Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(159)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

130 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 166 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2007

    IT WORKS LIKE THIS

    This book is selling like hotcakes. 'Does anybody really buy 'hotcakes' anymore? Maybe we should change the expression to 'selling like iPODS.' Why is it so successful? Because people want to believe in it. The book itself presents nothing new. This is just a spin on the old epic 'The Power of Positive Thinking'. What 'The Secret' does is train you to expect things to work out. I don't believe in this mythical 'Law of Attraction' I don't see any proof that works. What I do believe in is myself and after reading 'The Secret' it's easy to see why some people put a lot of faith in the book. The book trains you to expect things to work out. And that's not all bad. When you expect things to work out you're more positive, have a better attitude and interact better with others.All things that tend to make your life better and enhance your success. So, the book works, just in a sort of roundabout way. And that's the real 'secret'. There's a very funny, HILARIOUS parody of books like 'The Secret' in something called 'Maybe Life's Just Not That Into You' by Martha Bolton, maybe the funniest book of the year so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2007

    what a powerfull book.

    this book really opened my eyes to the thought proscess. I live by it now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    'Who am I?' That's the real question, isn't it?

    Stop for a moment...what are the thoughts floating across your mind's eye? When was the last time you took a notepad out and wrote down what your thoughts were for a day? There is no easy path. There are only our thoughts about the world and how we give meaning to that world through what we think. Struggle or flow, the answers are in what we believe. There are very few people that are willing to look into themselves, understand what they truly think. Know thyself. Yes, it takes courage like never before. It can be easier to climb a mountain than look into ourselves and uncover our deepest, most meaningful ideas about who we are, who our creator is, and our place in the world. 'The Secret' is called such, because we deny it is real. As said in the material, not believing in gravity does not make it go away. We live in a physical world, and that still needs to be respected. But how we 'feel' about ourselves and others is completely determined by what we 'believe' about ourselves and others. At one point, you were quite unsure if you could ride a bicycle, drive a car, fly an airplane, start a business, become a chef, recover from an illness, play the piano, love your spouse, forgive a friend, run a marathon, graduate college, become free from a bad relationship, or write a book. Everytime you got what you wanted in your life, what made it possible? Everytime you didn't get what you wanted in your life, what made it possible? Here's one question you may ask yourself....'Why has 'The Secret' come into my life?' Are you really a positive, growing, understanding person? Interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    Very thought provoking...helpful...

    Have you heard of the saying 'when it rains, it pours'? Whether good or bad, they come together? That seems to be the law of attraction. This book crystalize what I always believed about life but didn't know it had a name - law of attraction. Picked up this CD because I was going thru some difficult times emotionally and financially and couldn't get back on the groove. I just saw this book/cd everywhere and curiosity got the better of me. Bought the CD and while long and sometimes tedious, the principle, I could grasp. I decided to put it to the test as the author suggested. They say to do small things first. I wanted a parking spot at work (very difficult to find close to my bldg) and I visualize where I wanted it. My mind kept volleying between thinking I was being stupid and trying to visualize the parking spot. Sure enough, I get to work and there was a parking spot where I pictured it, except I couldn't get my rear bumper all the way in (I symbolize this as my doubt). I cracked up in amazement - same spot. So, with more energy, I decided to allow the positive frequency in and tried really hard to believe that my business will pick up. I started getting interested calls/responses from potential clients. It kind of re-energized me and made me feel that anything is possible and little good things started happening or I just noticed it more???? Who knows for sure. However, it really is a lot work applying this principle - skepticism v. optimism. I don't know if I would've been a quick believer of this book/philosophy if I didn't already have similar view, before being weighted down the past few years. But once I started, some very interesting little things started happening, that I think I will stick with it. Remember, I think it is hard to grasp if you are the type of person who tries to find logical explanation in everything. Sometimes, it just faith/belief/attitude. But if you have any leaning, in that, life is what you make of it, you will find the principle interesting. The CD is long and some parts boring. Best of luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Power of positive thinking rules

    I loved this book. Simple, logical, and very positive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    It amazes me!

    It amazes me how many poor reviews this book's getting, yet it remains a bestseller. I thought the book was okay and made some valid points, although I prefer to think that power comes from God, and not the Universe. If you go in with an open mind, you¿ll learn some helpful things from this book! BTW, as a person who has lost 115 pounds, you do have to ¿think¿ like a thin person to successfully lose weight. That was something that I didn¿t understand when I was bigger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    funny

    i find it funny that most of the people that are saying this book is horrible sound like very negative people, being positive all the time and thinking that way bring you good things, who wants to do anything for a negative person. ie... you always seem to be angry and down but ill promote you anyway bob you're the person i want in charge of other people....yeah right. think positive and be positive and good things will come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2007

    it's hopeful

    it's always cleansing to read something that could possibly transition your way of thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Good Job!

