankind needs Jesus Christ in order to reconcile us back to God. Period. Buddha, Taoist, Islam, Wiccan, etc. can't give salvation. There is no other way, no 'secret.' The plain Gospel of Jesus Christ is it. PS I found the part about 'attracting debt' misleading. People create debt because they don't know how to curb their spending habits, addictions etc. God created man. Man created religion.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    The message is good, think positively and work through definite plans to achieve your goals. However, this book has already been written some 70 years ago by Napoleon Hill in Think and Grow Rich.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    Secret

    'The Secret' has an aggressive marketing campaign aimed at promoting the book through various venues. Oprah has also featured it on two different shows. You might wonder if after all the hype is the attention deserved? You will not find anything new in this book or DVD that hasn't been communicated many times before. But this isn't a criticism, since what 'The Secret' does communicate is a good reminder. The biggest concern I have with 'The Secret' is that it's simplistic message can be lead to an extreme perspective. Instead of helping people in need, we can end up blaming them for their misfortune. which is especially inexcusable in situations involving natural disasters like Hurricane Katarina

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly recommend if you are spiritual

    The book is a different read as it is paragraphs written by different people. It covers pertinent subjects in our life--relationships, health, money, etc. It uses imagery or visualization might be a better word. It is motivational. If you are a spiritual person and can believe in the mind over matter concept, it is a great book to help in a lot of your life's experiences. A believer in Christ's universe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    It's All Right

    It honestly looks like just a copy of the script from the movie, which is fine if you'd rather read than watch. I have a hard time reading it that way, but I guess it works for some people. I'd suggest just watching the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Hehe

    Tyler Oakley brought me here . . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Good Read but not a standard format, written more for people with a short attention span

    I have only one problem. Page 50 cuts off and I have to find a way to delete it and reload it on my nook.

    It reads mostly like a book about a movie which I find takes away from the information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    I WAS HOPING IT WAS BETTER

    The book is not what i expected based on what people have said,but i will admit that i have become a better person because of this book. Im glad i read it'well not the whole thing'. I couldnt read the whole thing because it was very repeatitive

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2007

    Have not read it yet.......

    But rated this book a 3 after reading many reviews because I've come to realize I'm intrigued by all the comments and I truly believe every person is different and will have their own opinion. A Book is a book and there are many out there...we choose to read them and it may help some of us to view things differently or it may not help some people or change their views in any way. I found it all interesting, so I will be going to purchase the book today.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6