BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1702 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(969)

4 Star

(336)

3 Star

(192)

2 Star

(80)

1 Star

(125)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

79 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

A great start!

I am 9 years old, about the same age as Mary the main character in the book. When I first got the book I thought I would not be interested in it. However, I kept on reading and it got really good. The story is very well told, it is easy to follow, the vocabulary is not...
I am 9 years old, about the same age as Mary the main character in the book. When I first got the book I thought I would not be interested in it. However, I kept on reading and it got really good. The story is very well told, it is easy to follow, the vocabulary is not very hard. You just have to be patient and towards the middle the story gets very interesting. Also at the end of the book there are questions about the story that makes you wonder how you would feel in Mary's situation. My mom felt that this book would be a good introduction to reading good literature, and I agree. I felt it was very educational and appropriate for my reading level. I would recommend it to any girl or boy that is ready for some serious reading.

posted by moniema on November 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

Not the book, but the loads and loads of typos. I downloaded the free version of the ebook to my nook. What a waste. I got so sick of trying to figure out what the book was trying to say, and bought the inexpensive version. I understand that free will not mean fancy...
Not the book, but the loads and loads of typos. I downloaded the free version of the ebook to my nook. What a waste. I got so sick of trying to figure out what the book was trying to say, and bought the inexpensive version. I understand that free will not mean fancy, but if they are not even going to bother to at least proofread the typos out of the book, then why bother, it just makes them (Google books) look stupid.

However, the book itself, the story, it is a very interesting tale. I am at a part of the book (no, I won't spoil anything) where Mary is discovering the world around her.

A classic, and definitely worth a read.

posted by AutismMom on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 969 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 49
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    A book you never forget

    I have not read this book since I was 6 years old and as an adult I find myself thinking about it, that goes to show you that this is a powerful book. I am now purching the same book for my daughter w/ an enormous smile on my face to pass along such a gift.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    A Tale of Wonder!

    This book is a charming classic, in which Many Lennox, the main character, learns to live, laugh and love after ten years of neglect and loneliness. She finds a door leading to a secret garden and enters a whole new world of learning, friendship, and personal growth. It is a beautifully written, timeless tale that has inspired and entertained for three generations, people of all ages. There are themes of loss, despair, wonder, mystery, overwhelming joy, and great triumph. Readers will appreciate the various moods and the great ending.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Secret Garden: A Young Reader's Edition of the Classic Story

    This book is about a girl who is so mean and cruel and she is sent to her uncle's house. There she meets her maid, Ben Merryweather, a lovely bird, and lots of others. She has so many nice adventures. I loved this book because it was really sweet and you can read it any time you want, even if you are an adult!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    A real Treasure.

    I've always enjoyed this book, espesally now. I plan on having my own Secret Graden. I wanted to rate this book more, but this website wouldn't let me. If I could've made it bigger, i would've put down 1000! I would recamend this book for people who just want to keep they're secrets somwhere.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    To below

    Quit or i'll report...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Anonymous

    Still can not belive that she is yellow but it is a great book i may only be 10 but i know a good book whean i see one this is a classic and i highly recommened it for anyone who is looking for a super good book. My complements to the author.THANK YOU SO MUCH !!!!!!!!:)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Review of the Book

    This book is about a selfish, unattractive girl named Mary Lennox. In the beginning, Mary's parents die of cholera and she is moved her uncles mansion called Misslewaithe Manor. There she discovers a secret world behind a door, a friendly robin and three new friends. Each day when she visits her secret world she becomes a little more selfless attractive and a better friend. This is a must-read classic with mystery and adventure around every corner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Superb!!!!

    Why can't we have more books like this instead of the junk we have now?Great book anyhow.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Read

    If yu bu the humming room book it also has the real story of the secret garden too. Awsome!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Love it i

    It is so amazing and its so interesting i didnt want to stop reading it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Mystery and curiosity combine

    The characters were well brought and put together in the story. The last time i read this book was in 5th grade and all i can remember is falling in love with the spooky house the little girl had to live in. This is a charished novel and now i know why and it should be free on barnes and noble because it is so ingrossing. It was well worth the time it took for me to read it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love it

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!<BR/>this book is really good. ii just blew through it. i highly reccomend it to anybody who has time to read and likes classical writing.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Outstanding

    This is one of the most memorable book I have ever read and now I'm reading it to my grandchildren.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2007

    The Best Book I Have Ever Read!!!

    This book is so detailed that you feel like you are there! Also the ending is so suprising I almost cried!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2005

    Geat book.

    i really liked this book. it was exciting. i loved it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Secret Gardens

    I love this old book. It is great reading, for anyone 5 & up. As long as you can read. It is about a selfish rich girl who learns to be a great person. She look for a secret garden, meets a reletive she did'nt know about, & makes new friends at her Uncle's manor when she becomes a orphan.
    I saw the Movie first, it was great too! & it isn't a long book it was only 200 pages!
    Overall Great Story, you should get it.

    MorganHorseRiderAnimalLover0298
    Age 11 & Homeschooled

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    I was introduced to The Secret Garden when I was probably five o

    I was introduced to The Secret Garden when I was probably five or six by my grandma, I grew up watching and loving the movie and finally read it when I was eleven. I am now sixteen and I can easily say that this is one of the best stories that I was ever told. This is a book that all people, especially young girls, should read. The Secret Garden is a story that has stayed with me and one that I continue to reflect back on.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    AUESOME

    AUESOME

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    By someone

    I love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Delightful Read

    As a grandmother, I thoroughly enjoyed re-visiting this classic. If you haven't read it recently, I highly recommend that you do. It's a fine story for young people and their parents, alike.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 969 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 49