Customer Reviews for

The Secret

Average Rating 3.5
( 957 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(440)

4 Star

(166)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(159)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

A Re-Packaged Secret.

A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is real...
A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

posted by 233291 on October 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

130 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

P.T.Barnum was Right and this book is proof of it.

I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists ...
I am 75 and have been reading 50-60 books a year since I retired. I resisted reading "The Secret" for a very long time but finally gave in to curiosity in that I wanted to see what all the excitement was about and what would cause it to remain on the best seller lists for such a long period. I am sorry to report that there is no secret. Norman Vincent Peale told us all we needed to know about the power of positve thinking back in the '50s and the "law of attraction" is nothing but new age psycho-babble. What an incredible waste of time and money. H.L.Mencken once wrote "no one ever went broke underestimating the intelligence of the American public". I don't know whether the author is incredibly cynical or the victim of an, as of yet, undiagnosed mental illness but this book is a clear demonstration of the concept that good marketing can sell anything. I must admit that I am no fan of "New Age" pseudo-philosophy. Nevertheless, I tried my best to read with an open mind and assumed that the success of this book must indicate SOME socially redeeming features. The "ideas" are simplistic, superficial and repetitive and the only "secret" of this unfortunate book is that the author has been made a multi-millionaire and the reading public has been bamboozled and is too dazzled or embarassed to admit that the emperor has no clothes. This book is the written equivalent of snake-oil however cleverly marketed. If anyone is truly interested in an inspirational book, much better to spend your time, money and emotional energy on "A Tree Grows in Brooklyn" by Betty Smith.

posted by Richard_the_Reader on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A Re-Packaged Secret.

    A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works). <BR/><BR/>Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator for more info on that.

    39 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    The Secret is my Bible

    This book does not give any new concepts of how we can change our lives for the better it only RESTATES and COMPLIES all that we have heard here and there about positive thinking over the years. You always heard your mom and dad say "think positive", "you are special", "you can do anything - go for it" and so on. Rhonda Byrne simply tells us WHY our parents told us these things and HOW it happens - through Attraction. To all the critics, Rhonda is just helping us understand how we can change our lives for the better, just as our parents used to tell us we can grow up to be great - IT'S THE SAME THING. This book is the greatest book ever written, it has helped me to be more focused, and i have began looking to the future with great expeectations and things have already started to go in a positive direction for me and i know it will continue. Thankyou Rhonda for being unselfish and helping me to understand that, I am in control of my life, with positive thinking and belief in God, i can do anything.

    36 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    A Beneficial Book

    The huge success of Rhonda Byrnes book "The Secret" speaks for itself. In reading some of the reviews I must admit it appears that some are simply "reactions" rather than true reviews. I found Ms Byrnes approach to be remarkably engaging and certainly provokes thought. Her references again and again to "Avatars.Teachers, and great Leaders through the ages shows she has painstakenly researched the truths that have had some of the greatest impact in the lives of significant numbers of people. She is not offering her insights or rather her restatement of old truths as a new manuscript of reference to compete with or replace the Bible. To me what she covers in the book are things many of us have discovered in our lives or the lives of others to be true. This is the crux of the matter, if something is true, there is a reason why it is true. If something works it becomes an established principle that repeats itself again and again when the principle is applied. It does not matter who said it or how it was said if it is effectual in it's results then it has special significance. In watching the video and also reading the book, I was impressed with the energy and inspiration that was being expressed. It certainly was not negative energy or blasphemy against God. It was a treatise of encouragement in positive thought, faith, love, and expectation of doing more, experiencing more, achieving more and with an almost childlike faith an obvious confidence that good things will come forth. Without going into detail the emphasis on the "law of attraction" proves itself in the lives of people everyday and has done so through the ages. I liked the book and found it beneficial. Does it cover all the points of doctrine or my personal beliefs in ways perhaps I am accustomed to? No but that does not appear to be its purpose. With one broad sweep the book covers some of the most important truths that can bring some of the greatest changes for good in peoples lives. That seems to be the real issue, has it helped anyone? Apparently, it has helped thousands in many different ways. We may have our various religious positions but sometimes some things are presented in ways that differ from our personal approach and yet they may produce enormous beneficial results. To me "The Secret" is one of those things. No one is asked to leave their church, turn their backs on the Bible or become members of any new kind of cult, they are simply reminded of things that have been known by some through the ages that are powerful when applied in one's life. Thurman L. Faison, Author To The Spiritually Inclined (Volume 1)

    34 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly inspiring.

    I was hesitant to ever buy the Secret as it seemed that because it was so popular, it couldn't actually work--wrong! I wish I had bought it when it first came out and devorued it then. There have been many others like it, and some are fantastic, but this is the real deal! Highly recommended.

    28 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    You Only Have One Life....READ THIS BOOK

    This book makes absolute and complete sense. If you think about the principles it suggests, it all makes sense. I have read this book 3 times and each time I read it, I discover something new that I had previously missed. People who really want to make positive changes in their life and have a healthy, happy, prosperous and abundant life, will love this book. People who are happy only when they are miserable and want people to feel sorry for them and the grim circumstances of their life, will say it is nonsense and can never work. READ THIS BOOK. THINK LOGICALLY AND THOUGHTFULLY ABOUT WHAT IT IS SAYING. START SMALL AND APPLY THE PRINCIPLES. YOU WILL BE AMAZED AT HOW QUICKLY YOUR LIFE WILL CHANGE FOR THE BETTER AND HOW MUCH HAPPIER, HEALTHIER and MORE ABUNDANT YOU WILL BE. But remember: if you harbour the least bit of skepticism or doubt, this will be a total waste of your time and money. Keep a happy and Positive attitude and you,too, will be telling everyone about THE SECRET. I applied the principles of the book and I am now marrying a wonderful man, my weight is no longer an issue and I am able to find money whenever I need it. It is so amazing. ANd the people around me have also felt the effects as a result of my positive and abundant attitude.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Takes an Open Mind to Advance

    This selection is a great study base for the LAW of Attraction. Eventhough it is in a wide abbreviated form. It can be used to begin a wonderful journey of self-repair. I have bought over 20 copies and handed them out. Still buying them for folks who require a physical jump start into understanding the field of "you get what you think".

