Customer Reviews for

The Secret History of the Pink Carnation (Pink Carnation Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a great "Calgon, take me away!" book

Dashing masked and cloaked hero meets witty, resourceful heroine with a desire to defeat Napoleon and a dislike of sheep. If you like Julia Quinn, you will love Lauren Willig. The entire series is great

posted by KnuffleMama on January 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Never Again...

Wait... I know this feeling... it feels like... disappointment. I actually spent twenty dollars on this? What the heck? Okay, so I don't mind the whole romantic relationship thing, but come on! The author spent so much time describing the love/hate relationships, ...
Wait... I know this feeling... it feels like... disappointment. I actually spent twenty dollars on this? What the heck? Okay, so I don't mind the whole romantic relationship thing, but come on! The author spent so much time describing the love/hate relationships, that she almost spent no time at all on the acclaimed Pink Carnation. And to top it all off, I hated Amy. Sure, her brave and spunky, independent spirit was admirable but she's so impulsive and immature and just totally, 'Oh my gosh. That guy is, like, so hateful. But then again, he's the sexiest babe ever.' And the 'spicy' scenes were so outrageously scadalous it made me sick. Let's do it in the middle of the boat and in my arch enemy's room and out smack dab in the open of the courtyard. What. The. Crap. The only character I actually like is Jane who really deserved to be the main character of the story. Guh... *headbash* It's an unsolved case why this book wasn't placed in the romance section. If you're looking for historical thrill, action and adventure, you're in for a disappointment since all there is, is just hardcore love. But if you like that sort of stuff, go for it.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2007

    Never Again...

    Wait... I know this feeling... it feels like... disappointment. I actually spent twenty dollars on this? What the heck? Okay, so I don't mind the whole romantic relationship thing, but come on! The author spent so much time describing the love/hate relationships, that she almost spent no time at all on the acclaimed Pink Carnation. And to top it all off, I hated Amy. Sure, her brave and spunky, independent spirit was admirable but she's so impulsive and immature and just totally, 'Oh my gosh. That guy is, like, so hateful. But then again, he's the sexiest babe ever.' And the 'spicy' scenes were so outrageously scadalous it made me sick. Let's do it in the middle of the boat and in my arch enemy's room and out smack dab in the open of the courtyard. What. The. Crap. The only character I actually like is Jane who really deserved to be the main character of the story. Guh... *headbash* It's an unsolved case why this book wasn't placed in the romance section. If you're looking for historical thrill, action and adventure, you're in for a disappointment since all there is, is just hardcore love. But if you like that sort of stuff, go for it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    Misleading marketing!

    Look, as a romance, it's adequate. As a historical novel, it's literary-lite. Which is fine, but that's not how this book is marketed at all! After the initial intriguing hoopla, I bought this book and have only gotten around to reading it after about a year. And I'm wondering to myself, is THIS what that was all about? Granted, the situations were charming, albeit quite silly, but the heroine was just plain stupid and she irritated me.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like the Scarlet Pimpernel, you'll HATE this book.

    How does stuff like this get published? I'm embarassed for the author. This book was a poor attempt to "imitate" (more like rip off) a classic. There is way too much of the main characters (Amy and Richard) and not enough of some other potentially interesting characters. Much of the dialogue was not befitting the time period. The story within a story just didn't work - the contemporary story was extraneous filler. The climax was so implausible and absurd that I could barely continue to the end. Most frustating was the one potentially interesting and exciting moment was skipped over completely (intercepting the gold). To my dismay, there is a whole Pink Carnation series which I won't be reading and you shouldn't either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    Just a bodice ripper

    The idea behind this book should have been a lot of fun: Baroness Orczy's Scarlet Pimpernel was not the only English aristocrat spying on the French. Another was the Purple Gentian. A young lady--a refugee from the French Revolution now living in England--and the female cousin she lives with have long wanted to be part of the Pimpernel and Gentian's band of adventurers.

    It is now the time of the Napoleonic Wars, and they go to France to spy on Napoleon. They tend to get in the way of the Purple Gentian as much as help him.

    For all this to work, the time it is set in has to come vividly to life, and the author gets some names and some facts correct, which add verisimilitude to the proceedings. All the characters, however, have far too much early twenty-first century attitudes, idioms and beliefs, and are a jarring anachronism in this early nineteenth century setting.

    This story should also have some swashbuckling, daring escapes--in short, some adventure. The author seems very little interested in matching this aspect of the Scarlet Pimpernel stories, and is far more interested in the feisty romance between the Purple Gentian and the young French émigré. To be fair, Orczy herself suffered a little from this imbalance, but I find that the present work suffers a great deal from it.

    Try one of the Jane Austen mysteries by Stephanie Barron, and you'll find characters who much more believeably inhabit the time and society in which the Pink Carnation book is set. Try any novel of Rafael Sabatini (Captain Blood, Scaramouche, etc.) and you'll find a perfect mix of adventure and romance, and characters perfectly suited to their times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    Not the least bit captivating...

    This has got to be one of the most boring books I have ever read. There is nothing about the story that makes me want to keep reading, in fact I have about four chapters left and I can barely bring myself to finish reading it. I also have the second book in this series at home, and will not be wasting my time with it. The covers of these books are so intriguing but the stories are not. Huge waste of time!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Disappointing

    I just couldn't get through this book. I read at least two books of all different genres every week and thought this series sounded very interesting but I could not get through more than a few pages at a time. The plot and the characters did not draw me in and I ended up giving this book as well as the other 3 in the series I purchased away without reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1