Customer Reviews for

Secret Between Us

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Delinsky Does it Again!

I must say that I love the few books that I have read by Barbara Delinsky. Of course, when I purchase them, I do so in no particular order, and often times read a book from 1993 and then read a book from 2006 next.

The Secret Between Us is a great story of the str...
I must say that I love the few books that I have read by Barbara Delinsky. Of course, when I purchase them, I do so in no particular order, and often times read a book from 1993 and then read a book from 2006 next.

The Secret Between Us is a great story of the strong relationship between mother and daughter. All too often, mothers forget that their children have strong emotions and are capable of heading down a shame-spiral if they feel guilt. "Mother knows best" sometimes does not apply, hence this book.

It begins with a very scary automobile accident involving a pedestrian. The mother, a very well-respected family doctor in a small town, takes matters into her own hands and simply forgets that we are responsible for our own actions in the world. From page one, I was immediately captivated by Delinsky's words, and I found myself often wondering what I would do in the same situation.

posted by TangledUpInBlue19 on May 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Intriging

This novel is about a mother named Deborah and her daughter, Grace who one night they are driving home and Deborah and Grace are arguing about what Grace was really doing at her friends house before her mom came to pick her up. It is raining like crazy and very hard to ...
This novel is about a mother named Deborah and her daughter, Grace who one night they are driving home and Deborah and Grace are arguing about what Grace was really doing at her friends house before her mom came to pick her up. It is raining like crazy and very hard to see especially for Grace who is driving when all of a sudden they hear a "thud". they find out a few minutes later that it was Grace's teacher from school and she had just ran him over! Deborah does not want her daughter to take the blame so she tells her daughter to leave before the police arrive. Now Grace and her mother have to face a hard ship for what they have done and keep it a secret from EVERYONE. What I liked about this book was the whole situation between the mother and daughter and by the end their relationship has grown even stronger. What I disliked about this book was the ending, I feel that the ending was rushed and I didn't get enough time to let the ending sink in. The moral of the story is to not lie especially not to authorties and to stick with your family through thick and thin. As a teenager this book relates to me because I am a sixteen year old girl who is quiet and keeps her feelings to herself and lets everthing bother her just like Grace.

posted by 9860381 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    Intriging

    This novel is about a mother named Deborah and her daughter, Grace who one night they are driving home and Deborah and Grace are arguing about what Grace was really doing at her friends house before her mom came to pick her up. It is raining like crazy and very hard to see especially for Grace who is driving when all of a sudden they hear a "thud". they find out a few minutes later that it was Grace's teacher from school and she had just ran him over! Deborah does not want her daughter to take the blame so she tells her daughter to leave before the police arrive. Now Grace and her mother have to face a hard ship for what they have done and keep it a secret from EVERYONE. What I liked about this book was the whole situation between the mother and daughter and by the end their relationship has grown even stronger. What I disliked about this book was the ending, I feel that the ending was rushed and I didn't get enough time to let the ending sink in. The moral of the story is to not lie especially not to authorties and to stick with your family through thick and thin. As a teenager this book relates to me because I am a sixteen year old girl who is quiet and keeps her feelings to herself and lets everthing bother her just like Grace.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delinsky Does it Again!

    I must say that I love the few books that I have read by Barbara Delinsky. Of course, when I purchase them, I do so in no particular order, and often times read a book from 1993 and then read a book from 2006 next.

    The Secret Between Us is a great story of the strong relationship between mother and daughter. All too often, mothers forget that their children have strong emotions and are capable of heading down a shame-spiral if they feel guilt. "Mother knows best" sometimes does not apply, hence this book.

