Customer Reviews for

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1699 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(968)

4 Star

(337)

3 Star

(189)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(125)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

81 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

A great start!

I am 9 years old, about the same age as Mary the main character in the book. When I first got the book I thought I would not be interested in it. However, I kept on reading and it got really good. The story is very well told, it is easy to follow, the vocabulary is not...
I am 9 years old, about the same age as Mary the main character in the book. When I first got the book I thought I would not be interested in it. However, I kept on reading and it got really good. The story is very well told, it is easy to follow, the vocabulary is not very hard. You just have to be patient and towards the middle the story gets very interesting. Also at the end of the book there are questions about the story that makes you wonder how you would feel in Mary's situation. My mom felt that this book would be a good introduction to reading good literature, and I agree. I felt it was very educational and appropriate for my reading level. I would recommend it to any girl or boy that is ready for some serious reading.

posted by moniema on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Not the book, but the loads and loads of typos. I downloaded the free version of the ebook to my nook. What a waste. I got so sick of trying to figure out what the book was trying to say, and bought the inexpensive version. I understand that free will not mean fancy...
Not the book, but the loads and loads of typos. I downloaded the free version of the ebook to my nook. What a waste. I got so sick of trying to figure out what the book was trying to say, and bought the inexpensive version. I understand that free will not mean fancy, but if they are not even going to bother to at least proofread the typos out of the book, then why bother, it just makes them (Google books) look stupid.

However, the book itself, the story, it is a very interesting tale. I am at a part of the book (no, I won't spoil anything) where Mary is discovering the world around her.

A classic, and definitely worth a read.

posted by AutismMom on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Terrible

    Not the book, but the loads and loads of typos. I downloaded the free version of the ebook to my nook. What a waste. I got so sick of trying to figure out what the book was trying to say, and bought the inexpensive version. I understand that free will not mean fancy, but if they are not even going to bother to at least proofread the typos out of the book, then why bother, it just makes them (Google books) look stupid.

    However, the book itself, the story, it is a very interesting tale. I am at a part of the book (no, I won't spoil anything) where Mary is discovering the world around her.

    A classic, and definitely worth a read.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Anomymous

    I had to read for summer reading and it was so boring i really did not like it

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Horrible

    This book stinks.It too boring, slow, and makes NO sense whatsoever!!!!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Secret Garden

    1.How did the book speak to me as a human, spark my curiosity, and inspire me, it was by a girl. Mary Lennox a sour child yet very lonely, she has became an orphan, and was adopted by her uncle. Also, she was so sour she was teased, and was called Mary quite contrary. She now live at a moor in Yorkshire, and discovers that it not as quiet or plain the place seems to be, there she finds it filled with many secrets. At night,she hear a boy crying in one of the long corridors, a secret garden that hasn't been open for 10 years, also a boy name Dickon, who can charm animals. Mary gets a help from a robin, then finds the missing garden, Dickon, the animal charmer helps Mary revive the garden. After, coming to the moor she starts to change, she become less bitter by the minute, and learn new things, for she wasn't educated well.As the story goes on Mary tries her best to revive the garden. 2.What i think the authors purpose is learning or trying new things can give you a new aspect in life. 3.The thyme the author was attempting to communicate with the readers is create because creating new things or find new things can help discover a part of your strength or skills to make your self a better you or give you something can make you happy. 4.Author's attempting to teach his readers that learning new things are a part of life and don't be afraid or try your beast when doing something. 5.I learn from this book is sour people need to try to change, or have someone help them. 6.I would recommend this book to people who love reading things about gardens, Yorkshire, children books,

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Matters

    It matters because i dont know any kid who liked this book. But most of the alduts I know liked it. So it really dose matter. But I would give this book a -100000,000000000,00000,000000,000. I hated this book.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was the worst book ive ever read. I mean can't it have some exitment in it????? This book was not good! I had to read it for school and it was the worst book ive ever read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Unreadable

    Scanned version is unreadable

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Anonymous

    Mary is a selfish brat. This book is terrible. I hate it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    The secret garden

    I HATED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!



    JK, havn't read it yet!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Dum

    Don't read

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Sucked

    If you dont believe me just read the kirkus review in editorial reveiws i was the one who said i would rather shove scissors in my ears because i have a life even my teacher hated it but you gotta love the county for making us read it. NOT

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    This is supposed to be free!

    Why not free for free fridays

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Ok book

    I had to read this book in class and i personlly did not like ut at all i dreaded reading it every night but i can see some people liking it

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    Meh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Callie

    Forms from a nearby puddle. ((So sorry i havent been here i've been really busy))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Sunlight

    The golden shecat padded in. "May I join?" She asks, delited.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Alicia

    YOU DONT WANT TO HEAR THE TRUTH? FINE! IF SHE LEAVES YOU, DON'T SAY I DIDN'T TRY! I WANTED TO HELP YOU! BUT NOOOOOOOO! FU<_>CK IT THEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    bad

    BAd!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    ?

    Has any body gad problems with diwnloudung pleas respond

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    The bok won't download The book wont download

    This is the first time i've had this problem

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7