    Well Done and Simple to follow. I recommend it to any and All ready to make great advances in self-improvement.

    19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Secret

    This is one of my favorite books. I've read it dozen's of times, and every time I start to think negative, this book is picked up and read again. I would recommend this book to anybody.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Great book a must read

    This is a great book. Thank you Rhonda Byrne. This book has changed my life and outlook on life. This is great for people wish forgot who they were and need something to beleive in and to find themselves. The idea of law of attraction really does work. if you lose your path you can check the website or read the book again.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Secret to a good life.

    I was skeptical when I got this book. I'd heard all the hype but wanted to see for myself what the big deal was. Well, it's basically a change in your attitude, that's what it preaches. If you are more greatful, more appreciative and more willing to let your real wants shine through, you will engage in the secret. It can be life changing, if you let it. A really, really good read.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A complete change of attitude

    When I read the intro to this book, I thought it sounded a little too far fetched. But as I began reading, it started to strike a familiar chord with me. My outlook has always been "You get out of life what you put into it." So the Law of Attraction kind of made sense to me. I'm one of those people who always say "I never win anything" but I stopped saying that and started thinking "winner." I went to a bridal fair with my daughter shortly after reading the book and we both signed up for the prize drawings. Five minutes later, they announced the first winner of the evening....me! I won a fabulous Lancome gift basket! We spent an hour stopping to check out the different vendor stands and sampling products. Several more names were drawn during this time. My daughter was ready to leave, but I hestitated. I told her I just knew they were going to draw her name. I told her to wait until the next drawing and then we would leave. Sure enough, her name was selected! She won a beautiful fragrance basket.
    I have a Vision board and keep a Gratitude Journal. I practice daily turning negative thoughts into positive ones and the results have been amazing. This book has changed my attitude and my life!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    THIS BOOK WILL CHANGE YOUR LIFE!

    This book is amazing! The moment I began to read this book, things just clicked. "The Secret" is the world's greatest secret. It is very inspiring and helpful. The stories, words of wisdom, and ideas are very applicable to life. As long as you keep an open mind while reading this book, you will have the tools to obtain anything and everything you have ever wanted. Follow this book and it WILL change your life for the better.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Self Doubt Eliminator

    This book it great for one who is seeking to achieve something and venture out into the unknowns of life. Too often many people have dreams and aspirations and allow them to drift away with the clouds. There are so many people that doubt their own abilities in life not knowing that the reality of it is, we can achieve all things. The Secret and all of its participants have opened up to unknown to its readers. Allowing one to see just how much power and leverage they have within the universe.

    www.bsminvestors.net

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!

    I have been a student of the law of attraction for years. Rhonda Byrnes has given the basics for begininer and experts alike. The book was easy to follow. The laws of the universe has been around for centuries and i am so happy that Rhonda Byrne has brought it back to main stream.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Changing your mind

    The Secret teaches the power of positive thinking. It shows you how to harness your abilities in achieving what you believe you can in this world. Not what you want, but what you are willing to go forward and achieve. It's a frame of mind that too few people can maintain for long and that's what's great about this book, it gets you to do just that. It's short, it's focused and it gets you going.<BR/><BR/>Another quickie I read this week that I strongly recommend because it changed my mind in a big way is The Emotional Intelligence Quick Book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Re-Packaged Secret

    A movie first and then turned into a book, "The Secret" is about getting what you want by knowing what you want and keeping it at the forefront of your thoughts. It gets this concept across really well and is a quite entertaining book. The downside is that there is really nothing new here that hasn't already been published many times before, many decades ago (I'm thinking of books like It Works).

    Thinking is great, but life also requires us to "do" a little too in order to make things happen- recommend "The Sixty-Second Motivator" for more info on that.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Truely Life Changing

    Some of the reviews on here are indicating that The Secret is no secret at all and that its just a bunch of crap. I don't think its crap at all. It works for me and has been working for over a year now! I am so happy that i found the book and movie. I was in a really low stage in my life and The Secret gave me hope. Everything has improved since I started applying the The Secret to my life. My husband and I have been shocked at how much our lives have changed for the better. We have a new beautiful home, a new car, he got an extremely well paying job so that I can stay home with our young children. We have been truly blessed. I have never been a strong believer in anything until now! It really is the best thing that has ever happened in our lives. I will continue to live like this until my dying day!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    You can't just read the book, you need to Live the book,,,

    Is the advice my friend gave me after she had read the book. You have to have an open mind, and actually believe. This is not a book you can just read all the way thru, you read it chapter by chapter, pausing to let it sink in, and apply to your life and others. Over the past four years that I have read this book, I have bought several copies and gave to my friends and family, and have recommended to many others. I'm so happy to have it on my Nook so I can carry it around with me at all times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    Great book

    Yet another book to live by! It brought peace to my mind reading it along with an awareness that wasn't there before. Thoughts become things.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    Great

    This is actually the second copy I bought because I passed on the first one to my Daughter-in-law. I think everyone should read it and live it. It is life-changing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Inspirational listening

    I purchased the audiobooks version of "The Secret" at a low point in my life. My daughter recommended it. I put the CD in the car and became enrapt by the discussion of the power of the mind. You can't help but be encouraged to be positive and change the way you think. I listen to it often and always come away in a better frame of mind.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 440 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22