Customer Reviews for

The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever (Bevelstoke Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 263 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(126)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Recommendable ¿ but not rave worthy

As an avid JQ fan, I'll read anything she writes. But as several other reviewers noted, 'The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever' falls somewhat short of the first-rate romance fans have come to expect from Ms. Quinn. Like her earlier works, 'Diaries' spark...
As an avid JQ fan, I'll read anything she writes. But as several other reviewers noted, 'The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever' falls somewhat short of the first-rate romance fans have come to expect from Ms. Quinn. Like her earlier works, 'Diaries' sparkles with well-crafted wit and laugh-out-loud humour. It is an easy and enjoyable read, but one cannot help feeling (unfortunately) distanced from Quinn's characters and instead endeared to the author herself. All in all, 'The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever' is another showcase for Quinn's inherent humour and style, but if your looking for a hero you can fall in love with and a heroine you can truly root for - try her other titles.

posted by Anonymous on August 3, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Me

I've always thought reviewers should add something about their literary experiences to give their reviews context. To that end I'll say that I enjoyed the Bridgerton series for the most part, have read (many times) all of Jane Austen and most of Heyer, and I'm a fan of ...
I've always thought reviewers should add something about their literary experiences to give their reviews context. To that end I'll say that I enjoyed the Bridgerton series for the most part, have read (many times) all of Jane Austen and most of Heyer, and I'm a fan of Loretta Chase. I chose this book because of Quinn and because she won a RITA for it. I don't understand why. Throughout the whole book I waited for the heroine to realize her love was based on youthful folly. For a character who was supposed to be intelligent, she lacked any insight into her own desire to be emotionally abused by a man who had no redeeming character traits. He was entirely one dimensional. There was no chemistry between them. The 'banter' of.their conversation pushed teasing to a level of frustration that made me want to slap him and scream at her to run. This is the first review I've written. I feel that strongly about giving my opinion to readers who expect strong, intelligent heroines and big, bold heroes. You'll be disappointed here. It was torture to finish and I wish I didn't possess the trait that won't let me leave a book until I plod through to the end.

posted by 3120823 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2007

    Recommendable ¿ but not rave worthy

    As an avid JQ fan, I'll read anything she writes. But as several other reviewers noted, 'The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever' falls somewhat short of the first-rate romance fans have come to expect from Ms. Quinn. Like her earlier works, 'Diaries' sparkles with well-crafted wit and laugh-out-loud humour. It is an easy and enjoyable read, but one cannot help feeling (unfortunately) distanced from Quinn's characters and instead endeared to the author herself. All in all, 'The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever' is another showcase for Quinn's inherent humour and style, but if your looking for a hero you can fall in love with and a heroine you can truly root for - try her other titles.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Me

    I've always thought reviewers should add something about their literary experiences to give their reviews context. To that end I'll say that I enjoyed the Bridgerton series for the most part, have read (many times) all of Jane Austen and most of Heyer, and I'm a fan of Loretta Chase. I chose this book because of Quinn and because she won a RITA for it. I don't understand why. Throughout the whole book I waited for the heroine to realize her love was based on youthful folly. For a character who was supposed to be intelligent, she lacked any insight into her own desire to be emotionally abused by a man who had no redeeming character traits. He was entirely one dimensional. There was no chemistry between them. The 'banter' of.their conversation pushed teasing to a level of frustration that made me want to slap him and scream at her to run. This is the first review I've written. I feel that strongly about giving my opinion to readers who expect strong, intelligent heroines and big, bold heroes. You'll be disappointed here. It was torture to finish and I wish I didn't possess the trait that won't let me leave a book until I plod through to the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2007

    I am a Julia Quinn fan

    I was not happy with this book. It started off as a good read but as you got into the book the characters were weak. I was disappointed because I have read all of her books and ran to the store to buy this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    An exceptional book that I enjoyed reading. Would recommend

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    good read

    I liked it. Only took about two weeks to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    I have to agree that this isn't quite the earth-shattering, univ

    I have to agree that this isn't quite the earth-shattering, universe colliding romance that most Regency readers crave and it does suffer slightly in comparison to Julia Quinn's other works, but this book is quite excellent. It's not a swept off her feet romance but rather the tale of a girl who falls in love at age 10 and the path her life takes as she actually gets her fairy tale HEA. It's one of the few books I pick up to read again and again (particularly the ending which is very, very good). I'm not going to say you're going to root for the hero to win her heart (even if he already owns it, if he but knew) but you'll wind up rooting for the heroine you catch glimpses of in the short journal excerpts scattered throughout the book. Minerva herself comes off as fairly self-contained and self-sufficient.

    Still...I love this book! Would definitely recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Recommended

    Love all books by Julia Quinn.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    An enjoyable read

    Well, Julia Quinn has done it again. I thoroughly enjoyed this book. While not as wonderful as some of her others, nonetheless a fun read. I like her tongue in cheek humor that runs throughout her books. None of her characters is perfect, but they ARE all too human. I particularly like it when characters from her other books make an appearance in the current one I am reading. It seems to give everything a sense of continuity, which I find enjoyable. I could wish she wrote her books even faster, since I devour them so readily, but then they might lose some of their quality. But I'll be waiting for the next story - Olivia's perhaps?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    not a favorite

    wish i liked the characters more, but they all were sort of shallow and one dimentional. mirandas behavior is erratic and there is very little character development

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Who wanna chat?

    Who wann chat wit me? If you qanna my name is lily and write lily22 in the headline. Thnx lily

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    GREAT READ

    LOVED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Great book

    Liked the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    One of my favorites!!!

    I have read this book over and over, and I don't think I'll ever get tired of it. If you like a story with passionate emotions, this is the story for you. Buy it!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Turner is now a widower. Thank God! He’s not completely

    Turner is now a widower. Thank God!
    He’s not completely sure how how longer he could have lived with that cheating duplicitous woman!
    Turner will never marry again! There is no way he will ever trust a woman again.

    Now? He’s back at home escorting his baby sister, Olivia, and her friend, Miranda, to their coming out balls. Could anything be worse?

    Of course, something could be worse. Absolutely.

    The way Miranda makes him feel is anything but brotherly…. Turner needs to find a mistress before he does something insanely stupid…

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Make Some Time

    If you plan to read this book, let me suggest you set aside a good block of time because you are not going to want to put it down. I know I didn't. From my first introduction to the smart, witty, if not classically pretty 10 year-old Miranda, I was hooked. She only improved with age. I couldn't help but see Turner through her eyes and love him right alongside.

    I suppose it's not any surprise that, following this review, I'm snapping up the next book in this series, "What happens in London."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    LOVE IT!!

    I got this book the first week it come out. It has a great plot. The story start strong but somewhere in the middle or so the character becomes weak. I still love the book and I enjoy it very much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book and laughed myself silly. Please, ple

    I really enjoyed this book and laughed myself silly. Please, please write #2 in this series, Julia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Wonderful

    A wonderful and funny love story. My first Julia Quinn book and I've been reading all her books since!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Not Julia Quinn's Best

    I love Julia Quinn's novels, and I thought Miranda was an interesting heroine. However, Turner, the love interest, was hard to sympathize with. His change of heart at the end of the novel seemed forced, and he was much too unlikeable for most of the work. I found myself skimming the last half. I would recommend her Bridgerton or Smythe-Smith series over this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Loved it

    Great love story..easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 264 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14