Customer Reviews for

The Secret History of the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Under rated

I don't know what these other reviewers are talking about, they haven't a clue as to this books true implications...to claim that he jumps from topic to topic is very elementary seeing as how he is obviously attempting to UNiTE these "different" cultures with very inter...
I don't know what these other reviewers are talking about, they haven't a clue as to this books true implications...to claim that he jumps from topic to topic is very elementary seeing as how he is obviously attempting to UNiTE these "different" cultures with very interesting lines of esoteric thought. If you don't think he did the best job, pick up hancocks Fingerprints of the Gods, the author of that book btw heavily enjoyed this one.

posted by guitaoist3 on June 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very secret indeed....

Booth's books starts off with raving reviews from many sources. I was also very impressed by the fact that he has spent over 20 years in publishing. Then I read the first chapter, and the second... and began to wonder. Apart from the fact that Booth obviously struggles ...
Booth's books starts off with raving reviews from many sources. I was also very impressed by the fact that he has spent over 20 years in publishing. Then I read the first chapter, and the second... and began to wonder. Apart from the fact that Booth obviously struggles to maintain a coherent and straight train of thought to lead the reader through the maze of "ever so secret" issues, he has obviously a conceptual problem in that he bombards the reader with a mixture of theologian extrapolation and mystic (or esoteric?) fables that leaves the reader both exhausted and utterly bemused.

Booth has undoubtedly conducted extensive research, and spent many hours sweating away at the laptop - but to what effect? There is much unscientific conjecture, theological speculation, and delving into the "mysterious" and "secret" fountains of "knowledge", producing at the end a narrative that is difficult to follow, let alone to understand, and often leaves the reader wondering why Booth sympathizes (apparently?) with unsubstantiated myths and legends, and (apparently?) belittles scientific research, which is considerably more persuasive and satisfying.

Booth's explanation of evolution (based on "secret" insights) is amazing because it basically flies in the face of anything that science has determined over decades if not centuries. Booth is obviously totally unfamiliar with Richard Dawkins, and prefers to persuade the reader that Saturn or Jupiter has more to do with man's evolution than anything else.

Overall, worth reading? Probably, but make sure that you have a comfortable seat and a glass of wine handy, because you're in for a rough ride. Would I recommend it? Only with great reservations. Where will I keep it? I have a spot in library where I keep "mystical" stuff, and if there is no room left on the shelf, perhaps under the wobbly table leg?

I seriously doubt (but may be wrong) that any of the "raving reviewers" has actually read the book. If they have, I shall immediately cancel my subscriptions of "The Times", "The Daily Mail" and "The Mail on Sunday".

posted by JurgenSchulze on April 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Worth a Read

    I certainly don't believe everything written here, but if you read it with an open mind and a critical eye, I think you'll find some new ways of interpreting old knowledge. Mind before matter ...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    From a neophyte's perspective

    First i would like to say I am halfway through the book. This book is very intriguing. I am new to the esoteric schools of thought and I picked this book up to get an introduction to these subjects. The book is hard to keep up with because Booth does jump around from idea to idea. This is especially hard when one has no previous knowledge of these secret histories. This book has sparked my interest in learning more about ancient history, and alternative views of it. I do wish more research was evident, because it is so hard to completely believe this book. If more research was evident then I'm sure i would be compelled to read this more than I have. I would have loved to have sources cited so that I could continue research by myself. Overall it is a fascinating read, that has lead to some new thought on what theses secret belief systems are trying to explain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    What about......?

    Mark Booth's book reads like Arthur Clarke's 2001 - a rocket ship hurtling through history 'as laid down by the secret societies'. Both the known and unknown fly by like meteorites, as 'Captain' Booth points out and clicks on past events and a cast of characters, large and small in stature. A massive undertaking in its mission, The Secret History of the World, looks and feels like a pocket edition flight plan of a long range reconnaisance pilot. Not for the faint of heart, time traveler Booth shreds the fabric of history into threads which are then pulled apart and re-worked into mind-opening, if not mind blowing, new takes on episodes from the dawn to dusk of mankind. Alternating between acid rock, funky soul,heavy metal, and psychedelic jam, Booth re-mixes the tick,tock beat of time, marching to his own spiritual drummer and grooving to the song siren in his head. In the 1960's, Booth's book would have found its rightful place on bookshelves and in bookbags nestled right next to RD Laing, Richard Brautigan, etc.. So much for the praise, there are a few questionable items. Where, pray tell, are mentions of notables such as Sun Tzu, Machavelli, JFK, RFK, MLK, John Lennon, Saint Theresa, et al, whose art was life and lives were art? All of them too were bigger than life itself, and are also bigger in spirit after their deaths. Last but not least, what's up with the disclaimer paragraph at the bottom of page 157, Mr. Booth? 'The reader should beware of taking the same step. It is important you be on your guard against any impression that perhaps - to be fair - this version of history hangs together in some way, or that it feels true in some unspecific poetic or, worse, spiritual way. Important because a momentary lapse of concentration in this regard and you might, without at first noticing it and with a light heart and a spring in your step, begin to walk down the road that leads straight to the lunatic asylum.' What the heck man were you thinking 'or drinking' when you stuck this bit of hold harmless pseudo-legalese smack dab in the middle of an otherwise seamless flight? However, other than these couple of constructive criticisms, the book's a definite keeper. Right on and rock on, Mark!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    A lot of meat is in this book...you can't daydream while reading!

    With over 575 pages, this book is filled with information, clearly the author spent uncounted hours assembling his message.

    I have a better than average reading comprehension level, and have had several decades of extended study in metaphysics, mythology and religion/spirituality--even so, it is easy to get bogged down in the story.

    You will find it worthwhile to read bite-sized, edible chunks and then digest that portion before moving on to the next topic.

    It seems like it would have been beneficial to all seekers of truth to have ended, or perhaps began, every chapter with an executive summation of the main points/facts/ideas, and then proceed to flesh it out over the course of 500+ pages. Instead, the relevant material is almost hidden in plain sight, and if you're not astute enough to see the secret wrapped in a mystery behind the veil, well, friend, guess you can't stroll into the inner sanctum today. Come back next year on the equinox and we'll see if you're ready to be initiated into the truth.

    All the above aside, it is a book that can guide you to a better understanding of the who/what/why of human endeavors, but you will have to make yourself read from A to Z.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    Just an amazing perspective!!!

    I recommend this book to those who think that know it all, or all those that are looking to understand more on this complexed subjects; in reality, nobody knows everything; we can only speculate and have an open mind. who knows, maybe we can get to the roots of truth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Mature readers may release the floodgates of alchemical symbolism

    You can't step in the same stream twice. Human consciousness, like God's universe, is constantly evolving. Prophets, saints, and geniuses--may they ever quench their thirst at the initiatic spring--precipitated quantum leaps of understanding by suscribing to a secret train of thought apart from that of the majority.
    Booth drops all the famous names in history on his way to delineating a fantastic underground river of wisdom. It's a fascinating ride, yet an easy read. See if you can decipher the tantric signposts along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1