    That about sums it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    A Good Companion Piece to 'What the Bleep Do We Know'

    I finally gave in to all the hype and ran out and picked a copy of this one up - while I do think some of the themes presented are overly simplified - I do suggest this for anyone looking for positive reinforcement to an effort to improve their standing in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Worth Reading

    This was an uplifting book. It is half philisophical and half spiritual. There are concepts in it that are not always true but I think its point is that the 'secret' is a state of mind and therefore I think the people who could relate to that ended up loving the book and the people who didn't hated it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Must-read

    I highly recommend the book to anyone who is unhappy with the way their life is now, or who believes they have no input or choice in the matter as to making their life better. The premise is nothing new---that you can change your life by the power of positive thinking---but the format and telling in THE SECRET is really clear-cut and better than other places I've seen it. Normally one to stick with a fictional read like 'da vinci Code' or 'Bark of the Dogwood' I took this on because of all the hype. I'm not sorry I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    life changing

    The is a powerful tool if you want to change your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2007

    Good to read and contimplate

    For those that haven't read it and are preaching, you need to open you mind to all view points. This book doesn't teach anything new but it does teach that we attract what we focus on most. There is nothing wrong with reading this book and contimplating what it says. You are not asked to change your spiritual belief system you are just asked to focus on what you want and not what you don't want (i.e., happiness, love, joy) What does it hurt to be more positive and focus on the things that matter most and not complain and criticize. I would say read the book and make your own thoughts and you don't have to focus on money as the objective, not everyone views money as success but when one doesn't have it they constantly complain about others that do!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just purchase the book on 3/8/2007. and I read the first chapter and by looking at he bad comments i highly disagree. There is nothing wrong with a little guidance. I mean I believe in god. But this material will help some people out here including read the bible. So thank you Rhonda!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    There is another secret

    This is a secret if your have not read scriptures or taken philosophy classes, etc. This is scripture that has been rehashed over the centuries and compiled by the author after she heard about it for the first time. Those who have been awake have heard all this before. For something you haven't heard, get Stan Cronin's book 'How to Date Your Wife.' In it, wives tell what they want in their relationships with their husbands. Now there is a secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    After ┬┐The Secret┬┐

    I think ¿The Secret¿ is terrific as a morale booster and reminder to stay focused on what we want and to maintain a positive state of mind. If this is all you need to do to have the quality of life that you wish, then you need go no further. But as is the case with most of the people that I deal with, we need more to fulfill our objectives. Many elements need to be working in harmony to fulfill your goals. Here are some questions to help you accomplish what you want: 1. Do you have clear, specific, measurable goals, so specific that anyone can easily understand what you want? Most goals require the assistance of others. 2. Do you know what your values are (freedom, love, contribution), and are they in harmony with a particular goal? 3. Do you have the skills (organizing, communicating, persuading) to achieve what you want, or can you get the support of someone who has the necessary skills? 4. Do you have the traits (dependable, hardworking, friendly) to be able to succeed? 5. Are you able to uncover and remove any negative limiting beliefs that you may have about yourself, such as¿I don¿t deserve to be loved¿, or a particular objective, for example¿This will never work'? 6. Can you establish the positive beliefs within yourself, i.e., ¿I can be healthy¿, that will enable to achieve what you want? 7. Do you have access to the required resources to make things happen (money, equipment, people)? Also, are you able to keep yourself consistently motivated by understanding what the negative consequences are if you don¿t achieve a goal, and what the wonderful benefits are if you do achieve the goal? This may seem like a lot to deal with, but look at people who are achieving their dreams and how they consciously or unconsciously implement the above. That is why I recommend ¿Anatomy of Success¿ by Ronald A. Kaufman, which gives you a straightforward, step-by-step system for incorporating all the necessary elements in one place. The book is filled with real world examples, tools, and techniques and includes checklists for career as well as a checklist of `101¿ questions to ask before you begin or end a relationship, which in itself can be priceless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2007

    You MUST have an open mind

    You really must have an open mind to read this book. If you have read new age books before and did not like them, then you will not like this book either. This book has pulled together all the other new age books I have read. The day after I started reading it I noticed a difference. Like I said it takes an open mind. ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    Not as great as THE CIRCLE, but useful.

    THE SECRET contains ideas that can certainly be useful to some in learning how to manifest their deepest dreams -- and it's obviously been a well-marketed book. However, the book itself is not as detailed or inspirational as New York Times bestselling author Laura Day's classic THE CIRCLE: How the Power of a Single Wish Can Change Your Life, which is the most powerful and effective book I've ever read on this topic and which I recommend even more strongly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2006

    The Scret

    The first couple of chapters are repetitive and seem a little too new age but as the book goes on the more it makes sense. The power of positive thought and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 166 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 9