    It begins with a very scary automobile accident involving a pedestrian. The mother, a very well-respected family doctor in a small town, takes matters into her own hands and simply forgets that we are responsible for our own actions in the world. From page one, I was immediately captivated by Delinsky's words, and I found myself often wondering what I would do in the same situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    THE SECRET BETWEEN US deals with the interactions of family. How far a mother will go to protect her child, how a child reacts to knowing they've done something that can never be taken back. It's not a bad story, but it wasn't as fully evolved as I would have liked it to be.<BR/><BR/>The main problem, for me, was the ending, which I saw as a total cop-out. In the end, the resolutions came too easily, and in ways that made everyone turn out to be a good guy. Things rarely work this way in real life.<BR/><BR/>This isn't Barbara Delinsky's best story, but it's still good for reading about a family who will do anything to keep itself whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    No Secret - Mediocre Book

    The premise of this book is interesting but the execution is lousy. Repetitive and obvious. I also could see the relationship with the dead man's brother coming a mile away. And the ending was just too neat and tidy. Also, maybe it's different in what I presume was Massachusetts, but in Florida the DA (State Attorney) does not get involved in civil suits only criminal, so I found this part of the plot annoying because it was unrealistic. This is the second Delinsky book I've read and I must say she's 0 for 2 in my book (pardon the pun)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Horrible, boring, dont waste your time

    I REALLY tried to finish reading this book but after 3 weeks, I gave up. The love interest between the mom and the dead man's brother was sooo predictable that I almost wanted to throw up. I cant believe anyone would write like that. It's not just that one part that was predictable, it was the whole entire book. I felt like it was written by a juvenile writer. I didn't even have the interest to find out what happened at the end. I wasted three weeks but I am glad that I didn't waste more time to read the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Great read

    Secrets at every turn creates suspense

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Good read

    A little bit slow, but overall a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great book. Simple reading but kept my full attention. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Boring

    Quick read but story was monotonous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Not bad, but...

    Get it in the bargain bin or at the library.Not worth the nook book price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Idea, Very Slow Read

    The idea behind this story is so interesting, but could have been told in about 100 pages. The story dragged at points and kept going on and on about the same things. I found myself looking for more realistic dialogue between characters. Also, I think the character of Grace (the daughter) had so much potential but was very under-developed. I wanted to see more interaction between Grace and her friends. Some of the sub-plots seemed a little forced, not amounting to much at the end. And I was dying to hear from the perspective of the victim's widow. We kept hearing all this information about her and never got to hear her side! Also, I won't spoil the ending, but the outcome of the legalities seemed very unlikely and unrealistic. I was disappointed. It was however, an easy read and had me thinking about what could happen when an accident takes a life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    Loved, loved it! There were many issues; which was great for the many readers. It was hard to put down. This book makes you think about responses. It helped me to appreciate the concept of thinking things out before speaking. On to the next one, "Family Tree".

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Overall, Good Book!

    I enjoyed reading this book. It became a little slow in the middle, I wanted things to speed up a bit. But it was a thought provoking storyline. This was the second Barbara Delinsky book I have read and it definitely won't be the last. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    Great Read.

    This was a really great read. It got a bit heavy at times but overall great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This treats a timely dilemma

    I found myself changing "sides" with the characters throughout the book. First I championed one, then the other. The story presents a moral dilemma for parents, for teens, for all of us. Good people are challenged to examine their sense of right and wrong, of loyalty, of integrity. Weaving through the story is the clear love each character has for the others. There were instances of a bit of over-the-top behavior on the teen's part, but that too is often reflective of teenagers today! All in all, a good read that leaves you thinking "what would I do?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner

    Consider this book another winner by Barbara Delinsky. Just finished reading this book for a monthly book club. The relationship between the mother and daughter kept me guessing throughout the book. Complicated characters made for a book I couldn't put down. A must read for Barbara Delinsky fans and anyone who has made a hasty decision they later regretted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Departure from Delinsky Norm

    While this is definitely a relationship story, the focus is on mother and daughter, and any romance is definitely background information. I found it a refreshing look at today's family setup. Very thought-provoking, as I was reminded time and again of times when either the mother or daughter could have made better choices and contemplated what might have happened had they sought a different path. I would definitely recommend it to Delinsky fans and readers who are discovering Delinsky for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Excellent book worth reading

    The characters are well developed and the plot is intense with many dilemmas to consider as the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    I liked it.

    It was a very good book. It was easy to relate to and I thought it was a great book for my age group. A lot of girls could really relate to this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    I loved this book

    This book is really good. It is not suspenseful or anything of that sort but it is really good about how the one lie just leads on to another and just continues. But by the end all the issues conclude and make the book final.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4